供应链

供应链管理和物流英语. 通过探索制造的课程学习与供应链相关的词汇和语言, 生产计划和物流.

最佳实践 373 – 供应链管理英语 (2)

最佳实践 373 - 供应链管理英语 2

欢迎回到Business English Pod,今天的课程 供应链管理英语. 今天,我们将探讨供应链的零售方面.

在现今世界里, 距离并不一定是开展业务的障碍. 贵公司是否位于法国都没关系, 泰国, 或美国. 您可以向世界任何地方的客户销售.

当然, 这并不意味着容易. 将您的产品放到其他大洲的货架上, 甚至您国家的其他地区, 很复杂. 它依靠人脉, 仓库, 和信息. 可能涉及多种运输方式, 包括卡车, 船, 我收费计划, 和火车.

我们将此活动网络称为供应链. 在今天的课程中, 我们将重新加入一家美国服装公司的会议, 经理们在这里讨论他们的供应链的零售方面. 在他们谈话期间, 他们使用许多特定于供应链管理的语言. 这种语言包括我们所说的“搭配”,”或单词的自然组合.

什么时候 说英语的人学习搭配, 他们一次都不学一个字. 而是, 他们一起学习单词, 作为一个单一的表达. 如果您学习这些搭配,则英语听起来会更流利自然, 特别是与您的行业有关的. 当您收听今天的对话时, 尝试挑选一些搭配,我们将在稍后的汇报中讨论它们.

在对话框中, 我们会听到Cam和Tanya, 在一家名为Boston Vintage的服装公司工作的人. Tanya是位于马来西亚的供应链经理. Cam位于美国. 并担任生产计划员. 他们正在谈论扩大在东南亚的零售业务, 他们在对话中使用许多特定于供应链管理的搭配.

听力问题

1. 谭雅说的很雄心勃勃?
2. Tanya所说的话幸运地没有受到如此忙碌的影响?
3. 据谭雅, 4PL将使他们能够做什么?

Premium Members: PDF Transcript | Quizzes | PhraseCast | Lesson Module

Download: Podcast MP3

最佳实践 372 – 供应链管理英语 (1)

最佳实践 372 - 供应链管理与物流英语 (1)

欢迎回到Business English Pod,今天上有关物流和英语的课程 供应链管理. 今天我们来看看 制造业 供应链的一面.

当您在本地商店从货架上取货时, 很容易忘记该产品走了多长时间. 它可能包含来自世界各地的零件和材料. 它可能被运送到多个地方进行处理. 一旦准备好并打包, 它可能需要长途跋涉才能到达您的邻居.

庞大的信息网络, 人们, 材料, 流程称为供应链. 协调一切的人都参与其中 供应链管理. 良好的供应链管理可以使高兴的顾客和生气的顾客有所不同, 在损益之间.

在本课中, 我们将听取一家服装公司的会议,该公司拥有连接美国的复杂供应链. 和亚洲. 会议期间, 同事使用许多英语表达方式,我们称之为“搭配”。搭配是自然而然地经常出现的单词组合. 搭配的一个很好的例子是“供应链管理”。

讲英语的母语人士会自动使用这样的搭配. 特定人群或工作领域通常会使用某些搭配. 通过研究这些搭配, 您将改善词汇量,听起来更加流利. 当你听对话时, 尝试挑选一些搭配,我们将在稍后的汇报中讨论它们.

在对话框中, 我们会听到Cam和Tanya. 坎姆(Cam)是美国波士顿复古(Boston Vintage)在美国的生产策划师. Tanya是供应链经理,帮助发展公司在东南亚的供应链. Cam和Tanya在关于供应链制造方面的对话中使用了许多特定于供应链管理的搭配.

听力问题

1. Tanya在事物制造方面的第一个主要关注点是什么?
2. 卡姆说地面上的人有期望?
3. Tanya所说的话会增加成本,但有助于管理风险?

Premium Members: PDF Transcript | Quizzes | PhraseCast | Lesson Module

Download: Podcast MP3

VV 48 – 制造业英语词汇 2

Youtube 视频

在本课中,我们将学习 商务英语词汇 与制造工艺有关. 这包括研究和开发, 或R&D, 以及制作原型. 接下来我们将研究不同的制造方法, 包括精益制造, 全面质量管理, 或全面质量管理, 和六西格码. 大多数制造商都遵循一套称为 ISO 的标准, 特别是ISO 9001 和ISO14001. 最后, 我们将研究各种制造工艺, 比如机械加工, 模压和挤压.

Premium Members: PDF Transcript | Quizzes | MP3 Audio

Download: Podcast Video

VV 47 – 制造业英语词汇 1

Youtube 视频

在这个 英文视频课, 我们来看一下 商务英语词汇 与制造业有关. 公司在工厂生产商品, 或工厂, 他们将原材料或各种零部件组装成最终产品. 我们将介绍一些构想,例如捏造, 以及组装线, 货物在哪里组装. 厂商依靠质量控制, 或QC, 确保成品质量.

Premium Members: PDF Transcript | Quizzes | MP3 Audio

Download: Podcast Video

VV 32 – 商务英语词汇: 国际贸易

Youtube 视频

在这个 英文视频 词汇课, 我们来看一下 商务英语词汇 国际贸易. 国际贸易是我们全球经济的基石, 随着货物不断在世界各地空运和运输. 在本课中, 我们将看看这一切如何运作. 一路上, 我们将学习与国际贸易过程有关的关键词汇.

Premium Members: PDF Transcript | Quizzes | MP3 Audio Only

Download: Podcast Video

BEP 373 – English for Supply Chain Management (2)

BEP 373 - English for Supply Chain Management 2

Welcome back to Business English Pod for today’s lesson on English for supply chain management. Today we’re going to look at the retail side of the supply chain.

In today’s world, distance isn’t always a barrier to doing business. It doesn’t matter if your company is located in France, Thailand, or the U.S. You can sell to customers anywhere in the world.

Of course, that doesn’t mean it’s easy. Getting your products onto shelves in other continents, or even other parts of your country, is complex. It relies on a web of people, warehouses, and information. And it might involve multiple forms of transportation, including trucks, ships, cargo planes, and trains.

We call this web of activity the supply chain. And in today’s lesson, we’ll rejoin a meeting at an American clothing company, where managers are discussing the retail side of their supply chain. During their conversation, they use lots of language specific to supply chain management. This language includes what we call “collocations,” or natural combinations of words.

When English speakers learn collocations, they don’t learn them one word at a time. Rather, they learn the words together, as a single expression. You can sound more fluent and natural in English if you learn these collocations, especially the ones related to your industry. As you listen to today’s dialog, try to pick out some of these collocations and we’ll discuss them later in the debrief.

In the dialog, we’ll hear Cam and Tanya, who work for a clothing company called Boston Vintage. Tanya is a supply chain manager located in Malaysia. Cam is based in the U.S. and works as a production planner. They’re talking about expanding their retail operations in southeast Asia, and they use many collocations specific to supply chain management in their conversation.

Listening Questions

1. What does Tanya say is very ambitious?
2. What does Tanya say has fortunately not been impacted by being so busy?
3. According to Tanya, what will having a 4PL enable them to do?

Premium Members: PDF Transcript | Quizzes | PhraseCast | Lesson Module

BEP 372 – English for Supply Chain Management (1)

BEP 372 - English for Supply Chain Management and Logistics (1)

Welcome back to Business English Pod for today’s lesson on English for logistics and supply chain management. Today we’re going to look at the manufacturing side of the supply chain.

When you pick a product off a shelf at a local store, it’s easy to forget what a long hard road that product has travelled. It may have parts and materials from all over the world. It may be shipped to multiple locations for processing. And once it’s ready and packaged, it may travel long distances to make it to your neighborhood.

This enormous network of information, people, materials, and processes is called a supply chain. And the people who coordinate everything are involved in supply chain management. Good supply chain management can make the difference between a happy customer and an angry customer, and between profit and loss.

In this lesson, we’ll listen to a meeting at a clothing company with a complex supply chain connecting the U.S. and Asia. During the meeting, the colleagues use many English expressions we call “collocations.” Collocations are simply natural frequently occurring combinations of words. A good example of a collocation is “supply chain management.”

Native English speakers use collocations like this automatically. And specific groups of people or fields of work have certain collocations they commonly use. By studying these collocations, you’ll improve your vocabulary and sound more fluent. As you listen to the conversation, try to pick out some of these collocations and we’ll discuss them later in the debrief.

In the dialog, we’ll hear Cam and Tanya. Cam is a production planner for Boston Vintage in the U.S. Tanya is a supply chain manager helping to develop the company’s supply chain in southeast Asia. Cam and Tanya use many collocations specific to supply chain management in their conversation about the manufacturing side of the supply chain.

Listening Questions

1. What is Tanya’s first big concern on the manufacturing side of things?
2. What does Cam say that people on the ground have expectations about?
3. What does Tanya say will increase costs but help manage risk?

Premium Members: PDF Transcript | Quizzes | PhraseCast | Lesson Module

VV 48 – English Vocabulary for Manufacturing 2

YouTube video

In this lesson we’ll look at Business English vocabulary related to the manufacturing process. This includes research and development, or R&D, as well as making prototypes. Next we’ll look at different approaches to manufacturing, including lean manufacturing, total quality management, or TQM, and Six Sigma. And most manufacturers follow a set of standards called ISO, especially ISO 9001 and ISO14001. Finally, we’ll look at a variety of manufacturing processes, such as machining, molding and extruding.

Premium Members: Study Notes | Quizzes | MP3 Audio

VV 47 – English Vocabulary for Manufacturing 1

YouTube video

In this English Video lesson, we’ll look at business English vocabulary related to manufacturing. Companies manufacture goods in plants, or factories, where they put together raw materials or various parts and components into a final product. We’ll cover ideas such as fabrication, as well as the assembly line, where goods are assembled. Manufacturers rely on quality control, or QC, to ensure the quality of their finished goods.

Premium Members: Study Notes | Quizzes | MP3 Audio

VV 32 – Business English Vocabulary: International Trade

YouTube video

In this Video Vocab lesson, we’ll look at business English vocabulary for international trade. International trade is a cornerstone of our global economy, as goods are constantly flowing by air and ship around the world. In this lesson, we’ll look at how it all works. Along the way, we’ll learn key vocabulary related to the process of international trade.

Premium Members: PDF Transcript | Online Practice

Scroll to Top