Actualités en anglais des affaires 51 – Energy Costs

Actualités en anglais des affaires 51 - Energy Costs

Dans ce Anglais des affaires Leçon de nouvelles que nous regardons Vocabulaire anglais des affaires related to energy costs.

Consumers around the world are feeling the pinch as inflation bites. And it’s not just at the grocery store. Prices are going up across the board. A key factor driving this rampant inflation is the cost of energy, which impacts all industries and translates into even higher prices for the average consumer.

A global surge in wholesale power and gas prices means households across Europe face higher energy bills this year and beyond. In the worst-case scenario, many of the region’s most vulnerable are facing fuel poverty according to consumer groups. Prices started to rise above historical levels last September and have soared further this year.

Free Resources: PDF Transcript | Quizzes | Lesson Module

Download: Podcast MP3

Actualités en anglais des affaires 50 – Services de télévision en continu

Actualités en anglais des affaires 50 - Services de télévision en continu

Dans ce Anglais des affaires Leçon de nouvelles que nous regardons Vocabulaire anglais des affaires liés aux services de télévision en streaming.

La pandémie a frappé de nombreuses industries, y compris les divertissements. Mais quand les théâtres, concert venues, et les musées fermés, les guerres du streaming se sont intensifiées. Outre Netflix, Disney, Amazon Premier, et Apple TV a signé des milliers de nouveaux abonnés par jour. Aux derniers jours de la pandémie, toutefois, la question est devenue de savoir s'ils peuvent les garder. Pour Netflix, le roi du streaming, les nouvelles dans 2022 n'a pas été bon, comme l'explique Gizmodo:

Le service de streaming le plus populaire au monde a annoncé lors de son appel aux résultats du premier trimestre qu'il avait perdu 200,000 abonnés là où il s'attendait initialement à gagner 2.5 million. Il prévoit également le malheur et la morosité pour le prochain trimestre, avec une perte prévue de deux millions de plus. L'entreprise a commencé à licencier des employés et à arrêter des productions afin d'éviter de nouvelles baisses.

Free Resources: PDF Transcript | Quizzes | Lesson Module

Download: Podcast MP3

BEP 382 – Collocations pour discuter d'un partenariat (2)

BEP 382 – Collocations en anglais pour discuter d'un partenariat (2)

Bienvenue dans le module d'anglais des affaires pour la leçon d'aujourd'hui sur collocations anglais des affaires pour discuter d'un partenariat commercial.

L'expression « deux têtes valent mieux qu'une » nous dit qu'il est plus facile de résoudre un problème avec quelqu'un d'autre que seul. Ce n'est pas seulement vrai au niveau individuel. C'est aussi vrai au niveau de l'organisation. Deux entreprises, si bien assorti, peuvent accomplir plus ensemble qu'ils ne peuvent le faire seuls.

Mais les partenariats réussis ne se développent pas du jour au lendemain. Il y a beaucoup de choses qui entrent dans la construction d'une relation, explorer les possibilités, et conclure un accord. Et dans la leçon d'aujourd'hui, nous entendrons une conversation sur un nouveau partenariat qui a pris beaucoup de temps et de discussions pour se développer. Dans la conversation, vous entendrez de nombreuses expressions utiles que nous appelons « collocations ».

Les collocations sont simplement des mots qui vont ensemble naturellement. Il y a une seconde, j'ai parlé de « construire une relation ». C'est une collocation. Le verbe « construire » va de pair avec « relation » très naturellement. Les anglophones natifs apprennent ces combinaisons au fil du temps, en les écoutant encore et encore. En tant qu'apprenant d'une langue, il est utile d'étudier Collocations en anglais pour que vous puissiez avoir l'air plus naturel.

Dans la boîte de dialogue d'aujourd'hui, nous entendrons Carlos et Miranda parler avec un consultant en affaires nommé Rolland. La compagnie de Carlos et Miranda, Vins Pineview, est sur le point de conclure un nouveau partenariat avec Visser Hotels. Dans leur conversation, ils utilisent de nombreuses collocations en anglais pour parler de partenariats.

Questions d'écoute

1. Comment Rolland appelle le partenariat au début de la conversation?
2. Qu'est-ce qu'un avocat a aidé Pineview Wines à faire?
3. Tout en bénéficiant d'une étroite collaboration, qu'est-ce que Carlos et Miranda veulent maintenir?

Premium Members: PDF Transcript | Quizzes | PhraseCast | Lesson Module

Download: Podcast MP3

BEP 381 – Collocations pour discuter d'un partenariat (1)

BEP 381 – Collocations en anglais pour discuter d'un partenariat (1)

Bienvenue dans le module d'anglais des affaires pour la leçon d'aujourd'hui sur Collocations en anglais liés aux partenariats commerciaux.

Le monde des affaires est très concurrentiel. Mais cela signifie-t-il que les entreprises ne coopèrent jamais? Bien sûr que non! En réalité, le partenariat avec d'autres entreprises peut être un excellent moyen d'atteindre vos objectifs commerciaux. Cela peut signifier coopérer avec une entreprise du même secteur ou d'un secteur complètement différent.

Mais de bons partenariats demandent beaucoup de travail. Et avant d'arriver à l'étape du partenariat, il y a beaucoup de discussions. Dans cette leçon, nous entendrons une discussion sur un partenariat potentiel entre deux entreprises. Et pendant cette conversation, les conférenciers utilisent beaucoup d'expressions utiles liées aux partenariats. Le type d'expression que vous entendrez s'appelle un "collocation."

Une collocation est juste une combinaison naturelle de mots. Par exemple, nous parlons de « cultiver » ou « entretenir une relation ». Mais nous ne disons pas « faire » ou « créer une relation ». Ce n'est pas une règle de grammaire. C'est juste un modèle commun et naturel pour les locuteurs natifs. Et si vous voulez un son plus naturel, vous devriez apprendre ces collocations.

Dans la boîte de dialogue d'aujourd'hui, nous entendrons Carlos et Miranda, qui travaillent pour un producteur de vin appelé Pineview Wines. Ils discutent avec un consultant nommé Rolland d'un éventuel partenariat avec une chaîne hôtelière appelée Visser. Au cours de leur conversation, ils utilisent beaucoup de collocations en anglais que nous pouvons utiliser pour parler de partenariats.

Questions d'écoute

1. Qu'est-ce que Carlos et Miranda ont demandé à Rolland de signer avant leur discussion?
2. D'après Miranda, favoriser la collaboration avec les hôtels est un bon moyen pour leur établissement vinicole d'atteindre cet objectif?
3. Qu'est-ce que Rolland souligne que deux entreprises doivent partager pour travailler ensemble?

Premium Members: PDF Transcript | Quizzes | PhraseCast | Lesson Module

Download: Podcast MP3

BEP 377 – Expressions idiomatiques anglaises pour décrire les défis (2)

Expressions idiomatiques anglaises pour décrire les défis (2)

Bienvenue dans le module d'anglais des affaires pour la leçon d'aujourd'hui sur Expressions idiomatiques anglaises pour décrire les défis.

Si vous écoutez des conversations dans la salle de pause au travail ou dans un restaurant populaire, qu'entendras-tu? Il y a de fortes chances que vous entendiez des gens parler de problèmes et de défis. Et ce n'est pas seulement que les gens sont naturellement négatifs. C'est que parler d'expériences difficiles peut nous aider à nous sentir mieux. Et cela peut aussi nous aider à trouver des solutions.

Au-delà de se sentir mieux et de trouver des solutions, parler des défis du passé peut nous aider à en tirer des leçons. Et si vous avez partagé une expérience difficile avec quelqu'un, alors votre relation se développera et grandira. Pour toutes ces raisons, parler de défis a inspiré beaucoup de Idiomes anglais.

Dans la boîte de dialogue d'aujourd'hui, nous continuerons avec une conversation entre deux anciens partenaires commerciaux. Simon et Allie se réunissent pour prendre un café et leur conversation s'est concentrée sur leur ancienne entreprise de conception graphique. Ils ont parlé de plusieurs défis différents, y compris les défis avec le personnel. Dans leur conversation, ils utilisent de nombreux idiomes pour décrire les défis, dont nous parlerons plus tard dans le débriefing.

Questions d'écoute

1. Comment Allie appelle-t-elle la situation où vous faites un travail que vous aimez et d'autres pour simplement aider à payer les factures?
2. Comment Simon décrit-il bon nombre des projets sur lesquels ils ont travaillé?
3. Comment Allie réagit-elle quand Simon dit qu'il a l'impression de ne pas l'avoir assez aidée?

Premium Members: PDF Transcript | Quizzes | PhraseCast | Lesson Module

Download: Podcast MP3

Faire défiler vers le haut

Business English News 50 – Streaming TV Services

Business English News 50 - Streaming TV Services

In this Business English News lesson we look at business English vocabulary related to streaming TV services.

The pandemic battered many industries, including entertainment. But when theaters, concert venues, and museums shut down, the streaming wars ramped up. Besides Netflix, Disney, Amazon Prime, and Apple TV signed up thousands of new subscribers a day. In the dying days of the pandemic, however, the question has become whether they can keep them. For Netflix, the king of streaming, the news in 2022 hasn’t been good, as Gizmodo explains:

The most popular streaming service in the world reported on its Q1 earnings call that it had lost 200,000 subscribers where it originally expected to gain 2.5 million. It forecast doom and gloom for next quarter as well, with a predicted loss of two million more. The company has started laying off employees and shutting down productions in order to stave off further declines.

Free Resources: PDF Transcript | Quizzes | Lesson Module

BEP 382 – Collocations for Discussing a Partnership (2)

BEP 382 – English Collocations for Discussing a Partnership (2)

Welcome back to Business English Pod for today’s lesson on business English collocations for discussing a business partnership.

The expression “two heads are better than one” tells us that it’s easier to solve a problem with someone else rather than alone. This isn’t just true on an individual level. It’s also true on an organizational level. Two companies, if well matched, can accomplish more together than they can alone.

But successful partnerships aren’t developed overnight. There’s a lot that goes into building a relationship, exploring possibilities, and coming to terms on an agreement. And in today’s lesson, we’ll hear a conversation about a new partnership that has taken a lot of time and discussion to develop. In the conversation, you’ll hear many useful expressions that we call “collocations.”

Collocations are simply words that go together naturally. A second ago I talked about “building a relationship.” That’s a collocation. The verb “build” goes together with “relationship” very naturally. Native English speakers learn these combinations over time, by hearing them over and over again. As a language learner, it’s useful to study English collocations so you can sound more natural.

In today’s dialog, we’ll hear Carlos and Miranda talking with a business consultant named Rolland. Carlos and Miranda’s company, Pineview Wines, is about to enter into a new partnership with Visser Hotels. In their conversation they use many English collocations for talking about partnerships.

Listening Questions

1. What does Rolland call the partnership at the start of the conversation?
2. What has a lawyer helped Pineview Wines do?
3. While benefiting from close collaboration, what do Carlos and Miranda want to maintain?

Premium Members: PDF Transcript | Quizzes | PhraseCast | Lesson Module

BEP 381 – Collocations for Discussing a Partnership (1)

BEP 381 – English Collocations for Discussing a Partnership (1)

Welcome back to Business English Pod for today’s lesson on English collocations related to business partnerships.

The world of business is highly competitive. But does this mean companies never cooperate? Of course not! In fact, partnering with other companies can be a great way to achieve your business goals. That might mean cooperating with a company in the same industry or in a completely different industry.

But good partnerships take a lot of work. And before you get to the actual partnership stage, there’s a lot of discussion. In this lesson, we’ll hear a discussion about a potential partnership between two companies. And during this conversation, the speakers use a lot of useful expressions related to partnerships. The type of expression you’ll hear is called a “collocation.”

A collocation is just a natural combination of words. For example, we talk about “cultivating” or “nurturing a relationship.” But we don’t say “make” or “create a relationship.” It’s not a rule of grammar. It’s just a common and natural pattern for native speakers. And if you want to sound more natural, you should learn these collocations.

In today’s dialog, we’ll hear Carlos and Miranda, who work for a wine producer called Pineview Wines. They’re talking with a consultant named Rolland about a possible partnership with a hotel chain called Visser. During their conversation, they use lots of English collocations we can use to talk about partnerships.

Listening Questions

1. What have Carlos and Miranda asked Rolland to sign before their discussion?
2. According to Miranda, fostering collaboration with hotels is a good way for their winery to achieve what goal?
3. What does Rolland emphasize two companies must share in order to work together?

Premium Members: PDF Transcript | Quizzes | PhraseCast | Lesson Module

BEP 377 – English Idioms for Describing Challenges (2)

English Idioms for Describing Challenges (2)

Welcome back to Business English Pod for today’s lesson on English idioms for describing challenges.

If you listen in on conversations in the break room at work or at a popular restaurant, what will you hear? Chances are good you’ll hear people talking about problems and challenges. And it’s not just that people are naturally negative. It’s that talking about difficult experiences can help us feel better. And it can also help us find solutions.

Beyond feeling better and finding solutions, talking about past challenges can help us learn from them. And if you’ve shared a difficult experience with someone, then your relationship will develop and grow. For all these reasons, talking about challenges has inspired lots of English idioms.

In today’s dialog, we’ll continue with a conversation between two former business partners. Simon and Allie are meeting for coffee and their conversation has focused on their old graphic design business. They’ve been talking about several different challenges, including challenges with staff. In their conversation, they use many idioms for describing challenges, which we’ll talk about later in the debrief.

Listening Questions

1. What does Allie call the situation where you do some work you like and some to just help pay the bills?
2. How does Simon describe many of the projects they worked on?
3. How does Allie react when Simon says he feels he wasn’t helping her enough?

Premium Members: PDF Transcript | Quizzes | PhraseCast | Lesson Module

BEP 376 – English Idioms for Describing Challenges (1)

Business English Idioms for Describing Challenges (1)

Welcome back to Business English Pod for today’s lesson on English idioms for describing challenges.

According to an old expression, what doesn’t kill us makes us stronger. The idea is that life’s challenges and difficulties are good for us. They help us grow. They force us to learn. And shared challenges have a way of strengthening the bonds between people.

In your work life, you can probably think of many challenges that have tested you. There’s a good chance that you’ve talked about these challenges, with your colleagues or at the dinner table with your family. You’ve also probably listened to other people describe their challenges. Yes, difficulties at work are a rich topic of conversation. And for that reason, there are many useful English idioms we can use to describe challenges.

In the dialog, we’ll hear a conversation between two friends and former business partners. Simon and Allie ran a graphic design business together some years ago. Now they’re chatting over coffee and recalling some of the challenges they experienced. In their conversation, they use many idioms to describe these challenges. Try to pick out these idioms as you listen, and we’ll talk about them later in the debrief.

Listening Questions

1. What did Allie think about the idea of keeping their office?
2. What does Simon now think about their idea to rent a big office?
3. How does Allie describe the situation in which they had a team of people they didn’t know how to manage?

Premium Members: PDF Transcript | Quizzes | PhraseCast | Lesson Module
Scroll to Top