BEP 392 – 项目管理英语: 确定项目范围 (2)

BEP 392 - 项目管理英语: 确定项目范围 2

Welcome back to Business English Pod for today’s lesson on pricing strategy. 这是一对教训中的第二个 项目管理英语 并为客户确定新工作的范围.

每个项目都是自己的动物. 当然, 您可能会使用类似的工具和方法运行不同的项目, 或应用标准流程. 但是对于不同的客户, 在不同的时间, 甚至输入差异很小, 每个项目都不一样. 这意味着定价不同.

Once you’ve talked with a client to clarify and nail down the project scope, 接下来发生什么? 好, 客户会想要纸上的东西——无论是完整的提案和投标还是简单的报价. 他们会关注的最重要的事情之一就是价格. 所以作为一个团队, 你需要找出一个策略来投标每个项目.

您的定价策略将取决于几件事. 首先, 这将取决于您的能力和客户对价值的看法. 然后你必须弄清楚你的出价策略, 这可能会从最低限度的可行产品向上发展. 或者您可以采用不同的方法,例如按小时定价. 在决定如何为您的出价定价时,您总是需要考虑无形资产.

在今天的对话中, 我们会听到吉尔和马丁, who work for a software development company. 他们正在为 Jill 已经确定范围的项目制定定价策略. 他们正试图为他们向客户提出的两个选项找出正确的方法.

听力问题

1. 吉尔在谈话中首先表达的担忧是什么?
2. 他们将如何引导客户采用他们的替代方法?
3. 客户的时间表将如何影响他们的定价策略?

Premium Members: PDF Transcript | Quizzes | PhraseCast | Lesson Module

Download: Podcast MP3

BEP 391 – 项目管理英语: 确定项目范围 (1)

BEP 391 - 项目管理英语: 确定项目范围 1

欢迎回到商务英语播客,了解今天关于如何确定项目范围的课程. 这是两节课中的第一节 项目管理英语 并为客户确定新工作的范围.

那么这意味着什么 “范围” 一个专案? 我们使用“范围”这个词来描述项目或协议中包含和不包含的内容. 所以当我们 “范围” 某物, 我们正在提出问题并试图了解项目中涉及的内容.

在确定新工作的范围时,您可能会问许多明显的问题. 但是您可能会发现自己必须向客户介绍技术问题和成本. 您可能需要深入研究假设并解决客户的担忧. 您可能必须提出不同的解决方案供客户考虑. 通过这种方式, 范围界定不仅仅是询问简单的项目细节. 它既是事实又是关系.

在今天的对话中, 我们会听吉尔的, 软件开发人员, 与伊万交谈. Ivan 为一家大型零售商工作,该零售商希望对其人力资源软件进行重大更改. 吉尔提出问题以试图了解公司的需求,以便她可以确定项目范围并提出建议.

听力问题

1. 吉尔认为伊万对他们目前的做法有何建议?
2. 吉尔对伊万要求的成本有何看法?
3. 在谈话结束时, 伊万要求吉尔在她的提议中包括什么?

Premium Members: PDF Transcript | Quizzes | PhraseCast | Lesson Module

Download: Podcast MP3

BEP 334 – 项目管理英语 10: 内部汇报会

BEP 334 课程模块 - 项目管理英语 10: Debrief Meeting

欢迎回到 商务英语播客 今天的课程 项目管理英语 for debriefing a project with your team.

项目管理 can be a messy business. You can plan, but you can’t really predict all the challenges and obstacles that will come up. So on every project, and especially in agile project management, you have to learn and adapt as you go along. And at the end, it’s a good idea to discuss what you’ve learned in a project debrief meeting. If you’re following an agile approach, you might also hold sprint retrospectives, which are like mini-debriefs at the end of each sprint. Whether it’s a project debrief or one of these sprint retrospectives, you’ll cover similar topics.

A project debrief meeting might start out with a review of the project goals. You want to look back and see what you set out to do in the first place. Then you can talk about successes during the project. What did you do well? What would you do again? 从那里, you can move on to discuss mistakes, and what you’d like to change in the future. 最后, you’ll want to summarize everything that you’ve learned. The whole idea, 当然, is that you’ll be able to do things better next time.

在今天的对话中, we’ll hear a project manager named Martin, who’s running a debrief meeting at the end of a software development project. We’ll also hear Jill and Sumita, two of the engineers who’ve worked on the project. 一起, the group is discussing the work they’ve done and what they’ve learned.

听力问题

1. After discussing the project goals, what does Martin ask about?
2. The discussion of mistakes leads Martin to ask a related question about what topic?
3. What does Martin do at the end of the meeting?

Premium Members: PDF Transcript | Quizzes | PhraseCast | Lesson Module

BEP 329 – 项目管理英语 9: 移交会议

BEP 329 课程模块 - 项目管理英语 9: 移交会议

欢迎回到 商务英语播客 今天的课程 项目管理英语 用于将完成的项目移交给客户.

没有人忘记持有 启动大会 开始一个项目. 但不幸的是, 许多团队未能举行最终会议以彻底结束他们的项目. 无论您遵循的是敏捷方法还是传统方法, 项目移交会议至关重要. 一件事, 这是一个讨论项目进展的机会,并从客户那里获得一些有价值的反馈. 这也是解决所有小的合同问题的机会,并确保客户同意您已经实现了项目目标.

但是最终的项目移交会议不仅是回顾已完成的工作. 这也关乎未来工作的大门. 毕竟, 与现有客户相比,向现有客户销售更多产品要容易得多. 这可能意味着将来的工作将以您刚刚完成的工作为基础. 或者这可能意味着确定可以帮助解决的新需求.

但是在您开始谈论未来的工作之前, 您应该定一个积极的基调,并询问客户对项目的印象. 您可能会学到一些有用的东西,可以在其他项目中使用. 然后,您可以提醒客户您的工作如何适应未来的更广泛计划. 这将为讨论将来可能的升级或其他支持奠定基础.

在今天的对话中, 我们会听到马丁, 一种 专案经理 与一家名为OptiTech的软件公司. 他们刚刚为物流公司开发了软件. 马丁会见利亚姆, 物流公司的IT经理, 用于最终项目移交. 在讨论中, 马丁会用一些有用的 项目管理英语 使会议圆满结束.

听力问题

1. 马丁问利亚姆的第一个问题是什么?
2. 马丁建议利亚姆的公司在成长或改变时可能需要什么?
3. 马丁建议利亚姆在对话结束时考虑什么?

Premium Members: PDF Transcript | Quizzes | PhraseCast | Lesson Module

BEP 328 – 项目管理英语 8: 谈判解决方案

BEP-328-项目管理-英语-第8课

欢迎回到 商务英语播客 今天的课程 谈判中 项目期间的解决方案.

如果每个项目都按计划进行,那会不会很好? 但这根本不现实. 项目与参与人员一样多样化. 每个项目都遇到障碍, 挑战, 甚至重大故障. 良好的计划可以帮助避免其中一些问题, 但您很有可能需要使用自己的 解决问题的能力 在某一点.

其中一些问题可能与您的项目团队有关. 但是其他人可能会涉及到客户. 在很多情况下, 这意味着在项目中期出现了一些你们都没有想到的事情. 缺乏信息, 时间轴问题, 范围变更 – 一千种不同的问题可能会测试您 项目管理技巧.

解决这类问题将需要的不仅仅是基本的 项目管理英语. 对于初学者, 您可能需要向客户解释不同的选择. 但是您需要注意避免可能的责任, 而且您可能还需要拒绝提交时间表. 这些是 谈判英语 一个解法.

还有“解决方案”这个词?是关键. 您的目标是找到一个双方都同意的解决方案,以便该项目仍可以实现其最初的目标. 就像在任何谈判中一样, 这可能涉及提出折衷方案. 当然, 协议应以书面形式提出, 因此您必须记录所有您同意的解决方案.

在今天的对话中, 我们会听到吉尔, 与软件开发人员的项目经理. 他们正在为物流公司建立新系统. 吉尔正在和利亚姆谈话, 客户的IT经理, 关于他们的项目即将结束时出现的问题. 吉尔需要协商解决这个问题的好方法.

听力问题

1. 吉尔在会议开始时提出了哪些选择?
2. 当利亚姆询问要花多长时间, 吉尔如何回应?
3. 吉尔建议的折衷解决方案是什么?

Premium Members: PDF Transcript | Quizzes | PhraseCast | Lesson Module
滚动到顶部

BEP 392 – Project Management English: Scoping a Project (2)

BEP 392 - Project Management English: Scoping a Project 2

Welcome back to Business English Pod for today’s lesson on pricing strategy. This is the second of a pair of lessons on project management English and scoping new work for a client.

Every project is its own animal. Sure, you might run different projects with similar tools and approaches, or apply standard processes. But with different clients, at different times, and with even small differences in inputs, each project is different. And that means pricing is different.

Once you’ve talked with a client to clarify and nail down the project scope, what happens next? Well, the client will want something on paper – whether that’s a full-blown proposal and bid or a simple quotation. And one of the most important things they’ll be looking at is price. So as a team, you need to figure out a strategy to bid on each project.

Your pricing strategy is going to depend on a few things. First off, it’s going to depend on your capacity and the client’s perception of value. Then you’ll have to figure out your bid strategy, which may work upward from a minimum viable product. Or you may take a different approach like hourly pricing. And there are always intangibles you need to take into account when deciding how to price your bid.

In today’s dialog, we’ll hear Jill and Martin, who work for a software development company. They are working out a pricing strategy for a project that Jill has already scoped. They’re trying to figure out the right approach for the two options they’re proposing to the client.

Listening Questions

1. What is the first concern Jill expresses during the conversation?
2. How will they direct the client toward their alternative approach?
3. How will the client’s timeline affect their pricing strategy?

Premium Members: PDF Transcript | Quizzes | PhraseCast | Lesson Module

Download: Podcast MP3

BEP 391 – Project Management English: Scoping a Project (1)

BEP 391 - Project Management English: Scoping a Project 1

Welcome back to Business English Pod for today’s lesson on how to scope a project. This is the first of a pair of lessons on project management English and scoping new work for a client.

So what does it mean to “scope” a project? We use this word “scope” to describe what’s included and what’s not included in a project or agreement. So when we “scope” something, we’re asking questions and trying to understand what’s involved in a project.

There are many obvious questions you might ask when scoping new work. But you’ll likely find yourself having to educate the client about technical issues and costs. You may have to dig deep into assumptions and address client concerns. And you may have to present different solutions for the client to consider. In this way, scoping isn’t just about asking for simple project details. It’s both factual and relational.

In today’s dialog, we’ll listen to Jill, a software developer, talk with Ivan. Ivan works for a large retailer that wants to make significant changes to their HR software. Jill is asking questions to try to understand the company’s wants and needs so she can scope the project and put together a proposal.

Listening Questions

1. What does Jill believe Ivan is suggesting about their current approach?
2. What does Jill say about the cost of what Ivan is asking for?
3. At the end of the conversation, what does Ivan ask Jill to include in her proposal?

Premium Members: PDF Transcript | Quizzes | PhraseCast | Lesson Module

Download: Podcast MP3

BEP 334 – Project Management English 10: Internal Debrief Meeting

BEP 334 Lesson Module - Project Management English 10: Debrief Meeting

Welcome back to Business English Pod for today’s lesson on project management English for debriefing a project with your team.

Project management can be a messy business. You can plan, but you can’t really predict all the challenges and obstacles that will come up. So on every project, and especially in agile project management, you have to learn and adapt as you go along. And at the end, it’s a good idea to discuss what you’ve learned in a project debrief meeting. If you’re following an agile approach, you might also hold sprint retrospectives, which are like mini-debriefs at the end of each sprint. Whether it’s a project debrief or one of these sprint retrospectives, you’ll cover similar topics.

A project debrief meeting might start out with a review of the project goals. You want to look back and see what you set out to do in the first place. Then you can talk about successes during the project. What did you do well? What would you do again? From there, you can move on to discuss mistakes, and what you’d like to change in the future. And finally, you’ll want to summarize everything that you’ve learned. The whole idea, of course, is that you’ll be able to do things better next time.

In today’s dialog, we’ll hear a project manager named Martin, who’s running a debrief meeting at the end of a software development project. We’ll also hear Jill and Sumita, two of the engineers who’ve worked on the project. Together, the group is discussing the work they’ve done and what they’ve learned.

Listening Questions

1. After discussing the project goals, what does Martin ask about?
2. The discussion of mistakes leads Martin to ask a related question about what topic?
3. What does Martin do at the end of the meeting?

Premium Members: PDF Transcript | Quizzes | PhraseCast | Lesson Module

BEP 329 – Project Management English 9: Handover Meeting

BEP 329 Lesson Module - Project Management English 9: Handover Meeting

Welcome back to Business English Pod for today’s lesson on project management English for handing over a finished project to the client.

Nobody forgets to hold a kickoff meeting to get a project started. But unfortunately, many teams fail to hold a final meeting to bring their project cleanly to a close. Whether you’re following agile or a more traditional approach, a project handover meeting is essential. For one thing, it’s a chance to talk about how the project went and get some valuable feedback from the client. It’s also a chance to take care of any small contractual issues and make sure the client agrees that you’ve fulfilled the project goals.

But a final project handover meeting isn’t only about looking back at what’s already been done. It’s also about opening the door to future work. After all, it’s much easier to sell more to existing clients than it is to find new clients. That could mean future work that builds on what you’ve just completed. Or it might mean identifying new needs that you can help address.

But before you start talking about future work, you should set a positive tone and ask the client for their impressions of the project. You might learn something useful that you can use in other projects. Then you can remind the client how your work fits into a broader plan for the future. That will set the stage for discussing possible future upgrades or additional support.

In today’s dialog, we’ll hear Martin, a project manager with a software company called OptiTech. They’ve just finished developing software for a logistics company. Martin is meeting with Liam, the IT manager for the logistics company, for the final project handover. During the discussion, Martin will use some useful project management English to steer the meeting to a successful conclusion.

Listening Questions

1. What is the first question that Martin asks Liam?
2. What does Martin suggest Liam’s company might need if they grow or change?
3. What does Martin propose that Liam consider at the end of the dialog?

Premium Members: PDF Transcript | Quizzes | PhraseCast | Lesson Module

BEP 328 – Project Management English 8: Negotiating Solutions

BEP-328-Project-Management-English-Lesson-8

Welcome back to Business English Pod for today’s lesson on negotiating solutions during a project.

Wouldn’t it be nice if every project went exactly as planned? But that’s simply not realistic. Projects are just as diverse as the people involved. And every project runs into hurdles, challenges, or even major breakdowns. Good planning can help avoid some of these issues, but it’s more than likely that you’ll need to use your problem-solving skills at some point.

Some of these problems might be with your project team. But others could involve the client. In many cases, this means something comes up mid-project that neither of you anticipated. Lack of information, timeline issues, scope changes – there are a thousand different issues that might come up that will test your project management skills.

Solving these kinds of problems will require more than just basic project management English. For starters, you may need to explain different options to the client. But you’ll need to be careful to avoid liability when you can, and you might also need to resist committing to a timeline. These are important aspects of English for negotiating a solution.

And that word “solution” is the key. Your goal is to get to a solution that you can both agree to so that the project can still meet its original goals. And just like in any negotiation, that will probably involve proposing a compromise. Of course, agreements should be put in writing, so you’ll have to document any solutions you agree on.

In today’s dialog, we’ll hear Jill, a project manager with a software developer. They’ve been building a new system for a logistics company. Jill is talking with the Liam, the IT manager for the client, about a problem that has come up near the end of their project. Jill needs to negotiate a good solution to the problem.

Listening Questions

1. What are the options Jill lays out at the start of the meeting?
2. When Liam asks about how long it will take, how does Jill respond?
3. What is the compromise solution that Jill suggests?

Premium Members: PDF Transcript | Quizzes | PhraseCast | Lesson Module
Scroll to Top