最佳实践 364 – 初创企业英语 1: 准备投球

最佳实践 364 - 初创企业商务英语 1: 准备英文音调

欢迎回到Business English Pod,参加今天的备课课程 英文音调 给投资者.

轻松浏览当今的经济并赞扬使之变得庞大的科技公司. 但是每一次成功, 有一百个失败. 任何创办初创公司或为之工作的人都知道,新业务面临很多不确定性和挑战.

在这种经济中, 创业公司的成功取决于许多因素. 如果您能学会应对挑战, 或将其视为机会, 那你也可能会变大. 创业成功的一个重要因素是良好的指导. 建立企业的悠久传统是帮助年轻企业家找到成功之路的.

导师可以帮助您的最重要机会之一就是准备向潜在投资者进行首次推介. 如果有时间应该学习建议, 在这一点上. 一个 英文音高 投资者可以成就或破坏您的公司. 做好准备, 正如任何导师会告诉你的, 是关键.

与导师一起工作取决于您愿意接受输入. 这可能意味着接受批评意见并承认自己的弱点. 但是如果你能做到这一点, 那么您就可以利用导师来消除想法, 并直接寻求挑战的帮助.

在今天的对话中, 我们将听听年轻的企业家奎因(Quinn)和基拉(Kira)之间的对话, 他的导师. 奎因(Quinn)准备将自己的在线支付初创公司推向潜在的投资者. 我们将听听他如何向经验丰富的导师学习.

听力问题

1. 奎因必须接受他对球场的强烈看法?
2. 奎因承认什么弱点?
3. 奎因向基拉求助有什么挑战?

Premium Members: PDF Transcript | Quizzes | PhraseCast | Lesson Module

Download: Podcast MP3

最佳实践 354 – 商务英语辅导 3: 审查进度

最佳实践 354 - 商务英语辅导课程 3: 审查进度

欢迎回到Business English Pod,以了解今天的课程 辅导计划.

您是否为自己设定目标? 更有可能, 对. 这是我们经常听到的, 特别是在新年. 设定目标 是成功的基础. 如果您担任教练, 你可能已经帮助别人为自己设定目标. 但是真正的工作不是设定目标; 这是通过并投入精力来实现这些目标.

作为某人的教练, 一旦您帮助某人确定某些目标,您的工作就不会完成. 下一步是跟进, 这通常意味着与您要指导的人坐下来查看进度. 你问他们情况如何, 听他们描述自己做了什么. 但是有时, 这个人还没有真正跟进. 然后怎样呢?

那就是当你通过让那个人负责来证明自己的价值时. 这可能包括增强公司的价值, 当您尝试让对方信守承诺时. 当然, 该人可能遇到障碍, 您可以询问和讨论. 仍然, 这些障碍不应该成为借口, 并且您可能需要稍微推动这个人以发挥他们的潜力. 和, 当然, 一个好的教练在整个过程中都保持支持.

在今天的对话中, 我们将继续听取两位律师之间的对话, 马里恩和瑞秋. 马里恩已经 教练 瑞秋(Rachel)适应年轻律师的新工作. 他们讨论了雷切尔面临的一些问题, 并设定一些目标. 现在,Marion正在跟进并审查实现这些目标的进度.

听力问题

1. 当瑞秋因某些问题而责怪杰夫时,马里昂怎么说?
2. 雷切尔认为改善自己的形象和人际网络面临哪些障碍?
3. 在挑战雷切尔做得更好之后, 马里昂提供什么?

Premium Members: PDF Transcript | Quizzes | PhraseCast | Lesson Module

Download: Podcast MP3

最佳实践 353 – 商务英语辅导 2: 设定目标

最佳实践 353 - 商务英语辅导 2: 设定目标

欢迎回到商务英语播客今天的课程,内容是在学习期间设定目标 教练 会议.

您可能听说过其中一个重要部分 教练 正在倾听并表现出同理心. 一个好的教练会努力理解他或她要指导的人. 这有助于建立信任, 这创造了建设性的关系. 但这种关系是为了什么? 这种信任允许从事什么样的工作?

一旦你作为教练建立了良好的关系, 然后你就可以开始谈论改进. 毕竟, 教练的存在不仅仅是为了倾听人们的问题. 他们的全部目的是帮助人们变得更好. 变得更好的一个重要部分是设定目标, 这是一个好的教练可以提供帮助的事情.

那么我们如何与某人合作实现他们的目标? 出色地, 可能会从询问他们的动机开始. 毕竟, 目标必须针对某件​​事. 如果某人的动机是升职, 那么目标必须与之相关. 这强调了这样一个事实:它们是对方的目标. 我们不为他们设定目标. 我们询问他们的目标. 然后我们可以帮助他们将目标分解为更小的目标.

当然, 教练的另一个重要作用是给予鼓励. 所以当我们帮助某人设定目标时, 我们有能力对他们满足他们的能力表现出信心. 最后, 我们可能会询问他们的下一步行动. 那是, 当她试图实现目标时,该人将采取哪些具体活动?

在今天的对话中, 我们将重新与两位律师会合: 马里恩和瑞秋. 马里昂一直在指导雷切尔学习如何成为一名更好的律师. 在上一课中, 我们听到马里昂试图找出雷切尔面临的挑战. 现在我们将听到她帮助雷切尔设定一些目标.

听力问题

1. 对话开始时,马里恩问拉切尔什么?
2. 雷切尔为自己确定了什么短期目标?
3. 马里昂说她“确信”什么” 并且“毫无疑问?”

Premium Members: PDF Transcript | Quizzes | PhraseCast | Lesson Module

Download: Podcast MP3

最佳实践 352 – 商务英语辅导 1: 需求分析

最佳实践 352 - 商务英语辅导 1: 需求分析

欢迎回到Business English Pod,今天的课程 教练英语.

每个人都明白一个好的教练在体育运动中的重要性, 但是工作中的好教练又如何呢?? 实际上, 辅导是每个经理工作的重要组成部分. 管理人员不仅仅是告诉他们要做什么以及如何做. 优秀的经理帮助员工发展并充分发挥潜力, 就像体育运动一样. 这需要开放和建设性的教练关系.

辅导涉及您和员工之间持续的对话. 你们将一起评估情况, 设立目标, 监控这些目标, 并随着您的进展调整您的活动和目标. 是的, 我说“一起。” 21 世纪的经理与 20 世纪 80 年代的经理不一样. 关系不一样. 你必须是老板而不是发号施令. 你需要同时维护你的权威和员工的自主权. 这是一条很好走的路线.

辅导通常从需求分析开始. 那是, 您正在与一名员工会面,以了解哪些措施效果良好, 什么根本不起作用, 以及还有哪些可以改进的地方. 那次谈话将涉及很多开放式问题. 它还涉及表现出同理心, 这是领导力的重要组成部分.

当你谈论员工的表现时, 给出非常具体的行为示例很重要. 询问他们对这些行为的看法也很重要. 最终, 您想让员工同意他或她面临的挑战是什么. 只有这样你才能继续谈论解决方案.

在今天的对话中, 我们会听到马里昂, 经验丰富的律师, 指导一位名叫雷切尔的年轻律师. 马里昂和瑞秋正在公开讨论瑞秋的表现, 并试图确定她的需求是什么.

听力问题

1. 为什么玛丽昂会提到她自己第一份工作的经历?
2. 马里昂提出了瑞秋表演的哪些例子供讨论?
3. 评估问题后, 谈话结束时马里昂问瑞秋什么?

Premium Members: PDF Transcript | Quizzes | PhraseCast | Lesson Module

Download: Podcast MP3

最佳实践 235 – 会议英语 3: 积极参与

会议英语培训

欢迎回到 商务英语播客 对于今天关于参加会议的课程.

英语会议 和其他公司活动可能是绝佳的学习机会. 他们也可以是与您所在领域的其他人建立联系的好机会. 但它们的好坏不仅仅取决于扬声器, 工作坊, 和其他参与者. 您从活动中获得的收益在很大程度上取决于您作为参与者的行为.

你需要全力以赴, 参与活动, 认识你周围的人. 通过这种方式, 你会学到很多东西并建立一些良好的联系. 但是如果你坐下来, 不要问问题, 然后等着别人跟你说话, 你会错失良机.

今天我们将学习一些在任何类型的活动(例如会议)中都非常有用的技巧, 网络社交, 或筹款. 我们将学习如何提出好的问题并表明您参与其中. 我们还将学习如何询问人们的背景, 表扬, 并将主题与您自己的经历联系起来.

在对话框中, 我们将重新参加一家大型美国公司的区域人力资源会议. 我们会听到汉娜, 参加会议的人, 在研讨会期间. 然后我们会听到汉娜走近主持人 – 布伦特 – 午饭后.

听力问题

1. Hanna 表示对什么概念感兴趣?
2. 午餐时汉娜和布伦特讨论的第一个话题是什么?
3. Hanna 认为 Brent 做得好的地方是什么?

Premium Members: PDF Transcript | Quizzes | PhraseCast | Lesson Module

Download: Podcast MP3

BEP 364 – English for Startups 1: Preparing for a Pitch

BEP 364 - Business English for Startups 1: Preparing for a Pitch in English

Welcome back to Business English Pod for today’s lesson on preparing for a pitch in English to investors.

It’s easy to look around at the economy today and applaud the tech companies that made it big. But for every success, there are a hundred failures. Anyone who’s founded a startup or worked for one knows that new businesses face a lot of uncertainty and a world of challenges.

In this economy, the success of a startup depends on many factors. If you can learn to navigate the challenges, or to see them as opportunities, then you too might make it big. One important factor in startup success is good mentorship. There’s a strong tradition of established business people helping young entrepreneurs find the path to success.

And one of the most important opportunities a mentor can help you with is preparing for your first pitch to potential investors. If there’s any time that you should learn to take advice, it’s at this point. An English pitch to investors can make or break your company. And good preparation, as any mentor will tell you, is key.

Working with a mentor depends on you being open to input. That might mean accepting critical opinions and admitting your own weaknesses. But if you can do this, then you’ll be able to use your mentor to bounce ideas off, and to ask directly for help with challenges.

In today’s dialog, we’ll listen to a conversation between Quinn – a young entrepreneur – and Kira, his mentor. Quinn is getting ready to pitch his online payments startup to a potential investor. And we’ll hear how he learns from his more experienced mentor.

Listening Questions

1. What strong opinion about his pitch does Quinn have to accept?
2. What weakness does Quinn admit to?
3. What challenge does Quinn ask Kira for help with?

Premium Members: PDF Transcript | Quizzes | PhraseCast | Lesson Module

BEP 354 – Business English Coaching 3: Reviewing Progress

BEP 354 - Business English for Coaching Lesson 3: Reviewing Progress

Welcome back to Business English Pod for today’s lesson on reviewing progress in a coaching program.

Do you set goals for yourself? More than likely, right. And this is something we hear a lot about, especially in the New Year. Setting goals is a fundamental part of success. And if you are in a coaching role, you have probably helped other people set goals for themselves. But the real work isn’t in setting the goals; it’s in following through and putting energy into meeting these goals.

And as someone’s coach, your work isn’t done once you help someone decide on some objectives. The next step is following up, which typically means sitting down with the person you’re coaching to review progress. You ask them how things have been going, and listen as they describe what they’ve done. But sometimes, the person hasn’t really followed through. What then?

That’s when you prove your value by holding the person accountable. And that might include reinforcing your company’s values, as you try to hold the person to their commitments. Of course, the person might have encountered barriers, which you can ask about and discuss. Still, those barriers shouldn’t serve as excuses, and you may have to push the person a bit to reach their potential. And, of course, a good coach remains supportive throughout this kind of process.

In today’s dialog, we’ll continue listening to a conversation between two lawyers, Marion and Rachel. Marion has been coaching Rachel as she adapts to her new job as a young attorney. They’ve discussed some of the problems Rachel faces, and set some goals. Now Marion is following up and reviewing progress toward those goals.

Listening Questions

1. What does Marion ask Rachel about at the start of the conversation?
2. What short-term objective does Rachel identify for herself?
3. What does Marion say she is “sure about” and has “no doubt about?”

Premium Members: PDF Transcript | Quizzes | PhraseCast | Lesson Module

BEP 353 – Business English Coaching 2: Setting Goals

BEP 353 - Business English for Coaching 2: Setting Goals

Welcome back to Business English Pod for today’s lesson on setting goals during a coaching session.

You’ve probably heard that an important part of coaching is listening and showing empathy. A good coach tries hard to understand the person he or she is trying to coach. That helps build trust, which creates a constructive relationship. But what is that relationship for? What kind of work does that trust allow?

Once you build a good relationship as a coach, then you can start talking about improvements. After all, coaches don’t exist just to hear about people’s problems. Their whole purpose is to help people get better. And a big part of getting better is setting goals, which is something a good coach can help with.

So how do we work with someone on their goals? Well, that might start with asking about their motivation. After all, goals have to be directed at something. If someone’s motivated by the idea of getting a promotion, then the goals have to relate to that. And that underlines the fact that they are the other person’s goals. We don’t set goals for them. We ask them about their goals. Then we can help them break their goals into smaller objectives.

Of course, another important role of a coach is to give encouragement. So when we help someone set goals, we are in a good position to show confidence in their ability to meet them. And finally, we might ask them about their next steps. That is, what are the concrete activities that the person will take as she tries to accomplish her goals?

In today’s dialog, we’ll rejoin two lawyers: Marion and Rachel. Marion has been coaching Rachel as she learns how to be a better lawyer. In the previous lesson, we heard Marion trying to figure out Rachel’s challenges. Now we’ll hear her help Rachel set some goals.

Listening Questions

1. What does Marion ask Rachel about at the start of the conversation?
2. What short-term objective does Rachel identify for herself?
3. What does Marion say she is “sure about” and has “no doubt about?”

Premium Members: PDF Transcript | Quizzes | PhraseCast | Lesson Module

BEP 352 – Business English Coaching 1: Needs Analysis

BEP 352 - Business English Coaching 1: Needs Analysis

Welcome back to Business English Pod for today’s lesson on English for coaching.

Everyone understands the importance of a good coach in sports, but what about a good coach at work? In fact, coaching is an important part of every manager’s job. Managing people isn’t just about telling them what to do and how to do it. A good manager helps employees develop and reach their full potential, just like in sports. And that requires an open and constructive coaching relationship.

Coaching involves an ongoing dialog between you and the employee. Together you’ll assess the situation, set goals, monitor those goals, and adjust your activities and objectives as you go along. Yes, I said “together.” The 21st century manager isn’t the same as the 1980s manager. The relationship is different. You have to be the boss without being bossy. You need to maintain your authority and the employee’s autonomy at the same time. That’s a fine line to walk.

Coaching often begins with a needs analysis. That is, you’re meeting with an employee to figure out what is working well, what’s not working at all, and what can be improved. That conversation will involve a lot of open-ended questions. It will also involve showing empathy, which is an important part of leadership.

When you talk about the employee’s performance, it’s important to give very specific examples of behavior. It’s also important to ask for their perspective on those behaviors. Ultimately, you want to get the employee to agree about what his or her challenges are. Only then can you move on to talk about solutions.

In today’s dialog, we’ll hear Marion, an experienced lawyer, coaching a younger lawyer named Rachel. Marion and Rachel are having an open discussion about Rachel’s performance, and trying to establish what her needs might be.

Listening Questions

1. Why does Marion mention her own experience at her first job?
2. What example of Rachel’s performance does Marion bring up for discussion?
3. After assessing the problem, what does Marion ask Rachel at the end of the conversation?

Premium Members: PDF Transcript | Quizzes | PhraseCast | Lesson Module

BEP 235 – English for Conferences 3: Actively Participating

Conference English Training

Welcome back to Business English Pod for today’s lesson on attending a conference.

Conferences in English and other corporate events can be fantastic learning opportunities. They can also be good chances to connect with other people in your field. But just how good they are depends on more than just the speakers, the workshops, and the other participants. How much you get out of an event depends in large part on what you as a participant do.

You need to put your best foot forward, get engaged in the activities, and meet the people around you. In this way, you’ll learn a lot and make some good connections. But if you sit back, don’t ask questions, and just wait for others to talk to you, you’ll miss out on a great opportunity.

Today we’ll learn some techniques that can be very useful at any kind of event such as a conference, a networking social, or a fundraiser. We will learn how to ask good questions and show you’re engaged. We will also learn how to ask people about their background, give a compliment, and connect a topic to your own experience.

In the dialog, we’ll rejoin a regional HR conference of a large American company. We’ll hear Hanna, a conference attendee, during a workshop. Then we’ll hear Hanna approaching the presenter – Brent – later during lunch.

Listening Questions

1. What concept does Hanna express interest in?
2. What is the first topic of discussion between Hanna and Brent during lunch?
3. What does Hanna think Brent did well?

Premium Members: PDF Transcript | Quizzes | PhraseCast | Lesson Module
Scroll to Top