商務英語新聞 48 – 加密貨幣

商務英語新聞 48 - 加密貨幣

在這 商務英語 我們看的新聞課 商務英語詞彙 與加密貨幣有關.

你可能聽說過年輕投資者被“加密貨幣”世界中快速收益的承諾所吸引的故事,”或加密貨幣. 雖然比特幣獲得了最大的關注, 有結束 10,000 今天使用的數字貨幣. 有大牌, 像以太坊, 幣安, 和波紋. 然後還有像狗狗幣和失敗者幣這樣的貨幣, 開始是笑話. 如果你對炒作感到困惑, 你不是一個人. 那麼什麼是加密貨幣? 根據 投資百科:

加密貨幣是由密碼學保護的數字或虛擬貨幣, 這使得偽造或雙花幾乎不可能. 加密貨幣的一個定義特徵是它們通常不由任何中央機構發行, 使他們理論上不受政府乾預或操縱的影響.

Free Resources: PDF Transcript | Quizzes | Lesson Module

BEP 371 – 初創企業英語 5: 展現領導力

初創企業英語 5 - BEP 371 - 展現領導力

歡迎回到 商務英語 播客今天的課程 初創企業英語 展現領導力.

在早期, 創業公司建立在創始人的思想和能量之上. 這些通常很聰明, 具有豐富的技術知識和技能的富有創造力的人. 而這種創造力和技術訣竅對於將出色的創意變為現實至關重要.

但是很快, 一種 啟動 變得不僅僅是一個或兩個人. 隨著成長, 它變成了一群人. 隨著變化, 或樞軸, 最初的創始人不僅需要創造力和技術技能. 他們需要能夠帶領團隊充滿激情.

領導團隊可能並非天生就適合每個創始人. 或致任何類型公司的任何經理, 是否是科技創業公司. 但是您可以學習和練習成為優秀領導者的技能.

對於初學者, 您將想知道如何變得積極並對團隊成員表現出同情心. 照顧好您的團隊也將涉及對需求的果斷響應. 人們依靠您向他們展示所有辛勤工作背後的願景, 並強調團隊中每個人的共同目標.

在今天的對話中, 我們將聆聽一個名為Quinn的創業公司創始人, 他最近將他的在線支付公司轉為專注於商業客戶. 他正在與首席開發人員吉爾(Jill)交談, 以及一位新的營銷經理,名叫科林(Colin). 要很好地執行這一樞紐, 奎因(Quinn)將必須利用他所有的領導才能來指導他的團隊取得成功.

聽力問題

1. 奎因如何在對話開始時設定積極的語氣?
2. 什麼是大視野, 或改變, 公司想做?
3. 奎因如何回應吉爾對基礎設施需求的幫助請求?

Premium Members: PDF Transcript | Quizzes | PhraseCast | Lesson Module

BEP 366 – 初創企業英語 3: 解決投資者的擔憂

BEP 366 課 - 啟動英語 3: 回答投資者問題

歡迎回到Business English Pod,參加今天的課程,了解如何在 英文音調.

商業上最偉大的技能之一是說服藝術. 無論您是經營一家初創公司並吸引大投資者,還是試圖說服老闆給您加薪,您都必須能夠說服.

當然, 我們經常使用 演講或演講 說服, 特別是在尋找創業投資時. 但是,僅靠推銷不會達成協議. 真正的考驗是在您上場之後處理問題和疑慮. 您能預料到這些問題並準備好解決它們嗎? 您可以即時思考和說話嗎? 您是否有信心備份您在演示文稿中所說的話?

您可能需要解決幾個問題. 對於一個, 您可能需要確切解釋為什麼您的想法獨特. 而且,您可能還必須清楚地表明自己對這個想法有所投入. 投資者普遍關注的是估值, 或您認為該公司的價值是多少. 您需要明確說明您的估值合理, 並說明您將如何使用投資者的資金. 並通過所有, 您將試圖證明您為什麼可以支持, 還是值得投資者的支持.

在今天的對話中, 我們將重新加入奎因, 正在為其名為Moolah的在線支付公司尋求投資. 在上一課中, 奎因向投資者宣傳. 現在,他必須解決來自名為梅森(Mason)的潛在投資者的一些棘手問題和疑慮.

聽力問題

1. Quinn認為什麼表明他完全致力於公司?
2. 奎因計劃如何正確利用投資者的資金?
3. 為什麼奎因(Quinn)相信他在個人層面上是可以支持的?

Premium Members: PDF Transcript | Quizzes | PhraseCast | Lesson Module

商務英語新聞 45 – 5G革命

商務英語新聞 45 - 5G移動通信革命

在這 商務英語 我們看的新聞課 詞彙 與技術和移動通信有關.

關於5G的話題很多 技術 這些日子. 不只是像三星這樣的科技巨頭, 愛立信和華為興奮不已. 從消費者到政府的每個人都在關注. 隨之而來的是不小的爭議. 但是,所有的炒作是什麼? 對於初學者, 5G到底是什麼? 技術網站Inventiva解釋:

簡單地說, 5G是一項創新的移動技術, 預計將影響我們生活的方方面面, 包括我們的家, 娛樂, 工作, 和旅行. 部分地, 這是因為它可以提高下載速度 10 至 20 比當今的4G網絡快十倍. 但是它也比當前的網絡響應速度更快, 並允許更多設備連接到互聯網. 簡而言之, 它從根本上改善了網絡帶寬. 如此速度和容量, 5G有望改變我們周圍的一切.

Free Resources: PDF Transcript | Quizzes | Lesson Module

商務英語新聞 41 – 資料私隱

商務英語新聞 41 - 資料私隱

The digital age has brought unprecedented access to information and new online services. And in exchange, people have proven very willing to provide personal information and to have their online activities monitored. But is it worth it? As Wired reports, more and more people are questioning this trade-off:

The US has found itself in the middle of a data privacy awakening, and you can credit the recent spate of headline-grabbing scandals as the kick-starter. Cambridge Analytica illicitly took the personal information of up to 87 million Facebook users and turned it into targeted political ads. And Equifax let slip the sensitive details of 148 million Americans because it couldn’t be bothered to patch a known vulnerability.

Free Resources: PDF Transcript | Quizzes | Lesson Module
滾動到頂部

Business English News 48 – Cryptocurrency

Business English News 48 - Cryptocurrency

In this Business English News lesson we look at business English vocabulary related to cryptocurrency.

You’ve probably heard stories of young investors lured by the promise of quick gains in the world of “crypto,” or cryptocurrency. And while it’s Bitcoin that gets the lion’s share of attention, there are over 10,000 digital currencies in use today. There’s the big names, like Ethereum, Binance, and Ripple. And then there’s currencies like Dogecoin and Loser Coin, which started as jokes. If you’re confused by the hype, you’re not alone. So just what is cryptocurrency? According to Investopedia:

A cryptocurrency is a digital or virtual currency that is secured by cryptography, which makes it nearly impossible to counterfeit or double-spend. A defining feature of cryptocurrencies is that they are generally not issued by any central authority, rendering them theoretically immune to government interference or manipulation.

Free Resources: PDF Transcript | Quizzes | Lesson Module

BEP 371 – English for Startups 5: Demonstrating Leadership

English for Startups 5 - BEP 371 - Demonstrating Leadership

Welcome back to Business English Pod for today’s lesson on English for startups and demonstrating leadership.

In the early stages, startup companies are built on the ideas and energy of their founders. These are often smart, creative people with great technical knowledge and skills. And this creativity and technical know-how is crucial to bringing great ideas to life.

But very quickly, a startup becomes more than just one or two individuals. As it grows, it becomes a team of people. And as it changes, or pivots, the original founders need more than just creativity and technical skills. They need to be able to lead their team with passion.

Leading a team might not come naturally to every founder. Or to any manager in any type of company, tech startup or not. But you can learn and practice the skills of a being a great leader.

For starters, you’ll want to know how to be positive and show compassion for your team members. Taking care of your team will also involve responding decisively to needs. And people are depending on you to show them the vision behind all the hard work, and to underline the shared purpose of everyone on the team.

In today’s dialog, we’ll listen to a startup founder named Quinn, who has recently pivoted his online payments company to focus on business customers. He’s talking with lead developer Jill, and a new marketing manager named Colin. To execute this pivot well, Quinn will have to call on all his leadership abilities to guide his team to success.

Listening Questions

1. How does Quinn set a positive tone at the start of the conversation?
2. What is the big vision, or change, the company wants to make?
3. How does Quinn respond to Jill’s request for help with infrastructure needs?

Premium Members: PDF Transcript | Quizzes | PhraseCast | Lesson Module

BEP 366 – English for Startups 3: Addressing Investor Concerns

BEP 366 LESSON - Startup English 3: Answering Investor Questions

Welcome back to Business English Pod for today’s lesson on addressing investor concerns during a pitch in English.

One of the greatest skills in business is the art of persuasion. Whether you’re running a startup and wooing a big investor or trying to convince your boss to give you a pay raise you need to be able to persuade.

Of course, we often use a pitch or presentation to persuade, especially when looking for startup investment. But the pitch alone won’t seal the deal. The real test is handling questions and concerns after your pitch. Can you anticipate these concerns and be ready to address them? Can you think and speak on the fly? Do you have the confidence to back up what you’ve said in your presentation?

There are several concerns you might have to address. For one, you may have to explain exactly why your idea is unique. And you might also have to show clearly that you’re committed to the idea. One common investor concern is the valuation, or how much you think the company’s worth. You’ll need to justify your valuation clearly, and explain what you’ll do with the investor’s money. And through it all, you’ll be trying to show why you are backable, or deserve the investor’s support.

In today’s dialog, we’ll rejoin Quinn, who is seeking investment for his online payments company called Moolah. In our last lesson, Quinn gave his pitch to the investor. Now he has to address some tough questions and concerns from a potential investor named Mason.

Listening Questions

1. What does Quinn believe shows that he’s fully committed to the company?
2. What exactly does Quinn plan to do with the investor’s money?
3. Why does Quinn believe he is backable on a personal level?

Premium Members: PDF Transcript | Quizzes | PhraseCast | Lesson Module

Business English News 45 – The 5G Revolution

Business English News 45 - 5G Mobile Communications Revolution

In this Business English News lesson we look at vocabulary related to technology and mobile communications.

There’s a lot of buzz around 5G technology these days. And it’s not just tech giants like Samsung, Ericsson and Huawei that are getting excited. Everyone from consumers to governments are paying attention. And with the excitement comes no small amount of controversy. But what’s all the hype about? And for starters, what exactly is 5G? Technology website Inventiva explains:

Put simply, 5G is an innovative mobile technology, which is expected to impact all aspects of our lives, including our homes, entertainment, work, and travel. In part, this is because it enables download speeds 10 to 20 times faster than the 4G networks of today. But it’s also much more responsive than the current networks, and allows many more devices to be connected to the internet. In short, it radically improves network bandwidth. With such speed and capacity, 5G is expected to transform everything around us.

Free Resources: PDF Transcript | Quizzes | Lesson Module

Business English News 41 – Data Privacy

Business English News 41 - Data Privacy

The digital age has brought unprecedented access to information and new online services. And in exchange, people have proven very willing to provide personal information and to have their online activities monitored. But is it worth it? As Wired reports, more and more people are questioning this trade-off:

The US has found itself in the middle of a data privacy awakening, and you can credit the recent spate of headline-grabbing scandals as the kick-starter. Cambridge Analytica illicitly took the personal information of up to 87 million Facebook users and turned it into targeted political ads. And Equifax let slip the sensitive details of 148 million Americans because it couldn’t be bothered to patch a known vulnerability.

Free Resources: PDF Transcript | Quizzes | Lesson Module
Scroll to Top