管理课程商务英语

技能 360 – 环境、社会及治理: 环境的, 社会与治理

技能 360 课 - 环境、社会及治理: 环境的, 社会与治理

欢迎回到 商务英语 技能 360 今天课程的播客“ESG,”或环境, 社会的, 以及公司做出的治理承诺.

与DEI一起, 我们下次再讨论, ESG 是当今似乎无处不在的缩写词之一. 一些公司在 ESG 方面取得了巨大进步, 他们中的许多人正在收获回报. 其他人才刚刚开始走这条路. 然后还有一些人在抵制, 无论好坏. 无论您公司的情况如何, 了解 ESG 的含义对您来说很重要.

在一个非常简单的层面上, ESG 关注非财务影响, 风险, 和商业机会. ESG 中的“E”代表“环境”。这是指公司对环境的影响, 其温室气体排放, 对自然资源的关心, 及其面对气候变化的恢复力.

ESG 中的“S”代表“社会”。该支柱是关于公司与其利益相关者的关系, 内部和外部. 这包括员工敬业度, 以及与周围社区及其人民的关系. 最后, ESG 中的“G”代表“治理”。这都是关于道德和负责任的领导力, 董事会监督, 公平, 和透明度.

Members: Lesson Module | Quiz & Vocab | PDF Transcript

Download: Podcast MP3

技能 360 – 向上管理 2: 如何向上管理

技能 360 - 管理英语: 向上管理 (2)

欢迎回到商务英语技能 360 今天课程的播客 英语管理 技能和 如何向上管理.

我们中的许多人都默默地渴望与老板建立轻松的关系, 他可以直观地理解我们. 但管理者也是人. 他们无法比你更好地读懂思想. 即使是最好的人也会犯错误. 这就是为什么今天我想谈谈如何“向上管理”。我说的是使用策略来加强你和你老板之间的合作. 我想向您展示如何启动这些策略, 而不是等待你的老板成为更好的管理者.

如果你想学会向上管理,正确的态度至关重要. 首先缓和你对老板的怨恨. 敞开心扉接受与老板合作的想法. 并培养学习精神. 即使你不把老板视为导师, 你可以向他学习很多东西.

以正确的态度, 然后你可以尝试更好地理解你的老板. 反思你对这个人的了解. 问你自己: 此人的经历和背景是什么? 然后, 这种经历和背景如何影响他的核心价值观?

Members: Lesson Module | Quiz & Vocab | PDF Transcript

Download: Podcast MP3

技能 360 – 向上管理 1: 与你的老板一起工作

技能 360 - 管理英语: 向上管理 (1)

欢迎回到商务英语技能 360 今天课程的播客 英语管理 技能和管理.

有句老话叫人不辞工, 他们辞去了老板的职务. 根据最近的一项研究, 65% 的人会选择新老板而不是加薪. 毫无疑问, 我们的工作满意度在很大程度上受到老板素质的影响.

但如果你的老板不理解你, 或者不知道如何管理你, 或者完全无能, 你不必默默承受. 实际上, 即使是拥有伟大老板的人也可以从我们所说的“向上管理”中受益。

所以, 向上管理是什么意思? 出色地, 在基本层面上, 向上管理就是教你的老板如何成为你的好管理者. 这是为了改善沟通, 理解, 和协作,以便你们都能从工作关系中受益.

我们很多人都陷入了对权力的特定思考方式, 换句话说: 你的老板有它, 而你不. 但你需要将你与老板的关系视为一种你有选择权和代理权的关系. 您可以通过增进理解来影响结果和行为并改善您的工作生活.

当我们管理起来时, 我们承认不同的人有不同的沟通方式, 行为举止, 和工作. 我们努力了解老板的独特风格和方法. 深入思考她的期望, 她的需要, 她喜欢的沟通方式, 和她的目标. 一旦你有了这样的理解, 然后你就可以适应.

Members: Lesson Module | Quiz & Vocab | PDF Transcript

Download: Podcast MP3

最佳实践 396 – 战略决策 (2)

最佳实践 396 课 - 战略决策 2

欢迎回到 商务英语播客 今天的课程是关于制定战略决策的. 这是一对教训中的第二个 经营策略.

按照古话说, 好主意多如牛毛. 商业上不乏机会. 但并非所有这些想法和可能性都是平等的. 您必须能够找出哪些最适合您的业务. 鉴于时间有限, 资源, 和容量, 你无法追逐每一个闪亮的新事物.

这就是策略发挥作用的地方. 战略可以帮助您将优秀的商机与所有仅仅是好的想法区分开来. 策略可以让你对正确的人说“是”, 其余的不. 没有战略眼光, 公司注定会走百视达的道路.

战略决策涉及询问您的公司是否是实现该想法的合适公司. 这意味着评估它是否发挥您的优势并适合您的品牌. 这也意味着讨论机会成本, 或者为了追求新想法你将放弃的东西. 任何新机会都必须具有长期潜力. 它不能只是昙花一现.

在今天的对话中, 我们将重新加入保罗, 阿德里安, 和米歇尔, 在太阳能电池板公司工作的人. 该公司传统上专注于商业项目. 现在他们正在讨论这是否是一个好主意——从战略上来说 – 进入住宅市场.

听力问题

1. Adrian 为什么关心住宅客户的意见?
2. Adrian说他们公司品牌的重点是什么?
3. 米歇尔对提供能源审计服务的想法有何担忧?

Premium Members: PDF Transcript | Quizzes | PhraseCast | Lesson Module

Download: Podcast MP3

最佳实践 395 – 战略决策 (1)

最佳实践 395 课 - 制定战略决策 1

欢迎回到 商务英语播客 今天的课程是关于战略决策的. 这是关于商业策略的两节课程中的第一节.

每天, 企业领导者面临艰难的决策,涉及艰难的权衡. 我们应该将时间和金钱投入到新的机会中还是在当前的运营中进行能力建设? 我们应该与 X 公司还是 Y 公司合作? 我们应该向东还是向西扩张?

这些决策通常是根据公司整体战略计划制定的. 但该计划无法解释所有可能的未来. 大局计划并不做出决定,而是支持决策. 当世界变得更加不确定时, 复杂的, 并且比以往任何时候都不稳定, 每个决定的风险都很高.

做出战略决策时需要考虑很多因素. 对于初学者, 我们需要考虑该决定如何与我们的主要目标保持一致. 寻找新机遇, 我们需要考虑增长潜力, 成本, 和利润率. 我们需要确保我们拥有适当的竞争优势来抓住机会.

在今天的对话中, 我们来听一下保罗之间的对话, 阿德里安, 和米歇尔. 他们在一家专注于商业项目和企业客户的太阳能电池板公司工作. 现在他们正在讨论可能进军住宅市场的战略优势.

听力问题

1. 谈完总体目标后, 保罗对什么感到非常兴奋?
2. Adrian 对哪个主题有很多疑问?
3. 在谈话结束时, 为什么保罗相信他们会在住宅市场取得成功?

Premium Members: PDF Transcript | Quizzes | PhraseCast | Lesson Module

Download: Podcast MP3

Business English for Management Lessons

Skills 360 – ESG: Environmental, Social and Governance

Skills 360 LESSON - ESG: Environmental, Social and Governance

Welcome back to the Business English Skills 360 podcast for today’s lesson on “ESG,” or the environmental, social, and governance commitments companies make.

Along with DEI, which we’ll talk about next time, ESG is one of those acronyms that seems to be everywhere these days. Some companies have made huge strides in ESG, and many of them are reaping the rewards. Others have just started down the path. And then there are some that are resisting, for better or worse. Whatever the situation in your company is, it’s important for you to know what ESG is all about.

On a very simple level, ESG is about paying attention to the non-financial impacts, risks, and opportunities in business. The “E” in ESG stands for “environmental.” This refers to a company’s impacts on the environment, its greenhouse gas emissions, its care for natural resources, and its resilience in the face of climate change.

The “S” in ESG stands for “social.” This pillar is all about the company’s relationship with it stakeholders, both internal and external. That includes employee engagement, as well as relationships with the surrounding community and its people. Finally, the “G” in ESG stands for “governance.” This is all about ethical and accountable leadership, board oversight, equity, and transparency.

Members: Lesson Module | Quiz & Vocab | PDF Transcript

Download: Podcast MP3

Skills 360 – Managing Up 2: How to Manage Up

Skills 360 - Management English: Managing Up (2)

Welcome back to the Business English Skills 360 podcast for today’s lesson on English management skills and how to manage up.

Many of us silently yearn for an easy relationship with our boss, one in which he can understand us intuitively. But managers are human. They can’t read minds any better than you can. And even the best ones make mistakes. That’s why today I want to talk about how to “manage up.” I’m talking about using strategies for enhanced collaboration between you and your boss. I want to show you how you can initiate these strategies, rather than waiting for your boss to become a better manager.

The right attitude is critical if you want to learn to manage up. Start by de-escalating any resentment you have toward your boss. Open yourself up to the idea of collaborating with your boss. And cultivate a spirit of learning. Even if you don’t see your boss as a mentor, there’s lots you can learn from him.

With the right attitude, you can then go about trying to understand your boss better. Reflect on what you know about the person. Ask yourself: what is this person’s experience and background? Then, how does this experience and background inform his core values?

Members: Lesson Module | Quiz & Vocab | PDF Transcript

Download: Podcast MP3

Skills 360 – Managing Up 1: Working with your Boss

Skills 360 - Management English: Managing Up (1)

Welcome back to the Business English Skills 360 podcast for today’s lesson on English management skills and managing up.

There’s an old saying that people don’t quit jobs, they quit bosses. And according to a recent study, 65% of people would choose a new boss over a pay raise. Without a doubt, our job satisfaction is heavily influenced by the quality of our boss.

But if your boss doesn’t understand you, or doesn’t know how to manage you, or is outright incompetent, you don’t have to suffer in silence. In fact, even people who have great bosses can benefit from what we call “managing up.”

So, what do I mean by managing up? Well, on a basic level, managing up is all about teaching your boss how to be a good manager to you. It’s about improving communication, understanding, and collaboration so that you both benefit from the working relationship.

A lot of us are stuck in a particular way of thinking about power, in other words: your boss has it, and you don’t. But you need to think about your relationship with your boss as one in which you have choice and agency. You can influence outcomes and behavior and improve your work life by improving understanding.

When we manage up, we acknowledge that different people have different ways of communicating, behaving, and working. And we work to understand our boss’s particular style and approach. Think deeply about her expectations, her needs, her preferred communication style, and her goals. Once you have this understanding, then you can adapt.

Members: Lesson Module | Quiz & Vocab | PDF Transcript

Download: Podcast MP3

BEP 396 – Strategic Decision-Making (2)

BEP 396 LESSON - Strategic Decision-Making 2

Welcome back to Business English Pod for today’s lesson on making strategic decisions. This is the second of a pair of lessons on business strategy.

According to the old saying, good ideas are a dime a dozen. There’s no shortage of possibilities in business. But not all those ideas and possibilities are equal. You have to be able to sort out which ones are the right fit for your business. Given limited time, resources, and capacity, you can’t chase after every shiny new thing that comes along.

This is where strategy comes in. Strategy helps you separate the excellent business opportunities from all the merely good ideas. Strategy allows you to say yes to the right ones, and no to the rest. Without a strategic perspective, companies are doomed to go the way of Blockbuster.

Strategic decision-making involves asking whether your company is the right company to pursue the idea. That means assessing whether it plays to your strengths and fits with your brand. It also means discussing the opportunity costs, or the things you’ll be giving up to pursue the new idea. And any new opportunity has to have long-term potential. It can’t just be a flash in the pan.

In today’s dialog, we’ll rejoin Paolo, Adrian, and Michelle, who work for a solar panel company. The company has traditionally focused on commercial projects. Now they’re discussing whether it’s a good idea – strategically speaking – to get into the residential market.

Listening Questions

1. Why is Adrian concerned about the opinions of residential customers?
2. What does Adrian say is the focus of their company’s brand?
3. What is Michelle’s concern about the idea of providing energy audit services?

Premium Members: PDF Transcript | Quizzes | PhraseCast | Lesson Module

Download: Podcast MP3

BEP 395 – Strategic Decision-Making (1)

BEP 395 LESSON - Making Strategic Decisions 1

Welcome back to Business English Pod for today’s lesson on strategic decision-making. This is the first of a pair of lessons on business strategy.

Every day, business leaders face tough decisions that involve difficult trade-offs. Should we put our time and money into a new opportunity or build capacity in our current operations? Should we partner with company X or company Y? Should we expand east or west?

These decisions are often informed by an overall corporate strategic plan. But that plan can’t account for all possible futures. Big picture plans don’t make the decisions but rather support decision-making. And when the world seems more uncertain, complex, and volatile than ever, the stakes are high for every decision.

There’s lots to consider when making a strategic decision. For starters, we need to think about how the decision aligns with our main goals. For new opportunities, we need to think about growth potential, costs, and profit margins. And we need to be sure we have the right competitive advantage to pursue the opportunity.

In today’s dialog, we’ll listen to a conversation between Paolo, Adrian, and Michelle. They work for a solar panel company that has focused on commercial projects and corporate clients. Now they’re debating the strategic merits of a possible move into the residential market.

Listening Questions

1. After talking about overall goals, what does Paolo get very excited about?
2. What topic does Adrian have many questions about?
3. At the end of the conversation, why does Paolo believe they will be successful in the residential market?

Premium Members: PDF Transcript | Quizzes | PhraseCast | Lesson Module

Download: Podcast MP3