ESL-Podcast

ESL-Podcast- und Business-Englisch-Podcast-Lektionen. Business English Pod ist einer der ältesten und erfolgreichsten ESL-Podcasts, der von Englischlernern weltweit verwendet wird, um ihre Englisch-Hörfähigkeiten zu verbessern und einen besseren englischen Wortschatz zu entwickeln.

BEP 35c – Treffen: Clarifying What Was Meant

BEP 35c LESSON - Englische Treffen: Clarifying Meaning

Welcome back to Business English Pod for today’s lesson on clarifying in Englische Treffen. Previously we looked at how to clarify what was said when you didn’t hear properly. Today we’re going to look at how to clarify what someone means in order to avoid misunderstandings.

Life would be simple if everyone said what they meant clearly and directly. But that’s not the way things work. People often speak indirectly or use words that are a bit confusing. Aus diesem Grund, we often need to clarify what people mean.

There are several ways to do this. You can tell someone you don’t understand. Or you might confirm an idea or restate what someone says if you think you might understand. And it may take some time to work out the general meaning or the meaning of a specific word.

Today we’ll listen to a meeting between Michael, Rachel, and Ryan. Michael is leading the meeting and talking about the disappointing launch of a new product. Während des Gesprächs, it’s not always clear what people mean. Aus diesem Grund, they use several different expressions for clarifying what was meant.

Fragen zum Zuhören

1. What expression does Michael use about the “numbers” that Ryan tries to clarify?
2. What does Ryan ask about that Michael wants to clarify?
3. What word does Michael use that Rachel asks about near the end of the conversation?

Premium Members: PDF Transcript | Quizzes | PhraseCast | Lesson Module

Download: Podcast MP3

BEP 34c – Klärung und Bestätigung des Gesagten

Business Englisch - BEP 34c - Klärung des Gesagten

Willkommen zurück zu Business Englisch Pod für die heutige Lektion darüber, wie man das Gesagte während eines Gesprächs klarstellt.

Kommunikation ist selten einfach. Es gibt so viel, was in einem Gespräch schiefgehen kann, vor allem am telefon. Möglicherweise hören wir jemanden nicht gut, wir könnten sie falsch hören, und wir verstehen Wörter oder Ausdrücke möglicherweise nicht auf die gleiche Weise. Aus diesem Grund, Wir müssen in der Lage sein, das Gesagte zu klären.

Es gibt einige grundlegende Möglichkeiten zur Klärung, die äußerst nützlich sind. Wir können „WH“-Fragen verwenden, wie wer, Was, Wo, Wann, und warum. Wir können die Leute bitten, zu wiederholen, was sie gesagt haben, und Dinge für andere zu wiederholen, wenn sie uns nicht verstanden haben. Und wir können Tag-Fragen verwenden, um zu bestätigen, dass wir richtig gehört haben.

Heute hören wir a Telefongespräch in Geschäftsenglisch zwischen drei Kollegen: Benny, Wim, und Andre. Sie telefonieren zum ersten Mal seit langem wieder. Während ihres Gesprächs, Sie verwenden mehrere Ausdrücke, um das Gesagte zu verdeutlichen.

Fragen zum Zuhören

1. Was sagt die Rezeptionistin, was Benny nicht sofort versteht??
2. Welche Frage stellt Benny Wim, die wiederholt werden muss??
3. Welche Frage stellt Benny noch einmal zum Fluss in Rotterdam??

Premium Members: PDF Transcript | Quizzes | PhraseCast | Lesson Module

Download: Podcast MP3

BEP 33c – Präsentationen: Zusammenfassung und Aufruf zum Handeln

BEP 33c - Englisch für Präsentationen: Zusammenfassung und Aufruf zum Handeln

Willkommen zurück im Business English Pod für die heutige Lektion zum Abschluss eines Präsentation mit einer Zusammenfassung und einem Aufruf zum Handeln.

Eine wirkungsvolle Präsentation bleibt im Gedächtnis. Und ein effektiver Moderator ist jemand, der es versteht, Informationen in Erinnerung zu behalten und beim Publikum einen bleibenden Eindruck zu hinterlassen. Aber für viele Menschen, das ist einfacher gesagt als getan. Wie können Sie also dafür sorgen, dass Ihre Ideen haften bleiben??

Gut, Es gibt eine einfache Struktur, der Sie folgen können. Zu dieser Struktur gehört das Signalisieren, dass Sie Ihre Präsentation beenden werden. Nächste, Sie können eine Zusammenfassung dessen bereitstellen, was Sie besprochen haben. Dann können Sie einen Call-to-Action machen. Und schlussendlich, Sie können sich bei Ihrem Publikum bedanken und Fragen stellen. Mit dieser Struktur, Sie können Ihrer Präsentation einen starken Abschluss verleihen und einen bleibenden Eindruck hinterlassen.

Heute hören wir uns einen Vortrag von Nick an, ein Vertriebsleiter für ein Stahlunternehmen. Nick hält einen Vortrag über Ideen zur Umsatzsteigerung, die eher enttäuschend waren. Er verwendet verschiedene Techniken, um seine Kernpunkte zusammenzufassen und hervorzuheben. Und er sorgt für einen starken Abschluss seiner Präsentation.

Fragen zum Zuhören

1. Was sagt Nick, um die abschließende Zusammenfassung seiner Hauptgedanken einzuleiten??
2. Was sagt Nick den Leuten, was er gegen Ende der Präsentation von ihnen erwartet??
3. Was macht Nick, um seine Präsentation zu beenden??

Premium Members: PDF Transcript | Quizzes | PhraseCast | Lesson Module

Download: Podcast MP3

BEP 31c – Englisch für Meetings: Auf Vorschläge reagieren

BEP 31 LEKTION - Englisch für Meetings: Auf Vorschläge reagieren

Willkommen zurück bei Business English Pod. Die heutige Lektion ist die zweite in einer Reihe über den Umgang mit Vorschlägen in Englische Treffen. Letztes Mal haben wir uns angeschaut, wie das geht Vorschläge machen. Und dieses Mal schauen wir uns an, wie man auf Vorschläge reagiert.

Business ist ein Mannschaftssport. Und hinter jedem erfolgreichen Team steht ein gesunder interner Dialog und eine gesunde Debatte. Wenn Sie geschäftlich erfolgreich sein und ein guter Teamplayer sein möchten, Sie brauchen Meinungen und die Fähigkeit, sie effektiv auszudrücken. Dabei geht es aber nicht nur darum, eigene Vorschläge zu machen. Es bedeutet auch, auf die Vorschläge anderer zu reagieren.

Also in dieser Lektion, Wir lernen verschiedene Möglichkeiten kennen, auf Vorschläge zu reagieren. Dazu gehört auch, positiv zu reagieren, indem man die Idee annimmt oder lobt. Dazu gehört auch, Ideen abzulehnen oder anzuzweifeln.

Im heutigen Dialog, Wir hören einem Marketing-Team-Meeting bei einem Sportschuhunternehmen zu. Die vier Kollegen sprechen über eine neue Werbekampagne. Sie machen Vorschläge für einen „Sprecher“.,” oder eine erkennbare Figur, um für ihre Schuhe zu werben. Während der Diskussion nutzen sie verschiedene Techniken und Sprachen, um auf Vorschläge zu reagieren.

Fragen zum Zuhören

1. Was hält Miguel von Svens Idee, einen übergewichtigen Geschäftsführer als Sprecher einzustellen??
2. Wie reagiert Karen auf Miguels Vorschlag, einen berühmten Sportstar zu engagieren??
3. Wie reagiert die Gruppe auf Karens letzten Vorschlag, einen Golfspieler einzustellen??

Premium Members: PDF Transcript | Quizzes | PhraseCast | Lesson Module

Download: Podcast MP3

BEP 394 – Englische Redewendungen über Körperteile (2)

BEP 394 - Englische Redewendungen über Körperteile (2)

Willkommen zurück im Business English Pod für die heutige Lektion Geschäftsenglische Redewendungen basierend auf dem menschlichen Körper.

Haben Sie während Ihres Englischstudiums jemals den Ausdruck „etwas auswendig lernen“ gehört??„Vielleicht musste man ein englisches Lied auswendig lernen.“. Oder vielleicht waren es Verbkonjugationen, oder eine Liste mit Vokabeln, die Ihr Lehrer Sie „auswendig“ lernen ließ. Und vielleicht wissen Sie, dass etwas auswendig zu lernen bedeutet, es auswendig zu lernen, Das ist irgendwie seltsam, wenn man bedenkt, dass sich unser Gedächtnis in unserem Gehirn befindet, nicht unser Herz!

Aber „auswendig lernen“ ist eine Redewendung. Und im Englischen gibt es Tausende und Abertausende von Redewendungen. Es ist eine Sache, die es wirklich schwierig macht, Englisch zu lernen. Aber das werden Sie finden englische Sprichwörter neigen dazu, sich auf bestimmte Themen oder Metaphern zu verlassen, wie Körperteile. Und heute schauen wir uns einige Redewendungen an, die sich auf Gehirne beziehen, Ohren, Herzen, Hände, Lippen, Finger, und sogar Absätze.

In dieser Lektion, Wir werden uns wieder einem Gespräch zwischen Maria und Trevor anschließen. Es sind Freunde und ehemalige Kollegen, die sich zum Kaffeetrinken treffen, um über ihre Arbeitssituation zu sprechen. In ihren Gesprächen verwenden sie viele verschiedene Redewendungen, die sich auf menschliche Körperteile beziehen. Versuchen Sie, beim Zuhören einige dieser Redewendungen zu erkennen, und ich werde sie später in der Nachbesprechung erklären.

Fragen zum Zuhören

1. Wie beschreibt Maria ihren CEO??
2. Was sagt Trevor, als Maria ihm erzählt, dass sie ein Geheimnis hat??
3. Was hat Maria bei anderen Unternehmen erlebt, das ihr Angst macht, ein eigenes Unternehmen zu gründen??

Premium Members: PDF Transcript | Quizzes | PhraseCast | Lesson Module

Download: Podcast MP3

Business English News 51 – Energy Costs

Business English News 51 - Energy Costs

In this Business English News lesson we look at business English vocabulary related to energy costs.

Consumers around the world are feeling the pinch as inflation bites. And it’s not just at the grocery store. Prices are going up across the board. A key factor driving this rampant inflation is the cost of energy, which impacts all industries and translates into even higher prices for the average consumer.

A global surge in wholesale power and gas prices means households across Europe face higher energy bills this year and beyond. In the worst-case scenario, many of the region’s most vulnerable are facing fuel poverty according to consumer groups. Prices started to rise above historical levels last September and have soared further this year.

Free Resources: PDF Transcript | Quizzes | Lesson Module

Download: Podcast MP3

Business English News 50 – Streaming TV Services

Business English News 50 - Streaming TV Services

In this Business English News lesson we look at business English vocabulary related to streaming TV services.

The pandemic battered many industries, including entertainment. But when theaters, concert venues, and museums shut down, the streaming wars ramped up. Besides Netflix, Disney, Amazon Prime, and Apple TV signed up thousands of new subscribers a day. In the dying days of the pandemic, however, the question has become whether they can keep them. For Netflix, the king of streaming, the news in 2022 hasn’t been good, as Gizmodo explains:

The most popular streaming service in the world reported on its Q1 earnings call that it had lost 200,000 subscribers where it originally expected to gain 2.5 million. It forecast doom and gloom for next quarter as well, with a predicted loss of two million more. The company has started laying off employees and shutting down productions in order to stave off further declines.

Free Resources: PDF Transcript | Quizzes | Lesson Module

Download: Podcast MP3

BEP 382 – Collocations for Discussing a Partnership (2)

BEP 382 – English Collocations for Discussing a Partnership (2)

Welcome back to Business English Pod for today’s lesson on business English collocations for discussing a business partnership.

The expression “two heads are better than one” tells us that it’s easier to solve a problem with someone else rather than alone. This isn’t just true on an individual level. It’s also true on an organizational level. Two companies, if well matched, can accomplish more together than they can alone.

But successful partnerships aren’t developed overnight. There’s a lot that goes into building a relationship, exploring possibilities, and coming to terms on an agreement. And in today’s lesson, we’ll hear a conversation about a new partnership that has taken a lot of time and discussion to develop. In the conversation, you’ll hear many useful expressions that we call “collocations.”

Collocations are simply words that go together naturally. A second ago I talked about “building a relationship.” That’s a collocation. The verb “build” goes together with “relationship” very naturally. Native English speakers learn these combinations over time, by hearing them over and over again. As a language learner, it’s useful to study English collocations so you can sound more natural.

In today’s dialog, we’ll hear Carlos and Miranda talking with a business consultant named Rolland. Carlos and Miranda’s company, Pineview Wines, is about to enter into a new partnership with Visser Hotels. In their conversation they use many English collocations for talking about partnerships.

Listening Questions

1. What does Rolland call the partnership at the start of the conversation?
2. What has a lawyer helped Pineview Wines do?
3. While benefiting from close collaboration, what do Carlos and Miranda want to maintain?

Premium Members: PDF Transcript | Quizzes | PhraseCast | Lesson Module

Download: Podcast MP3

BEP 381 – Collocations for Discussing a Partnership (1)

BEP 381 – English Collocations for Discussing a Partnership (1)

Welcome back to Business English Pod for today’s lesson on English collocations related to business partnerships.

The world of business is highly competitive. But does this mean companies never cooperate? Of course not! In fact, partnering with other companies can be a great way to achieve your business goals. That might mean cooperating with a company in the same industry or in a completely different industry.

But good partnerships take a lot of work. And before you get to the actual partnership stage, there’s a lot of discussion. In this lesson, we’ll hear a discussion about a potential partnership between two companies. And during this conversation, the speakers use a lot of useful expressions related to partnerships. The type of expression you’ll hear is called a “collocation.”

A collocation is just a natural combination of words. For example, we talk about “cultivating” or “nurturing a relationship.” But we don’t say “make” or “create a relationship.” It’s not a rule of grammar. It’s just a common and natural pattern for native speakers. And if you want to sound more natural, you should learn these collocations.

In today’s dialog, we’ll hear Carlos and Miranda, who work for a wine producer called Pineview Wines. They’re talking with a consultant named Rolland about a possible partnership with a hotel chain called Visser. During their conversation, they use lots of English collocations we can use to talk about partnerships.

Listening Questions

1. What have Carlos and Miranda asked Rolland to sign before their discussion?
2. According to Miranda, fostering collaboration with hotels is a good way for their winery to achieve what goal?
3. What does Rolland emphasize two companies must share in order to work together?

Premium Members: PDF Transcript | Quizzes | PhraseCast | Lesson Module

Download: Podcast MP3

BEP 377 – English Idioms for Describing Challenges (2)

English Idioms for Describing Challenges (2)

Welcome back to Business English Pod for today’s lesson on English idioms for describing challenges.

If you listen in on conversations in the break room at work or at a popular restaurant, what will you hear? Chances are good you’ll hear people talking about problems and challenges. And it’s not just that people are naturally negative. It’s that talking about difficult experiences can help us feel better. And it can also help us find solutions.

Beyond feeling better and finding solutions, talking about past challenges can help us learn from them. And if you’ve shared a difficult experience with someone, then your relationship will develop and grow. For all these reasons, talking about challenges has inspired lots of English idioms.

In today’s dialog, we’ll continue with a conversation between two former business partners. Simon and Allie are meeting for coffee and their conversation has focused on their old graphic design business. They’ve been talking about several different challenges, including challenges with staff. In their conversation, they use many idioms for describing challenges, which we’ll talk about later in the debrief.

Listening Questions

1. What does Allie call the situation where you do some work you like and some to just help pay the bills?
2. How does Simon describe many of the projects they worked on?
3. How does Allie react when Simon says he feels he wasn’t helping her enough?

Premium Members: PDF Transcript | Quizzes | PhraseCast | Lesson Module

Download: Podcast MP3

Scroll to Top