最佳实践 371 – 初创企业英语 5: 展现领导力

初创企业英语 5 - 最佳实践 371 - 展现领导力

欢迎回到 商务英语 播客今天的课程 初创企业英语 展现领导力.

在早期, 创业公司建立在创始人的思想和能量之上. 这些通常很聪明, 具有丰富的技术知识和技能的富有创造力的人. 而这种创造力和技术诀窍对于将出色的创意变为现实至关重要.

但是很快, 一种 启动 变得不仅仅是一个或两个人. 随着成长, 它变成了一群人. 随着变化, 或枢轴, 最初的创始人不仅需要创造力和技术技能. 他们需要能够带领团队充满激情.

领导团队可能并非天生就适合每个创始人. 或致任何类型公司的任何经理, 是否是科技创业公司. 但是您可以学习和练习成为优秀领导者的技能.

对于初学者, 您将想知道如何变得积极并对团队成员表现出同情心. 照顾好您的团队也将涉及对需求的果断响应. 人们依靠您向他们展示所有辛勤工作背后的愿景, 并强调团队中每个人的共同目标.

在今天的对话中, 我们将聆听一个名为Quinn的创业公司创始人, 他最近将他的在线支付公司转为专注于商业客户. 他正在与首席开发人员吉尔(Jill)交谈, 以及一位新的营销经理,名叫科林(Colin). 要很好地执行这一枢纽, 奎因(Quinn)将必须利用他所有的领导才能来指导他的团队取得成功.

听力问题

1. 奎因如何在对话开始时设定积极的语气?
2. 什么是大视野, 或改变, 公司想做?
3. 奎因(Quinn)如何回应吉尔(Jill)的基础设施需求帮助请求?

Premium Members: PDF Transcript | Quizzes | PhraseCast | Lesson Module

Download: Podcast MP3

最佳实践 370 – 初创企业英语 4: 讨论枢轴

初创企业英语 - 最佳实践 370 - 讨论枢轴

欢迎回到 商务英语 播客今天的课程 初创企业英语 并讨论一个枢轴.

听起来有很多好主意的商业想法和技术创新. 但是一个想法的真正考验是市场. 人们可能会喜欢您的想法, 但是他们会买吗? 是否会有足够的人购买它以使业务可行? 即使您已经进行了市场调查, 有时消费者的反馈会告诉您这根本行不通.

这总是发生在 初创公司. 而且聪明的人不会在坏事之后不断投入好钱. 他们也不完全放弃. 代替, 他们枢纽. 当你旋转, 您会根据您从市场中获得的反馈来改变业务模式或策略. 这就是Odeo, 一个播客平台, 成为Twitter. 这就是YouTube放弃视频约会并成为广受欢迎的视频共享网站的方式.

很好地旋转并不容易. 关于公司的新目标和新需求,需要进行激烈的讨论. 枢纽最困难的方面之一就是牺牲了一些旧观念. 您还必须记住,这不仅关乎您和您的想法. 当你旋转, 您还需要考虑您的团队和您的投资者.

在今天的对话中, 我们将听听一位年轻的企业家奎因(Quinn)和他的导师之间的对话, 基拉. 奎因一直在努力发展自己的在线支付业务. 现在,他认为将关注点从个人消费者转向企业客户是明智的。.

听力问题

1. 奎因说的是公司最紧迫的需求?
2. 奎因需要牺牲以发展自己的业务的旧观念是什么??
3. 奎因说他的投资者需要了解什么?

Premium Members: PDF Transcript | Quizzes | PhraseCast | Lesson Module

Download: Podcast MP3

最佳实践 366 – 初创企业英语 3: 解决投资者的担忧

最佳实践 366 课 - 启动英语 3: 回答投资者问题

欢迎回到Business English Pod,参加今天的课程,了解如何在 英文音调.

商业上最伟大的技能之一是说服艺术. 无论您是经营一家初创公司并吸引大投资者,还是试图说服老板给您加薪,您都必须能够说服.

当然, 我们经常使用 演讲或演讲 说服, 特别是在寻找创业投资时. 但是,仅靠推销不会达成协议. 真正的考验是在您上场之后处理问题和疑虑. 您能预料到这些问题并准备好解决它们吗? 您可以即时思考和说话吗? 您是否有信心备份您在演示文稿中所说的话?

您可能需要解决几个问题. 对于一个, 您可能需要确切解释为什么您的想法独特. 而且,您可能还必须清楚地表明自己对这个想法有所投入. 投资者普遍关注的是估值, 或您认为该公司的价值是多少. 您需要明确说明您的估值合理, 并说明您将如何使用投资者的资金. 并通过所有, 您将试图证明您为什么可以支持, 还是值得投资者的支持.

在今天的对话中, 我们将重新加入奎因, 正在为其名为Moolah的在线支付公司寻求投资. 在上一课中, 奎因向投资者宣传. 现在,他必须解决来自名为梅森(Mason)的潜在投资者的一些棘手问题和疑虑.

听力问题

1. Quinn认为什么表明他完全致力于公司?
2. 奎因计划如何正确利用投资者的资金?
3. 为什么奎因(Quinn)相信他在个人层面上是可以支持的?

Premium Members: PDF Transcript | Quizzes | PhraseCast | Lesson Module

Download: Podcast MP3

最佳实践 365 – 初创企业英语 2: 向投资者投手

最佳实践 365 课 - 初创企业英语 2: 向投资者推介英文

欢迎回到Business English Pod,今天的课程 用英语投球 给投资者.

科技创业公司的世界可能会非常令人兴奋和收获. 但是肯定不能保证成功. 实际上, 90% 在头三年内没有吸引投资者的新企业将失败. 因此,如果您的公司成功通过了死亡之谷, 并且您正在消耗现金,却没有任何收入, 那么您最好确保与潜在投资者保持良好的关系.

在短短 10 至 20 分钟, 您需要说服投资者,他们应该向您冒险. 要么, 更精确地, 为什么他们应该把钱花在您身上,而不是花在他们可以投资的数千家其他公司上. 很难想到比向投资者宣传更高的股权投资. 那么什么会增加您成功的机会?

出色地, 您需要谈论产品解决的问题, 以及您的产品如何真正独特. 当然, 在创业世界, 时间就是一切. 因此,您需要能够证明所提供产品的市场. 一个好的创业公司不只是一个好主意, 这是一个可靠的收入模型. 因此,您需要清楚地说明这一点. 坐下来思考投资者可能有什么问题也很聪明, 在他们问他们之前先回答他们!

在今天的对话中, 我们将听奎因的演讲, 创立了一家名为Moolah的在线支付公司. 在上一课中, 我们听到奎因在导师的帮助下为他的演讲做准备. 现在是放映时间, 奎因(Quinn)提出自己的建议以期吸引投资.

听力问题

1. 奎因在演讲开始时发现的问题是什么?
2. 谁是穆拉的目标受众?
3. 奎因预计投资者可能会有什么问题?

Premium Members: PDF Transcript | Quizzes | PhraseCast | Lesson Module

Download: Podcast MP3

最佳实践 364 – 初创企业英语 1: 准备投球

最佳实践 364 - 初创企业商务英语 1: 准备英文音调

欢迎回到Business English Pod,参加今天的备课课程 英文音调 给投资者.

轻松浏览当今的经济并赞扬使之变得庞大的科技公司. 但是每一次成功, 有一百个失败. 任何创办初创公司或为之工作的人都知道,新业务面临很多不确定性和挑战.

在这种经济中, 创业公司的成功取决于许多因素. 如果您能学会应对挑战, 或将其视为机会, 那你也可能会变大. 创业成功的一个重要因素是良好的指导. 建立企业的悠久传统是帮助年轻企业家找到成功之路的.

导师可以帮助您的最重要机会之一就是准备向潜在投资者进行首次推介. 如果有时间应该学习建议, 在这一点上. 一个 英文音高 投资者可以成就或破坏您的公司. 做好准备, 正如任何导师会告诉你的, 是关键.

与导师一起工作取决于您愿意接受输入. 这可能意味着接受批评意见并承认自己的弱点. 但是如果你能做到这一点, 那么您就可以利用导师来消除想法, 并直接寻求挑战的帮助.

在今天的对话中, 我们将听听年轻的企业家奎因(Quinn)和基拉(Kira)之间的对话, 他的导师. 奎因(Quinn)准备将自己的在线支付初创公司推向潜在的投资者. 我们将听听他如何向经验丰富的导师学习.

听力问题

1. 奎因必须接受他对球场的强烈看法?
2. 奎因承认什么弱点?
3. 奎因向基拉求助有什么挑战?

Premium Members: PDF Transcript | Quizzes | PhraseCast | Lesson Module

Download: Podcast MP3

BEP 371 – English for Startups 5: Demonstrating Leadership

English for Startups 5 - BEP 371 - Demonstrating Leadership

Welcome back to Business English Pod for today’s lesson on English for startups and demonstrating leadership.

In the early stages, startup companies are built on the ideas and energy of their founders. These are often smart, creative people with great technical knowledge and skills. And this creativity and technical know-how is crucial to bringing great ideas to life.

But very quickly, a startup becomes more than just one or two individuals. As it grows, it becomes a team of people. And as it changes, or pivots, the original founders need more than just creativity and technical skills. They need to be able to lead their team with passion.

Leading a team might not come naturally to every founder. Or to any manager in any type of company, tech startup or not. But you can learn and practice the skills of a being a great leader.

For starters, you’ll want to know how to be positive and show compassion for your team members. Taking care of your team will also involve responding decisively to needs. And people are depending on you to show them the vision behind all the hard work, and to underline the shared purpose of everyone on the team.

In today’s dialog, we’ll listen to a startup founder named Quinn, who has recently pivoted his online payments company to focus on business customers. He’s talking with lead developer Jill, and a new marketing manager named Colin. To execute this pivot well, Quinn will have to call on all his leadership abilities to guide his team to success.

Listening Questions

1. How does Quinn set a positive tone at the start of the conversation?
2. What is the big vision, or change, the company wants to make?
3. How does Quinn respond to Jill’s request for help with infrastructure needs?

Premium Members: PDF Transcript | Quizzes | PhraseCast | Lesson Module

BEP 370 – English for Startups 4: Discussing a Pivot

English for Startups - BEP 370 - Discussing a Pivot

Welcome back to Business English Pod for today’s lesson on English for startups and discussing a pivot.

There are lots of business ideas and tech innovations that sound like good ideas. But the real test of an idea is the marketplace. People might like your idea, but will they buy it? Will enough people buy it to make the business viable? Even if you’ve done your market research, sometimes consumer feedback tells you it just won’t work.

This happens all the time with startups. And the smart ones don’t keep throwing good money after bad. Nor do they give up altogether. Instead, they pivot. When you pivot, you shift your business model or strategy based on the feedback you get from the market. That’s how Odeo, a podcasting platform, became Twitter. And that’s how YouTube gave up on video-dating and became a massively popular video-sharing site.

Pivoting well isn’t easy. It takes some tough conversations about new goals for the company and new needs. And one of the toughest aspects of the pivot is sacrificing some of your old ideas. You also have to remember it’s not just about you and your ideas. When you pivot, you need to consider your team and your investors as well.

In today’s dialog, we’ll listen to a conversation between a young entrepreneur named Quinn and his mentor, Kira. Quinn has been working hard to get his online payments business going. Now he sees that it would be wise to pivot his focus from individual consumers to business customers.

Listening Questions

1. What does Quinn say is the company’s most pressing need?
2. What is the old idea that Quinn needs to sacrifice to pivot his business?
3. What does Quinn say his investors need to understand?

Premium Members: PDF Transcript | Quizzes | PhraseCast | Lesson Module

BEP 366 – English for Startups 3: Addressing Investor Concerns

BEP 366 LESSON - Startup English 3: Answering Investor Questions

Welcome back to Business English Pod for today’s lesson on addressing investor concerns during a pitch in English.

One of the greatest skills in business is the art of persuasion. Whether you’re running a startup and wooing a big investor or trying to convince your boss to give you a pay raise you need to be able to persuade.

Of course, we often use a pitch or presentation to persuade, especially when looking for startup investment. But the pitch alone won’t seal the deal. The real test is handling questions and concerns after your pitch. Can you anticipate these concerns and be ready to address them? Can you think and speak on the fly? Do you have the confidence to back up what you’ve said in your presentation?

There are several concerns you might have to address. For one, you may have to explain exactly why your idea is unique. And you might also have to show clearly that you’re committed to the idea. One common investor concern is the valuation, or how much you think the company’s worth. You’ll need to justify your valuation clearly, and explain what you’ll do with the investor’s money. And through it all, you’ll be trying to show why you are backable, or deserve the investor’s support.

In today’s dialog, we’ll rejoin Quinn, who is seeking investment for his online payments company called Moolah. In our last lesson, Quinn gave his pitch to the investor. Now he has to address some tough questions and concerns from a potential investor named Mason.

Listening Questions

1. What does Quinn believe shows that he’s fully committed to the company?
2. What exactly does Quinn plan to do with the investor’s money?
3. Why does Quinn believe he is backable on a personal level?

Premium Members: PDF Transcript | Quizzes | PhraseCast | Lesson Module

BEP 365 – English for Startups 2: Pitching to Investors

BEP 365 LESSON - English for Startups 2: Pitching in English to Investors

Welcome back to Business English Pod for today’s lesson on pitching in English to investors.

The world of tech startups can be extremely exciting and rewarding. But success is certainly not guaranteed. In fact, 90% of new ventures that don’t attract investors within the first three years will fail. So if your company has made it through the valley of death, and you’re burning through cash but don’t have any revenue, then you’d better make sure you’ve got a great pitch to potential investors.

In just 10 to 20 minutes, you need to convince investors that they should risk their money on you. Or, more accurately, why they should risk their money on you instead of on the thousands of other companies they could invest in. It’s hard to think of a higher stakes presentation than a pitch to investors. So what will increase your chances of success?

Well, you need to talk about the problem that your product solves, and how your product is truly unique. Of course, in the startup world, timing is everything. So you need to be able to show there’s a market for what you’re offering. And a good startup isn’t just about a good idea, it’s about a solid revenue model. So you’ll need to explain that clearly. It’s also smart to sit down and think about what questions investors might have, and answer them before they have to ask them!

In today’s dialog, we’ll listen to a presentation by Quinn, who founded an online payments company called Moolah. In our last lesson, we heard Quinn preparing for his pitch with the help of a mentor. Now it’s showtime, as Quinn delivers his pitch in the hopes of attracting investment.

Listening Questions

1. What is the problem that Quinn identifies at the start of his presentation?
2. Who is Moolah’s target audience?
3. What question does Quinn anticipate the investors might have?

Premium Members: PDF Transcript | Quizzes | PhraseCast | Lesson Module

BEP 364 – English for Startups 1: Preparing for a Pitch

BEP 364 - Business English for Startups 1: Preparing for a Pitch in English

Welcome back to Business English Pod for today’s lesson on preparing for a pitch in English to investors.

It’s easy to look around at the economy today and applaud the tech companies that made it big. But for every success, there are a hundred failures. Anyone who’s founded a startup or worked for one knows that new businesses face a lot of uncertainty and a world of challenges.

In this economy, the success of a startup depends on many factors. If you can learn to navigate the challenges, or to see them as opportunities, then you too might make it big. One important factor in startup success is good mentorship. There’s a strong tradition of established business people helping young entrepreneurs find the path to success.

And one of the most important opportunities a mentor can help you with is preparing for your first pitch to potential investors. If there’s any time that you should learn to take advice, it’s at this point. An English pitch to investors can make or break your company. And good preparation, as any mentor will tell you, is key.

Working with a mentor depends on you being open to input. That might mean accepting critical opinions and admitting your own weaknesses. But if you can do this, then you’ll be able to use your mentor to bounce ideas off, and to ask directly for help with challenges.

In today’s dialog, we’ll listen to a conversation between Quinn – a young entrepreneur – and Kira, his mentor. Quinn is getting ready to pitch his online payments startup to a potential investor. And we’ll hear how he learns from his more experienced mentor.

Listening Questions

1. What strong opinion about his pitch does Quinn have to accept?
2. What weakness does Quinn admit to?
3. What challenge does Quinn ask Kira for help with?

Premium Members: PDF Transcript | Quizzes | PhraseCast | Lesson Module
Scroll to Top