BEP 359 – 虛擬團隊 1: 電視會議會議

商務英語BEP 359 - 虛擬團隊 1: 電視會議會議

歡迎回到 商務英語 播客今天的課程 視頻會議英語 會議.

商業世界看到了爆炸式增長 英文視頻會議. 使用Zoom和Microsoft Teams等工具, 越來越多的人在家工作. 越來越多的會議幾乎是虛擬的,而不是面對面的. 員工會議, 客戶會議, 項目會議, 甚至社交功能都在網上發生.

我們虛擬團隊工作方式的這種轉變帶來了許多新挑戰. 如果您領導團隊, 或管理一個小組, 或促進會議, 除了已經擁有的技能外,您還需要一套新的技能. 您必須以不同的方式管理小組, 並有效管理技術.

這一切都始於在會議開始時建立基本規則. 您還想提供有關如何使用其他會議軟件的明確建議。. 而且您可能還必須中斷會議以處理聲音或視頻問題.

在虛擬會議中進行互動感覺不一樣. 它與面對面會議的流程不同, 所以你可能會發現自己要求人們輪流, 或嘗試促進公開討論.

在今天的對話中, 我們將在商業諮詢公司聽每週的登機會議. 會議由希瑟主持, 熟練和經驗豐富的經理. 我們還將聽到戴夫, 凱茜, 和亞當, 她團隊的三名成員. 辦理登機手續時, 希瑟必須兼顧技術和人員.

聽力問題

1. 希瑟在會議開始時制定了什麼基本規則?
2. 當有背景噪音時,希瑟會做什麼??
3. 對話結束時,希瑟如何進行公開討論?

Premium Members: PDF Transcript | Quizzes | PhraseCast | Lesson Module

BEP 338 – 電話會議英語: 參加在線會議

商務英語播客 338 - 英文電話會議: 在線會議

歡迎回到 商務英語播客 今天關於參加在線會議的課程 英文電話會議.

很難誇大手機和筆記本電腦對21世紀業務的重要性. 您能想像沒有這些工具的工作生活嗎?? 可能不會. 如果您像大多數人一樣, 你的大部分 英語工作對話 在技​​術的幫助下發生. 這包括會議. 很多時候, 人們不能親自見面, 但實際上.

但是當您在會議中看不到其他人時, 突然很難聽到你的聲音. 你不能前傾或舉手示意你想說話. 代替, 您需要找到口頭交流的方式. 在很多情況下, 這也意味著要識別自己,以便其他人知道誰在說話.

在一個 英文在線會議, 您必須非常清楚自己在說什麼. 這可能意味著跳回對話早期的評論. 而且你必須清楚你在跟誰說話, 通過針對特定個人發表評論. 最後, 因為技術似乎從來都不是絕對可靠的, 您可能會發現自己為技術難題而道歉.

在今天的對話中, 我們會聽到一位名叫Gabi的經理領導與美國各地銷售人員的電話會議. 他們正在召開在線會議以計劃銷售會議. 參與者將使用不同的策略來有效參與.

聽力問題

1. 希瑟為什麼在會議期間道歉?
2. 曼努埃爾為什麼會說“曼努埃爾在KC中”?在評論開始時?
3. 希瑟重新加入對話時, 她想再次談論什麼較早的話題?

Premium Members: PDF Transcript | Quizzes | PhraseCast | Lesson Module

BEP 306 – 項目管理英語 1: 啟動大會 (1)

商務英語播客 306 - 項目管理英語 - 啟動大會

Welcome back to Business English Pod for our new series on 項目管理英語. For our first lesson we’re going to look at a kickoff meeting at the start of a project.

Whether or not you’re a project manager, you surely know that every project is a unique and complex process. Seeing a project through to completion, on time and within budget, takes a huge range of people skills and business know-how. And sometimes during a big project it might feel like everything is working against successful completion.

But there are ways to minimize some of these challenges. This is particularly true at the beginning of a project when it’s important to make sure you get off to a good start. 一件事, you’ll need to meet with the client to make sure the ground rules of the project are clear. 否則, you’ll be dealing with confusion mid-project. Kicking off a project effectively also means outlining protocols, or important procedures, and explaining lines of communication. 畢竟, when a problem or challenge does arise, everyone should know exactly who to talk to and how to make the necessary changes.

The kickoff meeting is also a time for everyone to make their priorities clear. If you are the client and sticking to the timeline is more important than keeping to the budget, you should make that known right from the start. 當然, there may be competing priorities. And as a project manager, you may have to manage client expectations carefully, which might involve setting some conditions when you agree to something.

在今天的對話中, we’ll join Martin and Jill, who work for a software company called OptiTech. Their company is holding a teleconference to kick off a project to develop custom software for a logistics company that will help them manage and track shipments. Martin is the project manager, while Jill is the lead developer. On the call, we’ll also hear from Zara, a manager at the logistics company, 和利亞姆, 他們的IT經理. 一起, they are all trying to get the project off to a good start.

聽力問題

1. How does Martin say that Jill should deal with technical issues?
2. What does Zara emphasize as her company’s priority in the project?
3. Near the end of the conversation, what condition does Martin attach to the successful management of the timeline?

Premium Members: PDF Transcript | Quizzes | PhraseCast | Lesson Module

BEP 300 – 英文外部會議 (部分 1)

BEP 300 - 會議英語 1

歡迎回到Business English Pod,參加今天的關於參加外部培訓的課程 用英語開會.

當你想到 商務英語會議, 您可能會立即想到員工會議, 項目會議, 或與公司人員進行的其他內部會議. 但是在業務中,我們經常必須與外部公司或組織合作,因此我們也必須處理外部會議.

外部 英文會議 可能是非常棘手的情況. 因為每個人都有不同的目標和意見, 你需要非常外交. 您要小心,不要試圖讓別人去承諾太多承諾. 通過這種方式, 外部會議很像談判, 您試圖達成有利於您的協議的地方.

在這個來回談判中, 你必須說服別人你的位置. 當他們試圖說服您某些事情時, 你必須熟練地回應. 那可能意味著仍然不置可否, 當您不想給出明確的是或否答案時. 這也可能意味著您沒有權力或沒有責任做出決定.

但是,如果每個人都不置可否並表示無法做出決定, 人們如何達成協議? 好, 有時您需要介紹創造性的解決方案或想法. 但是即使有人提出一個好主意, 你不應該總是馬上就同意. 就像我說的, 這有點像談判. 所以您可能想對一個想法表示懷疑, 而不是立即接受.

在今天的對話中, 我們將聽到幾個人之間的會議,討論條形結構的建設, 或小購物, 購物中心. 詹妮弗(Jennifer)是新開發項目的建築師, 卡洛斯是一位諮詢工程師. 他們需要與弗蘭克達成協議, 誰代表地方政府. 會議由尼基主持, 項目經理.

聽力問題

1. 珍妮佛(Jennifer)為什麼認為該市應該讓開發商在轉彎道上有所突破?
2. 弗蘭克說誰堅持要擁有兩條轉彎車道?
3. 卡洛斯建議什麼解決方案?

Premium Members: PDF Transcript | Quizzes | PhraseCast | Lesson Module

925 英語 – 課 4: 用英語談論你的工作

YouTube video

在今天的 925 英語課, 我們將學習如何談論您的工作.

在很多情況下,您遇到新朋友並且想告訴他們您的工作. 也許他們問你, 或者你只想自我介紹. 那你該怎麼做? 您只是說“我是推銷員”嗎?就是這樣? 沒有, 你需要說的不止於此.

925 英語 是面向初學者的新商務英語播客. 925 英語課程側重於您可以在工作和商務中使用的大量語言和英語表達方式. 每 925 英語課的特色是您可以在不同情況下使用的英語短語,以及有關我們為什麼以及如何使用它們的建議 商務英語.

會員: PDF成績單 | 課程模塊 | 測驗 | MP3音頻

滾動到頂部

BEP 359 – Virtual Teams 1: Video Conference Meetings

Business English BEP 359 - Virtual Teams 1: Video Conference Meetings

Welcome back to Business English Pod for today’s lesson on English for video conference meetings.

The business world has seen an explosion in video conferencing in English. With tools like Zoom and Microsoft Teams, more and more people are working from home. And more and more meetings are happening virtually instead of in-person. Staff meetings, client meetings, project meetings, even social functions are happening online.

This shift in how we work in virtual teams brings many new challenges. And if you’re leading a team, or managing a group, or facilitating a meeting, you need a new set of skills in addition to the ones you already have. You have to manage the group in different ways, and manage the technology effectively.

This all begins with establishing ground rules at the start of a meeting. You’ll also want to provide clear advice on how to use different meeting software. And you might also have to interrupt the meeting to deal with sound or video problems.

Interacting in virtual meetings feels different. It doesn’t flow the same as a face-to-face meeting, so you might find yourself asking people to take turns, or trying to facilitate open discussion.

In today’s dialog, we’ll listen to a weekly check-in meeting at a business consulting firm. The meeting is being led by Heather, a skilled and experienced manager. We’ll also hear Dave, Cathy, and Adam, three members of her team. During the check-in, Heather has to juggle the technology and the people.

Listening Questions

1. What ground rules does Heather establish at the beginning of the meeting?
2. What does Heather do when there is some background noise?
3. How does Heather get an open discussion going at the end of the conversation?

Premium Members: PDF Transcript | Quizzes | PhraseCast | Lesson Module

BEP 338 – Teleconference English: Participating in Online Meetings

Business English Pod 338 - Conference Calls in English: Online Meetings

Welcome back to Business English Pod for today’s lesson on participating in online meetings and teleconference calls in English.

It’s hard to overstate just how important the phone and laptop are to 21st century business. Can you imagine your work life without these tools? Probably not. If you’re like most people, the majority of your English work conversations happen with the help of technology. And this includes meetings. More often than not, people don’t get together in person, but virtually.

But when you can’t see the people in a meeting, it’s suddenly more difficult to get your voice heard. You can’t lean forward or raise your hand to show you want to speak. Instead, you need to find verbal ways of jumping into the conversation. In many cases, this also means identifying yourself so others know who is talking.

In an online meeting in English, you have to be very clear about what you’re talking about. That might mean skipping back to a comment from earlier in the conversation. And you have to be clear who you’re talking to, by directing a comment at a specific individual. And finally, because technology never seems to be perfectly reliable, you might find yourself apologizing for technical difficulties.

In today’s dialog, we’ll hear a manager named Gabi leading a teleconference with salespeople from across the U.S. They’re having an online meeting to plan a sales conference. The participants will use different strategies to participate effectively.

Listening Questions

1. Why does Heather apologize during the meeting?
2. Why does Manuel say “Manuel here in KC” at the start of a comment?
3. When Heather rejoins the conversation, what earlier topic does she want to talk about again?

Premium Members: PDF Transcript | Quizzes | PhraseCast | Lesson Module

BEP 306 – English for Project Management 1: Kickoff Meeting (1)

Business English Pod 306 - Project Management English - Kickoff Meeting

Welcome back to Business English Pod for our new series on English for project management. For our first lesson we’re going to look at a kickoff meeting at the start of a project.

Whether or not you’re a project manager, you surely know that every project is a unique and complex process. Seeing a project through to completion, on time and within budget, takes a huge range of people skills and business know-how. And sometimes during a big project it might feel like everything is working against successful completion.

But there are ways to minimize some of these challenges. This is particularly true at the beginning of a project when it’s important to make sure you get off to a good start. For one thing, you’ll need to meet with the client to make sure the ground rules of the project are clear. Otherwise, you’ll be dealing with confusion mid-project. Kicking off a project effectively also means outlining protocols, or important procedures, and explaining lines of communication. After all, when a problem or challenge does arise, everyone should know exactly who to talk to and how to make the necessary changes.

The kickoff meeting is also a time for everyone to make their priorities clear. If you are the client and sticking to the timeline is more important than keeping to the budget, you should make that known right from the start. Of course, there may be competing priorities. And as a project manager, you may have to manage client expectations carefully, which might involve setting some conditions when you agree to something.

In today’s dialog, we’ll join Martin and Jill, who work for a software company called OptiTech. Their company is holding a teleconference to kick off a project to develop custom software for a logistics company that will help them manage and track shipments. Martin is the project manager, while Jill is the lead developer. On the call, we’ll also hear from Zara, a manager at the logistics company, and Liam, their IT manager. Together, they are all trying to get the project off to a good start.

Listening Questions

1. How does Martin say that Jill should deal with technical issues?
2. What does Zara emphasize as her company’s priority in the project?
3. Near the end of the conversation, what condition does Martin attach to the successful management of the timeline?

Premium Members: PDF Transcript | Quizzes | PhraseCast | Lesson Module

BEP 300 – External Meetings in English (Part 1)

BEP 300 - English for Meetings 1

Welcome back to Business English Pod for today’s lesson on taking part in an external meeting in English.

When you think of business English meetings, you might immediately think of staff meetings, project meetings, or other internal meetings with people in your company. But in business we often have to work with outside companies or organizations so we have to deal with external meetings as well.

External meetings in English can be quite tricky situations. Because everyone might have different goals and opinions, you need to be very diplomatic. You want to be careful not to promise too much while trying to get others to commit. In this way, external meetings are a lot like negotiations, where you try to make an agreement that is in your favor.

In this back and forth of negotiation, you have to convince other people of your position. And when they attempt to convince you of something, you have to respond skillfully. That could mean remaining non-committal, when you don’t want to give a clear yes or no answer. It might also mean saying that you don’t have the power or responsibility to make a decision.

But if everyone remains non-committal and says they can’t make decisions, how can people come to an agreement? Well, sometimes you need to introduce creative solutions or ideas. But even when someone presents a good idea, you shouldn’t always just agree right away. Like I said, this is sort of like a negotiation. So you might want to express doubts about an idea, rather than just accepting it immediately.

In today’s dialog, we’ll hear a meeting between several people discussing the construction of a strip, or small shopping, mall. Jennifer is the architect on the new development, and Carlos is a consulting engineer. They need to come to agreement with Frank, who represents the local government. The meeting is chaired by Nicky, the project manager.

Listening Questions

1. Why does Jennifer think the city should give the developer a break on the number of turn lanes?
2. Who does Frank say insists on having two turn lanes?
3. What solution does Carlos suggest?

Premium Members: PDF Transcript | Quizzes | PhraseCast | Lesson Module

925 English – Lesson 4: Talking about your Job in English

YouTube video

In today’s 925 English lesson, we’re going to learn how to talk about your job.

There are lots of situations where you meet someone new and you want to tell them about your job. Maybe they ask you about it, or you just want to introduce yourself. So how do you do that? Do you just say “I am a salesman” and that’s it? No, you need to say a bit more than that.

925 English is a new business English podcast for beginners. 925 English lessons focus on chunks of language and English expressions that you can use in work and business. Each 925 English lesson features English phrases you can use in different situations and advice on why and how we use them in Business English.

Members: PDF Transcript | Lesson Module | Quiz | MP3 Audio

Scroll to Top