BEP 369 – 方案規劃 3: 討論戰略對策

BEP 369 - 場景規劃會議English 3: 討論戰略對策

歡迎回到Business English Pod,參加今天的課程,討論在方案規劃期間的戰略應對 用英語開會.

無法準確預測未來. 但這並不意味著我們不應該嘗試. 畢竟, 我們不創造 商業策略 僅基於當今的現實. 我們需要考慮將會發生或可能發生的事情以及如何應對這些可能發生的事件.

因此,如果我們完成了 佈置未來方案, 那我們如何精確地計劃我們的戰略對策? 開始, 您需要選擇總體戰略態勢. 您要在行業中處於領先地位嗎? 還是您會坐下來對發生的事情做出回應?

您的戰略態勢部分取決於未來事件的可能影響以及您對戰略的選擇. 您需要討論這些影響,以便從幾種可能性中選擇最佳的行動方案. 因此,這意味著您將大量討論替代策略.

在戰略規劃中, 我們經常說你可以擁有任何你想要的東西, 但是你沒有想要的一切. 為此原因, 您將不得不要求您的團隊確定優先級, 或決定最重要的策略. 並做出有關優先級的決定, 您需要討論不同動作的假設結果.

在今天的對話中, 我們將重新參加大型零售公司的高管會議. 格溫常駐美國總部. 她正在與娜塔莎(Natasha)和丹尼爾(Daniel)討論策略, 負責公司在另一個國家的業務的人. 該小組正在討論針對他們已經制定的未來方案的戰略對策.

聽力問題

1. 丹尼爾建議他們在較大的城市門店採取什麼策略?
2. Natasha建議什麼,而不是大刀闊斧地運作?
3. 格溫說的話可能是他們正在討論的變更的最終結果?

Premium Members: PDF Transcript | Quizzes | PhraseCast | Lesson Module

BEP 368 – 方案規劃 2: 討論可能的情況

BEP368 - 計劃會議英語 2 - 討論方案

歡迎回到 商務英語 今天的課程Pod,討論計劃中的未來方案 用英語開會.

商業計劃 看起來不像以前. 當今世界充滿了許多驚喜和不確定性. 持續不斷的變化, 有時感覺就像我們只是試圖跟上.

在這種情況下, 找出將來可能出現的情況是個好主意. 這種練習通常基於您已經確定的幾個關鍵不確定因素. 在開始製定策略以應對這些可能的未來情況之前,必須先確定不同的方案.

討論場景時,您要做的一件事就是做出預測. 在某些情況下, 您將可以非常確定地進行預測. 在其他人, 您必須檢查自己是否比應該確定的要確定的多. 尤其是, 您可能會受到可用性偏差的影響, 可用信息會導致您過於確定地做出預測.

因為我們不能總是確定, 我們發現自己正在討論某些事件的可能性, 或者他們大概是. 在這一點上可能很誘人,開始評估可能的策略, 但最好抵制此事,並先關注場景. 在整個, 您應該提防可能使您的想法模糊的假設, 或讓你思維模糊.

在今天的對話中, 我們將重新加入一家大型零售公司的討論. 娜塔莎(Natasha)和丹尼爾(Daniel)的高管與格溫(Gwen)討論了本國的局勢, 誰在美國. 該小組正在根據已經討論過的情況制定方案.

聽力問題

1. 娜塔莎可以肯定地預測什麼?
2. 據丹尼爾, 銷售下降的可能性有多大 30%?
3. 娜塔莎(Natasha)叫丹尼爾(Daniel)接受什麼假設?

Premium Members: PDF Transcript | Quizzes | PhraseCast | Lesson Module

BEP 367 – 方案規劃 1: 探索情況

BEP 367 - 方案規劃會議 1: 探索情況

歡迎回到Business English Pod,參加今天的場景規劃課程 會議.

我們如何計劃如此不確定的未來? 在全球範圍內, 我們面臨大流行, 氣候變化, 社會動盪, 和政治動盪. 在地方一級, 您的業務可能正在面臨另一組挑戰. 那麼我們如何計劃未來可能發生的事情?

組織在不確定時期採取的方法之一是方案規劃. 簡而言之, 場景規劃涉及討論未來可能的不同情況, 並為每種可能性進行規劃. 這種規劃通常始於探索情況.

探索這種情況通常涉及很多猜測, 在您討論未來可能發生的情況時. 這有助於您確定要解決的關鍵不確定因素. 當然, 各地情況不同, 因此當您計劃不同的方案時,您可能會發現自己在解釋上下文差異.

這些討論可能非常複雜, 因此,最好對問題進行總結. 場景規劃的另一個非常重要的方面是使用證據來指導討論. 在某些情況下, 您將需要使用這些證據來反駁其他人對未來的樂觀態度.

在今天的對話中, 我們將聽大型零售公司中的方案規劃討論. Gwen在公司美國總部擔任領導職務. 她正在與娜塔莎和丹尼爾交談, 另一個國家的兩名高管. 該公司面臨著COVID-19大流行病帶來的巨大挑戰. 在這個討論中, 他們正在探索整個情況.

聽力問題

1. 對話開始時, 娜塔莎(Natasha)對政府救濟計劃有何看法?
2. 丹尼爾說的是他們面臨的最大不確定性之一?
3. Daniel相信可能會發生什麼變化,但Natasha不會?

Premium Members: PDF Transcript | Quizzes | PhraseCast | Lesson Module

BEP 366 – 初創企業英語 3: 解決投資者的擔憂

BEP 366 課 - 啟動英語 3: 回答投資者問題

歡迎回到Business English Pod,參加今天的課程,了解如何在 英文音調.

商業上最偉大的技能之一是說服藝術. 無論您是經營一家初創公司並吸引大投資者,還是試圖說服老闆給您加薪,您都必須能夠說服.

當然, 我們經常使用 演講或演講 說服, 特別是在尋找創業投資時. 但是,僅靠推銷不會達成協議. 真正的考驗是在您上場之後處理問題和疑慮. 您能預料到這些問題並準備好解決它們嗎? 您可以即時思考和說話嗎? 您是否有信心備份您在演示文稿中所說的話?

您可能需要解決幾個問題. 對於一個, 您可能需要確切解釋為什麼您的想法獨特. 而且,您可能還必須清楚地表明自己對這個想法有所投入. 投資者普遍關注的是估值, 或您認為該公司的價值是多少. 您需要明確說明您的估值合理, 並說明您將如何使用投資者的資金. 並通過所有, 您將試圖證明您為什麼可以支持, 還是值得投資者的支持.

在今天的對話中, 我們將重新加入奎因, 正在為其名為Moolah的在線支付公司尋求投資. 在上一課中, 奎因向投資者宣傳. 現在,他必須解決來自名為梅森(Mason)的潛在投資者的一些棘手問題和疑慮.

聽力問題

1. Quinn認為什麼表明他完全致力於公司?
2. 奎因計劃如何正確利用投資者的資金?
3. 為什麼奎因(Quinn)相信他在個人層面上是可以支持的?

Premium Members: PDF Transcript | Quizzes | PhraseCast | Lesson Module

BEP 365 – 初創企業英語 2: 向投資者投手

BEP 365 課 - 初創企業英語 2: 向投資者推介英文

歡迎回到Business English Pod,今天的課程 用英語投球 給投資者.

科技創業公司的世界可能會非常令人興奮和收穫. 但是肯定不能保證成功. 事實上, 90% 在頭三年內沒有吸引投資者的新企業將失敗. 因此,如果您的公司成功通過了死亡之谷, 並且您正在消耗現金,卻沒有任何收入, 那麼您最好確保與潛在投資者保持良好的關係.

在短短 10 至 20 分鐘, 您需要說服投資者,他們應該向您冒險. 要么, 更精確地, 為什麼他們應該把錢花在您身上,而不是花在他們可以投資的數千家其他公司上. 很難想到比向投資者宣傳更高的股權投資. 那麼什麼會增加您成功的機會?

好, 您需要談論產品解決的問題, 以及您的產品如何真正獨特. 當然, 在創業世界, 時間就是一切. 因此,您需要能夠證明所提供產品的市場. 一個好的創業公司不只是一個好主意, 這是一個可靠的收入模型. 因此,您需要清楚地說明這一點. 坐下來思考投資者可能有什麼問題也很聰明, 在他們問他們之前先回答他們!

在今天的對話中, 我們將聽奎因的演講, 創立了一家名為Moolah的在線支付公司. 在上一課中, 我們聽到奎因在導師的幫助下為他的演講做準備. 現在是放映時間, 奎因(Quinn)提出自己的建議以期吸引投資.

聽力問題

1. 奎因在演講開始時發現的問題是什麼?
2. 誰是穆拉的目標受眾?
3. 奎因預計投資者可能會有什麼問題?

Premium Members: PDF Transcript | Quizzes | PhraseCast | Lesson Module
滾動到頂部

BEP 369 – Scenario Planning 3: Discussing Strategic Responses

BEP 369 - Scenario Planning Meetings English 3: Discussing Strategic Responses

Welcome back to Business English Pod for today’s lesson on talking about strategic responses during a scenario planning meeting in English.

It’s impossible to predict the future exactly. But that doesn’t mean we shouldn’t bother trying. After all, we don’t create business strategies based only on today’s realities. We need to think about what will or might happen and how we will respond to these possible events.

So if we’ve done the work of laying out future scenarios, then how exactly do we plan our strategic responses? To start, you’ll need to choose an overall strategic posture. Are you going to take the lead in your industry? Or will you sit back and respond to things as they happen?

Your strategic posture depends in part on the possible impacts of future events and your choice of strategies. You need to discuss these impacts in order to choose the best course of action out of several possibilities. So this means you’ll be doing a lot of discussing alternative strategies.

In strategic planning, we often say that you can have anything you want, but you can’t have everything you want. For this reason, you will have to ask your team to prioritize, or decide which strategies are most important. And to make those decisions about priorities, you’ll need to discuss hypothetical results of different actions.

In today’s dialog, we’ll rejoin a meeting of executives at a large retail firm. Gwen is based in the US headquarters. She’s discussing strategies with Natasha and Daniel, who head up the firm’s operations in another country. The group is discussing strategic responses to future scenarios they’ve already mapped out.

Listening Questions

1. What strategy does Daniel suggest for their larger urban stores?
2. What does Natasha suggest instead of making big cuts to their operations?
3. What does Gwen say could be the ultimate result of the changes they’re discussing?

Premium Members: PDF Transcript | Quizzes | PhraseCast | Lesson Module

BEP 368 – Scenario Planning 2: Discussing Possible Scenarios

BEP368 - Planning Meeting English 2 - Discussing Scenarios

Welcome back to Business English Pod for today’s lesson on discussing future scenarios in a planning meeting in English.

Business planning doesn’t look like it used to. The world today holds so many surprises and so much uncertainty. There is constant and unrelenting change, and sometimes it feels like we’re just trying to keep up.

In these circumstances, it’s a good idea to map out possible future scenarios. This type of exercise is often built on several key uncertainties that you’ve already identified. Mapping out the different scenarios is necessary before you can begin to develop strategies to respond to these possible future situations.

One thing you’ll do when you discuss scenarios is make predictions. In some cases, you’ll be able to make predictions with a great degree of certainty. In others, you’ll have to check whether you’re more certain than you should be. In particular, you might be affected by availability bias, where the available information leads you to make predictions with too much certainty.

Because we can’t always be certain, we find ourselves discussing the likelihood of certain events, or how probably they are. It can be tempting at this point to begin evaluating possible strategies, but it’s best to resist this and focus on the scenarios first. And throughout, you should watch out for assumptions that might cloud your thinking, or make you think unclearly.

In today’s dialog, we’ll rejoin a discussion at a large retail firm. Natasha and Daniel are executives discussing their country’s situation with Gwen, who is based in the U.S. The group is mapping out scenarios based on the situation they’ve already discussed.

Listening Questions

1. What does Natasha predict with certainty?
2. According to Daniel, how likely is it that sales will go down 30%?
3. What assumption does Natasha call Daniel out on?

Premium Members: PDF Transcript | Quizzes | PhraseCast | Lesson Module

BEP 367 – Scenario Planning 1: Exploring the Situation

BEP 367 - Scenario Planning Meetings 1: Exploring the Situation

Welcome back to Business English Pod for today’s lesson on scenario planning meetings.

How do we plan for a future that’s so uncertain? On a global scale, we’re faced with a pandemic, climate change, social unrest, and political instability. On a local level, your business could be dealing with another set of challenges. So how can we plan for what might happen in the future?

One of the approaches that organizations take in uncertain times is scenario planning. In a nutshell, scenario planning involves discussing different possible future situations, and planning for each possibility. This kind of planning typically starts with exploring the situation.

Exploring the situation often involves a lot of speculation, as you discuss what might happen in the future. This helps you identify the key uncertainties you’re contending with. Of course, circumstances differ from place to place, so you may find yourself explaining contextual differences when you plan for different scenarios.

These discussions can be quite complex, so it’s often a good idea to ask for a summary of the issues. One more very important aspect of scenario planning is using evidence to guide the discussion. In some cases, you will need to use this evidence to counter other people’s optimism about the future.

In today’s dialog, we’ll listen to a scenario planning discussion in a large retail firm. Gwen is in a leadership position in the company’s US headquarters. She’s talking with Natasha and Daniel, two executives based in another country. The company is faced with the enormous challenges that the COVID-19 pandemic presents. And in this discussion, they’re exploring the entire situation.

Listening Questions

1. At the start of the conversation, what government relief program does Natasha speculate about?
2. What does Daniel say is one of the biggest uncertainties they’re facing?
3. What possible change does Daniel believe might happen but Natasha doesn’t?

Premium Members: PDF Transcript | Quizzes | PhraseCast | Lesson Module

BEP 366 – English for Startups 3: Addressing Investor Concerns

BEP 366 LESSON - Startup English 3: Answering Investor Questions

Welcome back to Business English Pod for today’s lesson on addressing investor concerns during a pitch in English.

One of the greatest skills in business is the art of persuasion. Whether you’re running a startup and wooing a big investor or trying to convince your boss to give you a pay raise you need to be able to persuade.

Of course, we often use a pitch or presentation to persuade, especially when looking for startup investment. But the pitch alone won’t seal the deal. The real test is handling questions and concerns after your pitch. Can you anticipate these concerns and be ready to address them? Can you think and speak on the fly? Do you have the confidence to back up what you’ve said in your presentation?

There are several concerns you might have to address. For one, you may have to explain exactly why your idea is unique. And you might also have to show clearly that you’re committed to the idea. One common investor concern is the valuation, or how much you think the company’s worth. You’ll need to justify your valuation clearly, and explain what you’ll do with the investor’s money. And through it all, you’ll be trying to show why you are backable, or deserve the investor’s support.

In today’s dialog, we’ll rejoin Quinn, who is seeking investment for his online payments company called Moolah. In our last lesson, Quinn gave his pitch to the investor. Now he has to address some tough questions and concerns from a potential investor named Mason.

Listening Questions

1. What does Quinn believe shows that he’s fully committed to the company?
2. What exactly does Quinn plan to do with the investor’s money?
3. Why does Quinn believe he is backable on a personal level?

Premium Members: PDF Transcript | Quizzes | PhraseCast | Lesson Module

BEP 365 – English for Startups 2: Pitching to Investors

BEP 365 LESSON - English for Startups 2: Pitching in English to Investors

Welcome back to Business English Pod for today’s lesson on pitching in English to investors.

The world of tech startups can be extremely exciting and rewarding. But success is certainly not guaranteed. In fact, 90% of new ventures that don’t attract investors within the first three years will fail. So if your company has made it through the valley of death, and you’re burning through cash but don’t have any revenue, then you’d better make sure you’ve got a great pitch to potential investors.

In just 10 to 20 minutes, you need to convince investors that they should risk their money on you. Or, more accurately, why they should risk their money on you instead of on the thousands of other companies they could invest in. It’s hard to think of a higher stakes presentation than a pitch to investors. So what will increase your chances of success?

Well, you need to talk about the problem that your product solves, and how your product is truly unique. Of course, in the startup world, timing is everything. So you need to be able to show there’s a market for what you’re offering. And a good startup isn’t just about a good idea, it’s about a solid revenue model. So you’ll need to explain that clearly. It’s also smart to sit down and think about what questions investors might have, and answer them before they have to ask them!

In today’s dialog, we’ll listen to a presentation by Quinn, who founded an online payments company called Moolah. In our last lesson, we heard Quinn preparing for his pitch with the help of a mentor. Now it’s showtime, as Quinn delivers his pitch in the hopes of attracting investment.

Listening Questions

1. What is the problem that Quinn identifies at the start of his presentation?
2. Who is Moolah’s target audience?
3. What question does Quinn anticipate the investors might have?

Premium Members: PDF Transcript | Quizzes | PhraseCast | Lesson Module
Scroll to Top