商務英語新聞 50 – 流媒體電視服務

商務英語新聞 50 - 流媒體電視服務

在這 商務英語 我們看的新聞課 商務英語詞彙 與流媒體電視服務相關.

疫情重創多個行業, 包括娛樂. 但是當影院, 音樂會場地, 和博物館關閉, 流媒體大戰愈演愈烈. 除了網飛, 迪士尼, 亞馬遜Prime, Apple TV 每天有數千名新用戶簽約. 在大流行的垂死之日, 然而, 問題變成了他們能否留住他們. 對於 Netflix, 流媒體之王, 新聞在 2022 一直不好, 正如 Gizmodo 解釋的那樣:

世界上最受歡迎的流媒體服務在其第一季度財報電話會議上報告稱其輸了 200,000 最初預計將獲得的訂戶 2.5 百萬. 它也預測下個季度的厄運和悲觀, 預計損失200萬以上. 該公司已開始裁員並關閉生產以防止進一步下滑.

Free Resources: PDF Transcript | Quizzes | Lesson Module

BEP 382 – 討論合作夥伴關係的搭配 (2)

BEP 382 – 討論合作夥伴關係的英語搭配 (2)

歡迎回到Business English Pod,今天的課程 商務英語搭配 用於討論商業夥伴關係.

“兩個頭腦總比一個好”這句話告訴我們,和別人一起解決問題比單獨解決更容易. 這不僅在個人層面上是正確的. 在組織層面也是如此. 兩家公司, 如果匹配得很好, 可以比他們單獨完成更多.

但成功的合作夥伴關係並非一蹴而就. 建立關係有很多事情要做, 探索可能性, 並達成協議. 在今天的課程中, 我們將聽到關於新夥伴關係的對話,該夥伴關係花費了大量時間和討論來發展. 在談話中, 你會聽到許多有用的表達,我們稱之為“搭配”。

搭配只是自然搭配的詞. 一秒鐘前,我談到了“建立關係”。那是搭配. 動詞“build”與“relationship”很自然地搭配在一起. 以英語為母語的人會隨著時間的推移學習這些組合, 一遍又一遍地聽他們說. 作為語言學習者, 學習有用 英語搭配 所以你的聲音聽起來更自然.

在今天的對話中, 我們將聽到卡洛斯和米蘭達與一位名叫羅蘭的商業顧問交談. 卡洛斯和米蘭達的公司, 松景葡萄酒, 即將與 Visser Hotels 建立新的合作夥伴關係. 在他們的談話中,他們使用了許多英語搭配來談論合作夥伴關係.

聽力問題

1. 羅蘭在對話開始時將合作夥伴關係稱為什麼?
2. 律師幫助 Pineview Wines 做什麼?
3. 在受益於密切合作的同時, 卡洛斯和米蘭達想要維持什麼?

Premium Members: PDF Transcript | Quizzes | PhraseCast | Lesson Module

BEP 381 – 討論合作夥伴關係的搭配 (1)

BEP 381 – 討論合作夥伴關係的英語搭配 (1)

歡迎回到Business English Pod,今天的課程 英語搭配 與商業夥伴關係有關.

商業世界競爭激烈. 但這是否意味著公司從不合作? 當然不是! 事實上, 與其他公司合作是實現業務目標的好方法. 這可能意味著與同一行業或完全不同行業的公司合作.

但良好的伙伴關係需要大量的工作. 在您進入實際的合作夥伴階段之前, 有很多討論. 在本課中, 我們將聽到有關兩家公司之間潛在合作夥伴關係的討論. 在這次談話中, 演講者使用了許多與合作夥伴關係相關的有用表達方式. 您將聽到的表達類型稱為“搭配.”

搭配只是詞的自然組合. 例如, 我們談論“培養”或“培養關係”。但我們不會說“建立”或“建立關係”。這不是語法規則. 這只是母語人士常見且自然的模式. 如果你想听起來更自然, 你應該學會這些搭配.

在今天的對話中, 我們會聽到卡洛斯和米蘭達, 誰為一家名為 Pineview Wines 的葡萄酒生產商工作. 他們正在與一位名叫羅蘭的顧問討論可能與一家名為 Visser 的連鎖酒店建立合作夥伴關係. 在談話中, 他們使用了很多我們可以用來談論合作夥伴關係的英語搭配.

聽力問題

1. 卡洛斯和米蘭達在討論之前要求羅蘭簽署什麼??
2. 根據米蘭達, 促進與酒店的合作是他們酒廠實現目標的好方法?
3. 羅蘭強調兩家公司必須共享什麼才能合作?

Premium Members: PDF Transcript | Quizzes | PhraseCast | Lesson Module

BEP 377 – 描述挑戰的英語習語 (2)

描述挑戰的英語習語 (2)

歡迎回到Business English Pod,今天的課程 描述挑戰的英語習語.

如果您在工作場所的休息室或受歡迎的餐廳聆聽談話, 你會聽到什麼? 很有可能你會聽到人們談論問題和挑戰. 不僅僅是人們天生消極. 是談論困難的經歷可以幫助我們感覺更好. 它還可以幫助我們找到解決方案.

除了感覺更好並找到解決方案, 談論過去的挑戰可以幫助我們從中學習. 如果你和某人分享了一段艱難的經歷, 那麼你們的關係就會發展壯大. 由於所有這些原因, 談論挑戰激發了很多 英語成語.

在今天的對話中, 我們將繼續進行兩位前商業夥伴之間的對話. 西蒙和艾莉正在喝咖啡,他們的談話集中在他們以前的平面設計業務上. 他們一直在談論幾個不同的挑戰, 包括員工面臨的挑戰. 在他們的談話中, 他們使用許多成語來描述挑戰, 我們稍後會在匯報中討論.

聽力問題

1. 艾莉怎麼稱呼你做一些你喜歡的工作,而一些只是幫助支付賬單的情況?
2. 西蒙如何描述他們參與的許多項目?
3. 當西蒙說他覺得他對她的幫助不夠時,艾莉會如何反應?

Premium Members: PDF Transcript | Quizzes | PhraseCast | Lesson Module

BEP 376 – 描述挑戰的英語習語 (1)

描述挑戰的商務英語習語 (1)

歡迎回到Business English Pod,今天的課程 英語成語 用於描述挑戰.

按照古老的說法, 殺不死我們的使我們更強大. 這個想法是生活中的挑戰和困難對我們有好處. 他們幫助我們成長. 他們強迫我們學習. 共同的挑戰可以加強人與人之間的聯繫.

在你的工作生活中, 你可能會想到許多考驗過你的挑戰. 您很有可能已經談到了這些挑戰, 與您的同事或與您的家人在餐桌上. 您可能也聽過其他人描述他們面臨的挑戰. 是, 工作中的困難是一個豐富的話題. 由於這個原因, 有很多有用的 英語成語 我們可以用來描述挑戰.

在對話框中, 我們將聽到兩個朋友和前商業夥伴之間的對話. 西蒙和艾莉幾年前一起經營平面設計業務. 現在他們一邊喝咖啡一邊回憶他們經歷過的一些挑戰. 在他們的談話中, 他們使用許多習語來描述這些挑戰. 邊聽邊嘗試挑選這些成語, 我們稍後會在匯報中討論它們.

聽力問題

1. 艾莉對保留辦公室的想法有何看法?
2. 西蒙現在如何看待他們租用大辦公室的想法?
3. Allie 如何描述他們有一群他們不知道如何管理的人的情況?

Premium Members: PDF Transcript | Quizzes | PhraseCast | Lesson Module
滾動到頂部

Business English News 51 – Energy Costs

Business English News 51 - Energy Costs

In this Business English News lesson we look at business English vocabulary related to energy costs.

Consumers around the world are feeling the pinch as inflation bites. And it’s not just at the grocery store. Prices are going up across the board. A key factor driving this rampant inflation is the cost of energy, which impacts all industries and translates into even higher prices for the average consumer.

A global surge in wholesale power and gas prices means households across Europe face higher energy bills this year and beyond. In the worst-case scenario, many of the region’s most vulnerable are facing fuel poverty according to consumer groups. Prices started to rise above historical levels last September and have soared further this year.

Free Resources: PDF Transcript | Quizzes | Lesson Module

Download: Podcast MP3

Business English News 50 – Streaming TV Services

Business English News 50 - Streaming TV Services

In this Business English News lesson we look at business English vocabulary related to streaming TV services.

The pandemic battered many industries, including entertainment. But when theaters, concert venues, and museums shut down, the streaming wars ramped up. Besides Netflix, Disney, Amazon Prime, and Apple TV signed up thousands of new subscribers a day. In the dying days of the pandemic, however, the question has become whether they can keep them. For Netflix, the king of streaming, the news in 2022 hasn’t been good, as Gizmodo explains:

The most popular streaming service in the world reported on its Q1 earnings call that it had lost 200,000 subscribers where it originally expected to gain 2.5 million. It forecast doom and gloom for next quarter as well, with a predicted loss of two million more. The company has started laying off employees and shutting down productions in order to stave off further declines.

Free Resources: PDF Transcript | Quizzes | Lesson Module

Download: Podcast MP3

BEP 382 – Collocations for Discussing a Partnership (2)

BEP 382 – English Collocations for Discussing a Partnership (2)

Welcome back to Business English Pod for today’s lesson on business English collocations for discussing a business partnership.

The expression “two heads are better than one” tells us that it’s easier to solve a problem with someone else rather than alone. This isn’t just true on an individual level. It’s also true on an organizational level. Two companies, if well matched, can accomplish more together than they can alone.

But successful partnerships aren’t developed overnight. There’s a lot that goes into building a relationship, exploring possibilities, and coming to terms on an agreement. And in today’s lesson, we’ll hear a conversation about a new partnership that has taken a lot of time and discussion to develop. In the conversation, you’ll hear many useful expressions that we call “collocations.”

Collocations are simply words that go together naturally. A second ago I talked about “building a relationship.” That’s a collocation. The verb “build” goes together with “relationship” very naturally. Native English speakers learn these combinations over time, by hearing them over and over again. As a language learner, it’s useful to study English collocations so you can sound more natural.

In today’s dialog, we’ll hear Carlos and Miranda talking with a business consultant named Rolland. Carlos and Miranda’s company, Pineview Wines, is about to enter into a new partnership with Visser Hotels. In their conversation they use many English collocations for talking about partnerships.

Listening Questions

1. What does Rolland call the partnership at the start of the conversation?
2. What has a lawyer helped Pineview Wines do?
3. While benefiting from close collaboration, what do Carlos and Miranda want to maintain?

Premium Members: PDF Transcript | Quizzes | PhraseCast | Lesson Module

Download: Podcast MP3

BEP 381 – Collocations for Discussing a Partnership (1)

BEP 381 – English Collocations for Discussing a Partnership (1)

Welcome back to Business English Pod for today’s lesson on English collocations related to business partnerships.

The world of business is highly competitive. But does this mean companies never cooperate? Of course not! In fact, partnering with other companies can be a great way to achieve your business goals. That might mean cooperating with a company in the same industry or in a completely different industry.

But good partnerships take a lot of work. And before you get to the actual partnership stage, there’s a lot of discussion. In this lesson, we’ll hear a discussion about a potential partnership between two companies. And during this conversation, the speakers use a lot of useful expressions related to partnerships. The type of expression you’ll hear is called a “collocation.”

A collocation is just a natural combination of words. For example, we talk about “cultivating” or “nurturing a relationship.” But we don’t say “make” or “create a relationship.” It’s not a rule of grammar. It’s just a common and natural pattern for native speakers. And if you want to sound more natural, you should learn these collocations.

In today’s dialog, we’ll hear Carlos and Miranda, who work for a wine producer called Pineview Wines. They’re talking with a consultant named Rolland about a possible partnership with a hotel chain called Visser. During their conversation, they use lots of English collocations we can use to talk about partnerships.

Listening Questions

1. What have Carlos and Miranda asked Rolland to sign before their discussion?
2. According to Miranda, fostering collaboration with hotels is a good way for their winery to achieve what goal?
3. What does Rolland emphasize two companies must share in order to work together?

Premium Members: PDF Transcript | Quizzes | PhraseCast | Lesson Module

Download: Podcast MP3

BEP 377 – English Idioms for Describing Challenges (2)

English Idioms for Describing Challenges (2)

Welcome back to Business English Pod for today’s lesson on English idioms for describing challenges.

If you listen in on conversations in the break room at work or at a popular restaurant, what will you hear? Chances are good you’ll hear people talking about problems and challenges. And it’s not just that people are naturally negative. It’s that talking about difficult experiences can help us feel better. And it can also help us find solutions.

Beyond feeling better and finding solutions, talking about past challenges can help us learn from them. And if you’ve shared a difficult experience with someone, then your relationship will develop and grow. For all these reasons, talking about challenges has inspired lots of English idioms.

In today’s dialog, we’ll continue with a conversation between two former business partners. Simon and Allie are meeting for coffee and their conversation has focused on their old graphic design business. They’ve been talking about several different challenges, including challenges with staff. In their conversation, they use many idioms for describing challenges, which we’ll talk about later in the debrief.

Listening Questions

1. What does Allie call the situation where you do some work you like and some to just help pay the bills?
2. How does Simon describe many of the projects they worked on?
3. How does Allie react when Simon says he feels he wasn’t helping her enough?

Premium Members: PDF Transcript | Quizzes | PhraseCast | Lesson Module

Download: Podcast MP3

Scroll to Top