Business Englisch News 48 – Kryptowährung

Business Englisch News 48 - Kryptowährung

In diesem Business Englisch Nachrichtenstunde, die wir uns ansehen Business Englisch Vokabular im Zusammenhang mit Kryptowährung.

Sie haben wahrscheinlich Geschichten von jungen Anlegern gehört, die von dem Versprechen schneller Gewinne in die Welt der „Krypto“ gelockt werden,“ oder Kryptowährung. Und während Bitcoin den Löwenanteil der Aufmerksamkeit auf sich zieht, es gibt über 10,000 digitale Währungen, die heute verwendet werden. Da sind die großen Namen, wie Ethereum, Binance, und Ripple. Und dann gibt es Währungen wie Dogecoin und Loser Coin, was als Witz begann. Wenn Sie von dem Hype verwirrt sind, du bist nicht allein. Also, was ist Kryptowährung?? Entsprechend Investopedia:

Eine Kryptowährung ist eine digitale oder virtuelle Währung, die durch Kryptographie gesichert ist, was es fast unmöglich macht, zu fälschen oder doppelt auszugeben. Ein entscheidendes Merkmal von Kryptowährungen ist, dass sie im Allgemeinen nicht von einer zentralen Behörde ausgegeben werden, sie theoretisch immun gegen staatliche Eingriffe oder Manipulationen machen.

Free Resources: PDF Transcript | Quizzes | Lesson Module

BEP 371 – Englisch für Startups 5: Führung demonstrieren

Englisch für Startups 5 - BEP 371 - Führung demonstrieren

Willkommen zurück zu Business Englisch Pod für die heutige Lektion am Englisch für Startups und Führung demonstrieren.

In den frühen Stadien, Startup-Unternehmen bauen auf den Ideen und der Energie ihrer Gründer auf. Diese sind oft schlau, kreative Menschen mit großen technischen Kenntnissen und Fähigkeiten. Und diese Kreativität und dieses technische Know-how sind entscheidend, um großartige Ideen zum Leben zu erwecken.

Aber sehr schnell, ein Anlaufen wird mehr als nur ein oder zwei Personen. Wie es wächst, es wird ein Team von Menschen. Und wie es sich ändert, oder Drehpunkte, Die ursprünglichen Gründer brauchen mehr als nur Kreativität und technische Fähigkeiten. Sie müssen in der Lage sein, ihr Team mit Leidenschaft zu führen.

Das Führen eines Teams ist möglicherweise nicht für jeden Gründer selbstverständlich. Oder an jeden Manager in jeder Art von Unternehmen, Tech-Startup oder nicht. Aber Sie können die Fähigkeiten eines großartigen Führers lernen und üben.

Für Starter, Sie möchten wissen, wie Sie positiv sein und Mitgefühl für Ihre Teammitglieder zeigen können. Um sich um Ihr Team zu kümmern, müssen Sie auch entschlossen auf die Bedürfnisse reagieren. Und die Leute sind auf dich angewiesen, um ihnen die Vision hinter all der harten Arbeit zu zeigen, und um den gemeinsamen Zweck aller im Team zu unterstreichen.

Im heutigen Dialog, Wir hören uns einen Startup-Gründer namens Quinn an, der kürzlich sein Online-Zahlungsunternehmen gedreht hat, um sich auf Geschäftskunden zu konzentrieren. Er spricht mit der Hauptentwicklerin Jill, und ein neuer Marketing Manager namens Colin. Um diesen Pivot gut auszuführen, Quinn muss alle seine Führungsqualitäten einsetzen, um sein Team zum Erfolg zu führen.

Fragen hören

1. Wie gibt Quinn zu Beginn des Gesprächs einen positiven Ton an??
2. Was ist die große Vision?, oder ändern, das Unternehmen will machen?
3. Wie reagiert Quinn auf Jills Bitte um Hilfe bei den Infrastrukturanforderungen??

Premium Members: PDF Transcript | Quizzes | PhraseCast | Lesson Module

BEP 366 – Englisch für Startups 3: Bedenken der Anleger ausräumen

BEP 366 LEKTION - Startup Englisch 3: Beantwortung von Anlegerfragen

Willkommen zurück im Business English Pod für die heutige Lektion, wie Sie die Bedenken von Anlegern während eines Tonhöhe in Englisch.

Eine der größten Fähigkeiten in der Wirtschaft ist die Kunst der Überzeugung. Egal, ob Sie ein Startup betreiben und einen großen Investor umwerben oder versuchen, Ihren Chef davon zu überzeugen, Ihnen eine Gehaltserhöhung zu geben, Sie müssen in der Lage sein, zu überzeugen.

Natürlich, wir benutzen oft a Tonhöhe oder Präsentation zu überreden, vor allem bei der Suche nach Startup-Investitionen. Aber das Spielfeld allein wird den Deal nicht besiegeln. Der eigentliche Test besteht darin, Fragen und Bedenken nach Ihrem Pitch zu behandeln. Können Sie diese Bedenken antizipieren und bereit sein, sie anzusprechen?? Können Sie spontan denken und sprechen?? Haben Sie das Vertrauen, Ihre Aussagen in Ihrer Präsentation zu bestätigen??

Es gibt mehrere Bedenken, die Sie möglicherweise ansprechen müssen. Für einen, Möglicherweise müssen Sie genau erklären, warum Ihre Idee einzigartig ist. Möglicherweise müssen Sie auch deutlich zeigen, dass Sie sich der Idee verpflichtet fühlen. Ein häufiges Anliegen der Anleger ist die Bewertung, oder wie viel Sie für das Unternehmen wert halten. Sie müssen Ihre Bewertung klar begründen, und erklären Sie, was Sie mit dem Geld des Anlegers tun werden. Und das alles, Sie werden versuchen zu zeigen, warum Sie unterstützt werden können, oder die Unterstützung des Anlegers verdienen.

Im heutigen Dialog, Wir werden uns wieder Quinn anschließen, Wer sucht Investition für seine Online-Zahlungsfirma namens Moolah. In unserer letzten Lektion, Quinn gab dem Investor seinen Pitch. Jetzt muss er einige schwierige Fragen und Bedenken eines potenziellen Investors namens Mason beantworten.

Fragen hören

1. Was Quinn glaubt, zeigt, dass er sich voll und ganz dem Unternehmen verpflichtet fühlt?
2. Was genau plant Quinn mit dem Geld des Anlegers zu tun??
3. Warum glaubt Quinn, dass er auf persönlicher Ebene unterstützbar ist??

Premium Members: PDF Transcript | Quizzes | PhraseCast | Lesson Module

Business Englisch News 45 – Die 5G-Revolution

Business Englisch News 45 - 5G Revolution der Mobilkommunikation

In diesem Business Englisch Nachrichtenstunde, die wir uns ansehen Wortschatz im Zusammenhang mit Technologie und Mobilkommunikation.

5G ist in aller Munde Technologie heutzutage. Und es sind nicht nur Technologiegiganten wie Samsung, Ericsson und Huawei, die aufgeregt sind. Jeder, vom Verbraucher bis zur Regierung, achtet darauf. Und mit der Aufregung kommt nicht wenig Kontroverse. Aber worum geht es bei dem Hype?? Und für den Anfang, Was genau ist 5G? Technologie-Website Inventiva erklärt:

Einfach ausgedrückt, 5G ist eine innovative mobile Technologie, Das wird voraussichtlich alle Aspekte unseres Lebens beeinflussen, einschließlich unserer Häuser, Unterhaltung, Arbeit, und Reisen. Teilweise, Dies liegt daran, dass es Download-Geschwindigkeiten ermöglicht 10 zu 20 mal schneller als die 4G-Netze von heute. Es ist aber auch viel reaktionsschneller als die aktuellen Netzwerke, und ermöglicht die Verbindung vieler weiterer Geräte mit dem Internet. Zusamenfassend, Es verbessert die Netzwerkbandbreite radikal. Mit solcher Geschwindigkeit und Kapazität, 5Von G wird erwartet, dass es alles um uns herum verändert.

Free Resources: PDF Transcript | Quizzes | Lesson Module

Business Englisch News 41 – Datenprivatsphäre

Business Englisch News 41 - Datenprivatsphäre

The digital age has brought unprecedented access to information and new online services. And in exchange, people have proven very willing to provide personal information and to have their online activities monitored. But is it worth it? As Wired reports, more and more people are questioning this trade-off:

The US has found itself in the middle of a data privacy awakening, and you can credit the recent spate of headline-grabbing scandals as the kick-starter. Cambridge Analytica illicitly took the personal information of up to 87 million Facebook users and turned it into targeted political ads. And Equifax let slip the sensitive details of 148 million Americans because it couldn’t be bothered to patch a known vulnerability.

Free Resources: PDF Transcript | Quizzes | Lesson Module
Nach oben scrollen

Business English News 48 – Cryptocurrency

Business English News 48 - Cryptocurrency

In this Business English News lesson we look at business English vocabulary related to cryptocurrency.

You’ve probably heard stories of young investors lured by the promise of quick gains in the world of “crypto,” or cryptocurrency. And while it’s Bitcoin that gets the lion’s share of attention, there are over 10,000 digital currencies in use today. There’s the big names, like Ethereum, Binance, and Ripple. And then there’s currencies like Dogecoin and Loser Coin, which started as jokes. If you’re confused by the hype, you’re not alone. So just what is cryptocurrency? According to Investopedia:

A cryptocurrency is a digital or virtual currency that is secured by cryptography, which makes it nearly impossible to counterfeit or double-spend. A defining feature of cryptocurrencies is that they are generally not issued by any central authority, rendering them theoretically immune to government interference or manipulation.

Free Resources: PDF Transcript | Quizzes | Lesson Module

BEP 371 – English for Startups 5: Demonstrating Leadership

English for Startups 5 - BEP 371 - Demonstrating Leadership

Welcome back to Business English Pod for today’s lesson on English for startups and demonstrating leadership.

In the early stages, startup companies are built on the ideas and energy of their founders. These are often smart, creative people with great technical knowledge and skills. And this creativity and technical know-how is crucial to bringing great ideas to life.

But very quickly, a startup becomes more than just one or two individuals. As it grows, it becomes a team of people. And as it changes, or pivots, the original founders need more than just creativity and technical skills. They need to be able to lead their team with passion.

Leading a team might not come naturally to every founder. Or to any manager in any type of company, tech startup or not. But you can learn and practice the skills of a being a great leader.

For starters, you’ll want to know how to be positive and show compassion for your team members. Taking care of your team will also involve responding decisively to needs. And people are depending on you to show them the vision behind all the hard work, and to underline the shared purpose of everyone on the team.

In today’s dialog, we’ll listen to a startup founder named Quinn, who has recently pivoted his online payments company to focus on business customers. He’s talking with lead developer Jill, and a new marketing manager named Colin. To execute this pivot well, Quinn will have to call on all his leadership abilities to guide his team to success.

Listening Questions

1. How does Quinn set a positive tone at the start of the conversation?
2. What is the big vision, or change, the company wants to make?
3. How does Quinn respond to Jill’s request for help with infrastructure needs?

Premium Members: PDF Transcript | Quizzes | PhraseCast | Lesson Module

BEP 366 – English for Startups 3: Addressing Investor Concerns

BEP 366 LESSON - Startup English 3: Answering Investor Questions

Welcome back to Business English Pod for today’s lesson on addressing investor concerns during a pitch in English.

One of the greatest skills in business is the art of persuasion. Whether you’re running a startup and wooing a big investor or trying to convince your boss to give you a pay raise you need to be able to persuade.

Of course, we often use a pitch or presentation to persuade, especially when looking for startup investment. But the pitch alone won’t seal the deal. The real test is handling questions and concerns after your pitch. Can you anticipate these concerns and be ready to address them? Can you think and speak on the fly? Do you have the confidence to back up what you’ve said in your presentation?

There are several concerns you might have to address. For one, you may have to explain exactly why your idea is unique. And you might also have to show clearly that you’re committed to the idea. One common investor concern is the valuation, or how much you think the company’s worth. You’ll need to justify your valuation clearly, and explain what you’ll do with the investor’s money. And through it all, you’ll be trying to show why you are backable, or deserve the investor’s support.

In today’s dialog, we’ll rejoin Quinn, who is seeking investment for his online payments company called Moolah. In our last lesson, Quinn gave his pitch to the investor. Now he has to address some tough questions and concerns from a potential investor named Mason.

Listening Questions

1. What does Quinn believe shows that he’s fully committed to the company?
2. What exactly does Quinn plan to do with the investor’s money?
3. Why does Quinn believe he is backable on a personal level?

Premium Members: PDF Transcript | Quizzes | PhraseCast | Lesson Module

Business English News 45 – The 5G Revolution

Business English News 45 - 5G Mobile Communications Revolution

In this Business English News lesson we look at vocabulary related to technology and mobile communications.

There’s a lot of buzz around 5G technology these days. And it’s not just tech giants like Samsung, Ericsson and Huawei that are getting excited. Everyone from consumers to governments are paying attention. And with the excitement comes no small amount of controversy. But what’s all the hype about? And for starters, what exactly is 5G? Technology website Inventiva explains:

Put simply, 5G is an innovative mobile technology, which is expected to impact all aspects of our lives, including our homes, entertainment, work, and travel. In part, this is because it enables download speeds 10 to 20 times faster than the 4G networks of today. But it’s also much more responsive than the current networks, and allows many more devices to be connected to the internet. In short, it radically improves network bandwidth. With such speed and capacity, 5G is expected to transform everything around us.

Free Resources: PDF Transcript | Quizzes | Lesson Module

Business English News 41 – Data Privacy

Business English News 41 - Data Privacy

The digital age has brought unprecedented access to information and new online services. And in exchange, people have proven very willing to provide personal information and to have their online activities monitored. But is it worth it? As Wired reports, more and more people are questioning this trade-off:

The US has found itself in the middle of a data privacy awakening, and you can credit the recent spate of headline-grabbing scandals as the kick-starter. Cambridge Analytica illicitly took the personal information of up to 87 million Facebook users and turned it into targeted political ads. And Equifax let slip the sensitive details of 148 million Americans because it couldn’t be bothered to patch a known vulnerability.

Free Resources: PDF Transcript | Quizzes | Lesson Module
Scroll to Top