أفضل الممارسات البيئية 369 – تخطيط السيناريو 3: مناقشة الاستجابات الاستراتيجية

أفضل الممارسات البيئية 369 - اجتماعات التخطيط بالسيناريو إنجليزي 3: مناقشة الاستجابات الاستراتيجية

مرحبًا بك مرة أخرى في Business English Pod للاطلاع على درس اليوم حول الحديث عن الاستجابات الإستراتيجية أثناء تخطيط السيناريو الاجتماع باللغة الإنجليزية.

من المستحيل التنبؤ بالمستقبل بالضبط. لكن هذا لا يعني أننا لا يجب أن نكلف عناء المحاولة. بعد كل شيء, نحن لا نصنع استراتيجيات الأعمال استنادًا إلى حقائق اليوم فقط. نحن بحاجة إلى التفكير فيما سيحدث أو يمكن أن يحدث وكيف سنرد على هذه الأحداث المحتملة.

لذلك إذا كنا قد انتهينا من عمل وضع السيناريوهات المستقبلية, ثم كيف نخطط بالضبط لاستجاباتنا الاستراتيجية? للبدأ, سوف تحتاج إلى اختيار الموقف الاستراتيجي العام. هل ستأخذ زمام المبادرة في مجال عملك? أم أنك ستجلس وتستجيب للأشياء فور حدوثها?

يعتمد وضعك الاستراتيجي جزئيًا على التأثيرات المحتملة للأحداث المستقبلية وعلى اختيارك للاستراتيجيات. تحتاج إلى مناقشة هذه التأثيرات من أجل اختيار أفضل مسار للعمل من بين عدة احتمالات. هذا يعني أنك ستفعل الكثير من مناقشة الاستراتيجيات البديلة.

في التخطيط الاستراتيجي, غالبًا ما نقول أنه يمكنك الحصول على أي شيء تريده, لكن لا يمكنك الحصول على كل ما تريد. لهذا السبب, سيكون عليك أن تطلب من فريقك تحديد الأولويات, أو تحديد الاستراتيجيات الأكثر أهمية. ولاتخاذ تلك القرارات بشأن الأولويات, ستحتاج إلى مناقشة النتائج الافتراضية للإجراءات المختلفة.

في حوار اليوم, سنعود إلى اجتماع للمديرين التنفيذيين في شركة بيع بالتجزئة كبيرة. يقع Gwen في المقر الرئيسي للولايات المتحدة. إنها تناقش الإستراتيجيات مع ناتاشا ودانيال, الذي يرأس عمليات الشركة في بلد آخر. تناقش المجموعة الاستجابات الإستراتيجية للسيناريوهات المستقبلية التي حددوها بالفعل.

أسئلة الاستماع

1. ما هي الإستراتيجية التي يقترحها دانيال لمتاجرهم الحضرية الكبيرة?
2. ماذا تقترح ناتاشا بدلاً من إجراء تخفيضات كبيرة على عملياتهم?
3. ما يقوله جوين قد يكون النتيجة النهائية للتغييرات التي يناقشونها?

Premium Members: PDF Transcript | Quizzes | PhraseCast | Lesson Module

أفضل الممارسات البيئية 368 – تخطيط السيناريو 2: مناقشة السيناريوهات المحتملة

BEP368 - اجتماع التخطيط باللغة الإنجليزية 2 - مناقشة السيناريوهات

مرحبًا بك مرة أخرى في اللغة الإنجليزية للأعمال قرع درس اليوم حول مناقشة السيناريوهات المستقبلية في التخطيط الاجتماع باللغة الإنجليزية.

تخطيط الأعمال لا يبدو كما كان عليه من قبل. يحمل العالم اليوم الكثير من المفاجآت والكثير من عدم اليقين. هناك تغيير مستمر لا يلين, وأحيانًا يبدو الأمر وكأننا نحاول مواكبة ذلك.

في هذه الظروف, إنها فكرة جيدة أن تحدد السيناريوهات المستقبلية المحتملة. غالبًا ما يتم بناء هذا النوع من التمرين على العديد من أوجه عدم اليقين الرئيسية التي حددتها بالفعل. يعد تخطيط السيناريوهات المختلفة أمرًا ضروريًا قبل أن تتمكن من البدء في تطوير استراتيجيات للاستجابة لهذه المواقف المستقبلية المحتملة.

هناك شيء واحد ستفعله عند مناقشة السيناريوهات وهو عمل تنبؤات. في بعض الحالات, ستتمكن من إجراء تنبؤات بدرجة كبيرة من اليقين. في الآخرين, سيتعين عليك التحقق مما إذا كنت متأكدًا أكثر مما ينبغي. خاصه, قد تتأثر بتحيز التوفر, حيث تقودك المعلومات المتاحة إلى إجراء تنبؤات بدرجة كبيرة من اليقين.

لأننا لا نستطيع أن نكون متأكدين دائمًا, نجد أنفسنا نناقش احتمالية وقوع أحداث معينة, أو كيف هم على الأرجح. قد يكون من المغري في هذه المرحلة البدء في تقييم الاستراتيجيات الممكنة, ولكن من الأفضل مقاومة ذلك والتركيز على السيناريوهات أولاً. وطوال, يجب أن تنتبه للافتراضات التي قد تخيم على تفكيرك, أو تجعلك تفكر بشكل غير واضح.

في حوار اليوم, سنعود إلى مناقشة في شركة بيع بالتجزئة كبيرة. ناتاشا ودانيال مديران تنفيذيان يناقشان وضع بلدهما مع جوين, الذي يوجد مقره في الولايات المتحدة. تقوم المجموعة برسم سيناريوهات بناءً على الموقف الذي ناقشوه بالفعل.

أسئلة الاستماع

1. ماذا تتوقع ناتاشا على وجه اليقين?
2. بحسب دانيال, ما مدى احتمالية انخفاض المبيعات 30%?
3. ما الافتراض الذي تنادي به ناتاشا دانيال?

Premium Members: PDF Transcript | Quizzes | PhraseCast | Lesson Module

أفضل الممارسات البيئية 367 – تخطيط السيناريو 1: استكشاف الوضع

أفضل الممارسات البيئية 367 - اجتماعات تخطيط السيناريو 1: استكشاف الوضع

مرحبًا بك مرة أخرى في Business English Pod للاطلاع على درس اليوم حول تخطيط السيناريو اجتماعات.

كيف نخطط لمستقبل غير مؤكد? على نطاق عالمي, نحن نواجه جائحة, تغير المناخ, الاضطرابات الاجتماعية, وعدم الاستقرار السياسي. على المستوى المحلي, يمكن أن يتعامل عملك مع مجموعة أخرى من التحديات. إذن كيف يمكننا التخطيط لما قد يحدث في المستقبل?

أحد الأساليب التي تتبعها المنظمات في أوقات عدم اليقين هو تخطيط السيناريو. شيء صغير, يتضمن تخطيط السيناريو مناقشة المواقف المستقبلية المحتملة المختلفة, والتخطيط لكل احتمال. يبدأ هذا النوع من التخطيط عادة باستكشاف الموقف.

غالبًا ما ينطوي استكشاف الموقف على الكثير من التكهنات, أثناء مناقشة ما قد يحدث في المستقبل. يساعدك هذا في تحديد نقاط عدم اليقين الرئيسية التي تواجهها. بالتاكيد, تختلف الظروف من مكان إلى آخر, لذلك قد تجد نفسك تشرح الاختلافات السياقية عندما تخطط لسيناريوهات مختلفة.

يمكن أن تكون هذه المناقشات معقدة للغاية, لذلك من الجيد غالبًا طلب ملخص للمشكلات. أحد الجوانب الأكثر أهمية في تخطيط السيناريو هو استخدام الأدلة لتوجيه المناقشة. في بعض الحالات, سوف تحتاج إلى استخدام هذا الدليل لمواجهة تفاؤل الآخرين بشأن المستقبل.

في حوار اليوم, سنستمع إلى مناقشة تخطيط سيناريو في شركة بيع بالتجزئة كبيرة. جوين في منصب قيادي في المقر الرئيسي للشركة في الولايات المتحدة. إنها تتحدث مع ناتاشا ودانيال, اثنان من المديرين التنفيذيين في بلد آخر. تواجه الشركة تحديات هائلة يفرضها جائحة COVID-19. وفي هذا النقاش, إنهم يستكشفون الوضع برمته.

أسئلة الاستماع

1. في بداية المحادثة, ما هو برنامج الإغاثة الحكومي الذي تتكهن به ناتاشا?
2. ما يقوله دانيال هو أحد أكبر حالات عدم اليقين التي يواجهونها?
3. ما هو التغيير المحتمل الذي يعتقد دانيال أنه قد يحدث ولكن ناتاشا لا تفعل ذلك?

Premium Members: PDF Transcript | Quizzes | PhraseCast | Lesson Module

أفضل الممارسات البيئية 366 – اللغة الإنجليزية للشركات الناشئة 3: معالجة مخاوف المستثمرين

أفضل الممارسات البيئية 366 درس - بدء اللغة الإنجليزية 3: الإجابة على أسئلة المستثمرين

مرحبًا بك مرة أخرى في Business English Pod للاطلاع على درس اليوم حول معالجة مخاوف المستثمرين خلال a الملعب باللغة الإنجليزية.

يعد فن الإقناع من أعظم المهارات في مجال الأعمال. سواء كنت تدير شركة ناشئة وتجتذب مستثمرًا كبيرًا أو تحاول إقناع رئيسك في العمل بمنحك زيادة في الراتب ، يجب أن تكون قادرًا على إقناعك.

بالتاكيد, غالبًا ما نستخدم ملف الملعب أو العرض ليقنع, خاصة عند البحث عن استثمار لبدء التشغيل. لكن الملعب وحده لن ينهي الصفقة. الاختبار الحقيقي هو التعامل مع الأسئلة والمخاوف بعد العرض. هل يمكنك توقع هذه المخاوف والاستعداد لمعالجتها? هل يمكنك التفكير والتحدث بسرعة? هل لديك الثقة في دعم ما قلته في عرضك التقديمي?

هناك العديد من المخاوف التي قد يتعين عليك معالجتها. لواحد, قد تضطر إلى شرح سبب تميز فكرتك بالضبط. وقد يتعين عليك أيضًا أن تُظهر بوضوح أنك ملتزم بالفكرة. أحد مخاوف المستثمرين الشائعة هو التقييم, أو كم تعتقد أن قيمة الشركة. ستحتاج إلى تبرير تقييمك بوضوح, وشرح ما ستفعله بأموال المستثمر. ومن خلال كل ذلك, ستحاول إظهار سبب دعمك, أو تستحق دعم المستثمر.

في حوار اليوم, سنعود إلى كوين, الذي يسعى للاستثمار في شركته للمدفوعات عبر الإنترنت المسماة Moolah. في درسنا الأخير, أعطى كوين عرضه للمستثمر. الآن عليه أن يجيب على بعض الأسئلة والمخاوف الصعبة من مستثمر محتمل يدعى ماسون.

أسئلة الاستماع

1. ما يعتقده كوين يظهر أنه ملتزم تمامًا تجاه الشركة?
2. ما الذي يخطط كوين بالضبط لفعله بأموال المستثمر?
3. لماذا يعتقد كوين أنه قابل للرجوع على المستوى الشخصي?

Premium Members: PDF Transcript | Quizzes | PhraseCast | Lesson Module

أفضل الممارسات البيئية 365 – اللغة الإنجليزية للشركات الناشئة 2: الترويج للمستثمرين

أفضل الممارسات البيئية 365 درس - اللغة الإنجليزية للشركات الناشئة 2: الترويج باللغة الإنجليزية للمستثمرين

مرحبًا بك مرة أخرى في Business English Pod للحصول على درس اليوم نصب باللغة الإنجليزية للمستثمرين.

يمكن أن يكون عالم الشركات الناشئة في مجال التكنولوجيا مثيرًا ومفيدًا للغاية. لكن النجاح بالتأكيد ليس مضمونًا. في الحقيقة, 90% من المشاريع الجديدة التي لا تجذب المستثمرين خلال السنوات الثلاث الأولى ستفشل. لذلك إذا كانت شركتكم قد نجحت في عبور وادي الموت, وأنت تنفق الأموال ولكن ليس لديك أي عائد, فمن الأفضل أن تتأكد من تقديم عرض تقديمي رائع للمستثمرين المحتملين.

فقط 10 إلى 20 الدقائق, تحتاج إلى إقناع المستثمرين بضرورة المخاطرة بأموالهم عليك. أو, بدقة اكثر, لماذا يجب أن يخاطروا بأموالهم عليك بدلاً من آلاف الشركات الأخرى التي يمكنهم الاستثمار فيها. من الصعب التفكير في عرض تقديمي ينطوي على مخاطر أعلى من تقديم عرض تقديمي للمستثمرين. إذن ما الذي سيزيد من فرصك في النجاح?

حسنا, تحتاج إلى التحدث عن المشكلة التي يحلها منتجك, وكيف يكون منتجك فريدًا حقًا. بالتاكيد, في عالم الشركات الناشئة, التوقيت هو كل شيء. لذلك عليك أن تكون قادرًا على إظهار أن هناك سوقًا لما تقدمه. وبدء العمل الجيد ليس مجرد فكرة جيدة, يتعلق بنموذج إيرادات قوي. لذلك سوف تحتاج إلى شرح ذلك بوضوح. من الذكاء أيضًا الجلوس والتفكير في الأسئلة التي قد يطرحها المستثمرون, والإجابة عليهم قبل أن يطلبوا منهم ذلك!

في حوار اليوم, سنستمع إلى عرض تقديمي من كوين, الذي أسس شركة مدفوعات عبر الإنترنت تسمى Moolah. في درسنا الأخير, سمعنا أن كوين يستعد لعرضه الترويجي بمساعدة معلمه. حان وقت العرض الآن, حيث يقدم كوين عرضه على أمل جذب الاستثمار.

أسئلة الاستماع

1. ما هي المشكلة التي حددها كوين في بداية عرضه?
2. من هو الجمهور المستهدف لمولاه?
3. ما السؤال الذي يتوقعه كوين قد يكون لدى المستثمرين?

Premium Members: PDF Transcript | Quizzes | PhraseCast | Lesson Module
انتقل إلى أعلى

BEP 369 – Scenario Planning 3: Discussing Strategic Responses

BEP 369 - Scenario Planning Meetings English 3: Discussing Strategic Responses

Welcome back to Business English Pod for today’s lesson on talking about strategic responses during a scenario planning meeting in English.

It’s impossible to predict the future exactly. But that doesn’t mean we shouldn’t bother trying. After all, we don’t create business strategies based only on today’s realities. We need to think about what will or might happen and how we will respond to these possible events.

So if we’ve done the work of laying out future scenarios, then how exactly do we plan our strategic responses? To start, you’ll need to choose an overall strategic posture. Are you going to take the lead in your industry? Or will you sit back and respond to things as they happen?

Your strategic posture depends in part on the possible impacts of future events and your choice of strategies. You need to discuss these impacts in order to choose the best course of action out of several possibilities. So this means you’ll be doing a lot of discussing alternative strategies.

In strategic planning, we often say that you can have anything you want, but you can’t have everything you want. For this reason, you will have to ask your team to prioritize, or decide which strategies are most important. And to make those decisions about priorities, you’ll need to discuss hypothetical results of different actions.

In today’s dialog, we’ll rejoin a meeting of executives at a large retail firm. Gwen is based in the US headquarters. She’s discussing strategies with Natasha and Daniel, who head up the firm’s operations in another country. The group is discussing strategic responses to future scenarios they’ve already mapped out.

Listening Questions

1. What strategy does Daniel suggest for their larger urban stores?
2. What does Natasha suggest instead of making big cuts to their operations?
3. What does Gwen say could be the ultimate result of the changes they’re discussing?

Premium Members: PDF Transcript | Quizzes | PhraseCast | Lesson Module

BEP 368 – Scenario Planning 2: Discussing Possible Scenarios

BEP368 - Planning Meeting English 2 - Discussing Scenarios

Welcome back to Business English Pod for today’s lesson on discussing future scenarios in a planning meeting in English.

Business planning doesn’t look like it used to. The world today holds so many surprises and so much uncertainty. There is constant and unrelenting change, and sometimes it feels like we’re just trying to keep up.

In these circumstances, it’s a good idea to map out possible future scenarios. This type of exercise is often built on several key uncertainties that you’ve already identified. Mapping out the different scenarios is necessary before you can begin to develop strategies to respond to these possible future situations.

One thing you’ll do when you discuss scenarios is make predictions. In some cases, you’ll be able to make predictions with a great degree of certainty. In others, you’ll have to check whether you’re more certain than you should be. In particular, you might be affected by availability bias, where the available information leads you to make predictions with too much certainty.

Because we can’t always be certain, we find ourselves discussing the likelihood of certain events, or how probably they are. It can be tempting at this point to begin evaluating possible strategies, but it’s best to resist this and focus on the scenarios first. And throughout, you should watch out for assumptions that might cloud your thinking, or make you think unclearly.

In today’s dialog, we’ll rejoin a discussion at a large retail firm. Natasha and Daniel are executives discussing their country’s situation with Gwen, who is based in the U.S. The group is mapping out scenarios based on the situation they’ve already discussed.

Listening Questions

1. What does Natasha predict with certainty?
2. According to Daniel, how likely is it that sales will go down 30%?
3. What assumption does Natasha call Daniel out on?

Premium Members: PDF Transcript | Quizzes | PhraseCast | Lesson Module

BEP 367 – Scenario Planning 1: Exploring the Situation

BEP 367 - Scenario Planning Meetings 1: Exploring the Situation

Welcome back to Business English Pod for today’s lesson on scenario planning meetings.

How do we plan for a future that’s so uncertain? On a global scale, we’re faced with a pandemic, climate change, social unrest, and political instability. On a local level, your business could be dealing with another set of challenges. So how can we plan for what might happen in the future?

One of the approaches that organizations take in uncertain times is scenario planning. In a nutshell, scenario planning involves discussing different possible future situations, and planning for each possibility. This kind of planning typically starts with exploring the situation.

Exploring the situation often involves a lot of speculation, as you discuss what might happen in the future. This helps you identify the key uncertainties you’re contending with. Of course, circumstances differ from place to place, so you may find yourself explaining contextual differences when you plan for different scenarios.

These discussions can be quite complex, so it’s often a good idea to ask for a summary of the issues. One more very important aspect of scenario planning is using evidence to guide the discussion. In some cases, you will need to use this evidence to counter other people’s optimism about the future.

In today’s dialog, we’ll listen to a scenario planning discussion in a large retail firm. Gwen is in a leadership position in the company’s US headquarters. She’s talking with Natasha and Daniel, two executives based in another country. The company is faced with the enormous challenges that the COVID-19 pandemic presents. And in this discussion, they’re exploring the entire situation.

Listening Questions

1. At the start of the conversation, what government relief program does Natasha speculate about?
2. What does Daniel say is one of the biggest uncertainties they’re facing?
3. What possible change does Daniel believe might happen but Natasha doesn’t?

Premium Members: PDF Transcript | Quizzes | PhraseCast | Lesson Module

BEP 366 – English for Startups 3: Addressing Investor Concerns

BEP 366 LESSON - Startup English 3: Answering Investor Questions

Welcome back to Business English Pod for today’s lesson on addressing investor concerns during a pitch in English.

One of the greatest skills in business is the art of persuasion. Whether you’re running a startup and wooing a big investor or trying to convince your boss to give you a pay raise you need to be able to persuade.

Of course, we often use a pitch or presentation to persuade, especially when looking for startup investment. But the pitch alone won’t seal the deal. The real test is handling questions and concerns after your pitch. Can you anticipate these concerns and be ready to address them? Can you think and speak on the fly? Do you have the confidence to back up what you’ve said in your presentation?

There are several concerns you might have to address. For one, you may have to explain exactly why your idea is unique. And you might also have to show clearly that you’re committed to the idea. One common investor concern is the valuation, or how much you think the company’s worth. You’ll need to justify your valuation clearly, and explain what you’ll do with the investor’s money. And through it all, you’ll be trying to show why you are backable, or deserve the investor’s support.

In today’s dialog, we’ll rejoin Quinn, who is seeking investment for his online payments company called Moolah. In our last lesson, Quinn gave his pitch to the investor. Now he has to address some tough questions and concerns from a potential investor named Mason.

Listening Questions

1. What does Quinn believe shows that he’s fully committed to the company?
2. What exactly does Quinn plan to do with the investor’s money?
3. Why does Quinn believe he is backable on a personal level?

Premium Members: PDF Transcript | Quizzes | PhraseCast | Lesson Module

BEP 365 – English for Startups 2: Pitching to Investors

BEP 365 LESSON - English for Startups 2: Pitching in English to Investors

Welcome back to Business English Pod for today’s lesson on pitching in English to investors.

The world of tech startups can be extremely exciting and rewarding. But success is certainly not guaranteed. In fact, 90% of new ventures that don’t attract investors within the first three years will fail. So if your company has made it through the valley of death, and you’re burning through cash but don’t have any revenue, then you’d better make sure you’ve got a great pitch to potential investors.

In just 10 to 20 minutes, you need to convince investors that they should risk their money on you. Or, more accurately, why they should risk their money on you instead of on the thousands of other companies they could invest in. It’s hard to think of a higher stakes presentation than a pitch to investors. So what will increase your chances of success?

Well, you need to talk about the problem that your product solves, and how your product is truly unique. Of course, in the startup world, timing is everything. So you need to be able to show there’s a market for what you’re offering. And a good startup isn’t just about a good idea, it’s about a solid revenue model. So you’ll need to explain that clearly. It’s also smart to sit down and think about what questions investors might have, and answer them before they have to ask them!

In today’s dialog, we’ll listen to a presentation by Quinn, who founded an online payments company called Moolah. In our last lesson, we heard Quinn preparing for his pitch with the help of a mentor. Now it’s showtime, as Quinn delivers his pitch in the hopes of attracting investment.

Listening Questions

1. What is the problem that Quinn identifies at the start of his presentation?
2. Who is Moolah’s target audience?
3. What question does Quinn anticipate the investors might have?

Premium Members: PDF Transcript | Quizzes | PhraseCast | Lesson Module
Scroll to Top