BEP 361 – 虚拟团队 3: 与客户的视频会议

BEP 361 - 商务英语视频会议会议 3

欢迎回到 商务英语 播客今天的课程 视频会议英语 与客户.

在过去, 与客户会面通常意味着您必须旅行. 那可能意味着整个城镇, 或可能意味着全国或海外. 但是有了现代的视频会议工具, 您现在可以在不离开办公室的情况下与客户见面.

但是运行 英文虚拟会议 与面对面的会议看起来并不完全一样. 虽然您使用很多相同的技能, 这些技能在动作上听起来有些不同. 而且,您需要开发一些新技能, 因为您不仅要管理一群人, 还有技术.

会议开始时, 您可能会得到半正式的欢迎, 在给会议做一个大概的概述之前. 在某一点, 在处理技术问题时,您需要征求人们的耐心, 例如分享萤幕画面或接纳新朋友加入会议室.

面对面会议和虚拟会议之间的一大区别是您如何处理问题. 是, 您必须拜访可以看到有问题的人, 但您可能还需要处理通过聊天功能提出的问题或评论.

在今天的对话中, 我们将听亚当和凯茜主持的会议, 两名业务顾问. 他们正在与一群经理谈话, 包括苏菲和费雷德, 在Healthwise, 一系列保健食品商店,它们正在努力改善其在线销售. 您将听到亚当和凯茜通过视频会议演示主持客户会议所需的技能.

听力问题

1. 亚当提供的会议的概要是什么??
2. 亚当在处理什么技术问题时要求客户的耐心?
3. 亚当怎么知道苏菲有问题?

Premium Members: PDF Transcript | Quizzes | PhraseCast | Lesson Module

BEP 360 – 虚拟团队 2: 远程管理

BEP 360 - 视频会议英语会议

欢迎回到 商务英语 播客今天的课程,了解如何通过 英文视频会议.

如今的经理们不得不兼顾许多不同的沟通渠道, 随着远程团队的崛起, 虚拟会议. 不再是面对面的了, 如此众多的团队进行远程工作,并且使用Zoom之类的应用程序进行视频会议成为日常活动. 这意味着经理需要一套新的方法和技能来管理团队. 我们看到这些技能发挥作用的一种情况是在虚拟会议中以及与您的团队成员进行一对一聊天.

与团队成员举行英语视频会议时, 在切换到主要主题之前,您通常会先闲聊一下. 与远程工作, 人们可能会更加焦虑, 作为经理的一部分,您的工作是减轻焦虑. 情感领导和建立信任也可能需要您表现出脆弱性.

与此同时, 支持您的员工将涉及非常清楚地概述您对沟通的期望. 毕竟, 在当今的商业世界中,我们还有更多选择. 例如, 如果您使用的是Zoom或其他视频会议工具, 您会发现自己通过聊天功能发送资源, 而不是将文件交给他人或通过电子邮件发送链接. 随着人们适应新的沟通方式, 您将必须提供可靠的技术或后勤建议.

在今天的对话中, 我们将听希瑟之间的对话, 咨询公司的经理, 和她的员工亚当. 亚当是一名初级顾问,准备与重要客户会面. Heather正在展示她远程管理团队的技能.

听力问题

1. 希瑟说出什么来表明她的脆弱性?
2. 希瑟强调与客户沟通的期望是什么?
3. 希瑟给亚当什么技术建议?

Premium Members: PDF Transcript | Quizzes | PhraseCast | Lesson Module

BEP 359 – 虚拟团队 1: 电视会议会议

商务英语BEP 359 - 虚拟团队 1: 电视会议会议

欢迎回到 商务英语 播客今天的课程 视频会议英语 会议.

商业世界看到了爆炸式增长 英文视频会议. 使用Zoom和Microsoft Teams等工具, 越来越多的人在家工作. 越来越多的会议几乎是虚拟的,而不是面对面的. 员工会议, 客户会议, 项目会议, 甚至社交功能都在网上发生.

我们虚拟团队工作方式的这种转变带来了许多新挑战. 如果您领导团队, 或管理一个小组, 或促进会议, 除了已经拥有的技能外,您还需要一套新的技能. 您必须以不同的方式管理小组, 并有效管理技术.

这一切都始于在会议开始时建立基本规则. 您还想提供有关如何使用其他会议软件的明确建议。. 而且您可能还必须中断会议以处理声音或视频问题.

在虚拟会议中进行互动感觉不一样. 它与面对面会议的流程不同, 所以你可能会发现自己要求人们轮流, 或尝试促进公开讨论.

在今天的对话中, 我们将在商业咨询公司听每周的登机会议. 会议由希瑟主持, 熟练和经验丰富的经理. 我们还将听到戴夫, 凯茜, 和亚当, 她团队的三名成员. 办理登机手续时, 希瑟必须兼顾技术和人员.

听力问题

1. 希瑟在会议开始时制定了什么基本规则?
2. 当有背景噪音时,希瑟会做什么??
3. 对话结束时,希瑟如何进行公开讨论?

Premium Members: PDF Transcript | Quizzes | PhraseCast | Lesson Module
滚动到顶部

BEP 361 – Virtual Teams 3: Video Conferencing with Clients

BEP 361 - Business English Video Conference Meetings 3

Welcome back to Business English Pod for today’s lesson on English for video conference meetings with clients.

In the past, meeting with clients often meant you had to travel. That might mean across town, or it might mean across the country or overseas. But with modern video conferencing tools, you can now meet with your clients without ever leaving your office.

But running a virtual meeting in English doesn’t look exactly the same as an in-person meeting. While you use a lot of the same skills, those skills will sound a bit different in action. And there are some new skills you’ll need to develop, as you have to manage not only a group of people, but also the technology.

At the start of a meeting, you’ll probably get things going with a semi-formal welcome, before giving a rough outline for the meeting. At some point, you’ll have to ask for people’s patience while you take care of a technical issue, like sharing your screen or admitting new people to the meeting room.

One big difference between in-person and virtual meetings is how you deal with questions. Yes, you’ll have to call on people that you can see have a question, but you may also need to deal with questions or comments that come through the chat function.

In today’s dialog, we’ll listen to a meeting being run by Adam and Cathy, two business consultants. They’re talking with a group of managers, including Sophie and Fareed, at Healthwise, a chain of health food stores that is trying to improve their online sales. You will hear Adam and Cathy demonstrate the skills you need to run a client meeting by video conference.

Listening Questions

1. What is the rough outline for the meeting that Adam provides?
2. Adam asks for his clients’ patience while he deals with what technical matter?
3. How does Adam know that Sophie has a question?

Premium Members: PDF Transcript | Quizzes | PhraseCast | Lesson Module

BEP 360 – Virtual Teams 2: Managing Remotely

BEP 360 - Video Conference English Meetings

Welcome back to Business English Pod for today’s lesson on managing remotely by video conference in English.

Managers today have to juggle lots of different communication channels, even more so with the rise of remote teams and virtual meetings. It’s not all face-to-face anymore, with so many teams working remotely and videoconferencing with apps like Zoom becoming a daily occurrence. And this means managers need a new set of approaches and skills to manage their teams. One situation where we see these skills come into play is in virtual meetings and one-on-one chats with your team members.

When you’re holding a video conference in English with a team member, you’ll typically start with a bit of small talk before switching to the main topic. With remote work, people may have more anxiety, and as a manager part of your job is to relieve that anxiety. Emotional leadership and building trust may also require you to show vulnerability.

At the same time, supporting your staff will involve outlining very clearly your expectations about communication. After all, we have so many more options in today’s business world. For example, if you’re using Zoom or another video conferencing tool, you’ll find yourself sending resources through the chat function, rather than handing someone a document or sending a link through email. And as people adapt to new ways of communicating, you will have to give solid technical or logistical advice.

In today’s dialog, we’ll listen to a conversation between Heather, a manager in a consulting firm, and her employee Adam. Adam is a junior consultant preparing for a meeting with an important client. Heather is demonstrating her skills in managing her team remotely.

Listening Questions

1. What does Heather say to show her vulnerability?
2. What expectations does Heather emphasize about communicating with clients?
3. What bit of technical advice does Heather give Adam?

Premium Members: PDF Transcript | Quizzes | PhraseCast | Lesson Module

BEP 359 – Virtual Teams 1: Video Conference Meetings

Business English BEP 359 - Virtual Teams 1: Video Conference Meetings

Welcome back to Business English Pod for today’s lesson on English for video conference meetings.

The business world has seen an explosion in video conferencing in English. With tools like Zoom and Microsoft Teams, more and more people are working from home. And more and more meetings are happening virtually instead of in-person. Staff meetings, client meetings, project meetings, even social functions are happening online.

This shift in how we work in virtual teams brings many new challenges. And if you’re leading a team, or managing a group, or facilitating a meeting, you need a new set of skills in addition to the ones you already have. You have to manage the group in different ways, and manage the technology effectively.

This all begins with establishing ground rules at the start of a meeting. You’ll also want to provide clear advice on how to use different meeting software. And you might also have to interrupt the meeting to deal with sound or video problems.

Interacting in virtual meetings feels different. It doesn’t flow the same as a face-to-face meeting, so you might find yourself asking people to take turns, or trying to facilitate open discussion.

In today’s dialog, we’ll listen to a weekly check-in meeting at a business consulting firm. The meeting is being led by Heather, a skilled and experienced manager. We’ll also hear Dave, Cathy, and Adam, three members of her team. During the check-in, Heather has to juggle the technology and the people.

Listening Questions

1. What ground rules does Heather establish at the beginning of the meeting?
2. What does Heather do when there is some background noise?
3. How does Heather get an open discussion going at the end of the conversation?

Premium Members: PDF Transcript | Quizzes | PhraseCast | Lesson Module
Scroll to Top