BEP 390 – 英语搭配: 网络营销 (2)

BEP 390 课 - 英语搭配: 网络营销 2

欢迎回到Business English Pod,今天的课程 商务英语搭配 用于在线讨论 营销.

电子商务世界竞争异常激烈. 每天有数以百万计的人在网上购物, 查看数百万个选项. 企业如何在竞争的海洋中脱颖而出? 他们如何确保潜在客户甚至可以找到他们的网站? 他们转向在线营销. 所以难怪有这么多时间, 能源, 以及投入营销和衡量绩效的资金.

如果您曾经与在线营销专家讨论过, 你会知道围绕它建立了一种全新的语言. 想想像“搜索引擎优化”这样的表达,”或搜索引擎优化. 这是我们称之为“搭配”的一种表达方式的一个很好的例子。

搭配只是一组词自然地组合在一起形成一个表情. 你已经听过我用了一些 英语搭配. 考虑“衡量绩效,“ 举个例子. 动词“measure”和名词“performance”经常自然地结合在一起. 通过看搭配,你可以一起学习单词, 不是孤立的.

在今天的对话中, 我们将重新加入爱德华多, 艾玛, 和尼尔, 为厨具零售商工作的人. 上次, 他们讨论了内容营销. 今天, 我们会听到他们谈论搜索引擎优化和一些衡量成功的方法. 在他们谈话期间, 他们使用许多英语搭配, 我们稍后会在汇报中解释.

听力问题

1. 对话开始时, Eduardo 希望增加了什么?
2. 根据艾玛, 他们在什么方面投入了很多?
3. Neil 对他们的英文网站说了什么,而德文版本可能不是这样?

Premium Members: PDF Transcript | Quizzes | PhraseCast | Lesson Module

BEP 389 – 英语搭配: 网络营销 (1)

BEP 389 - 商务英语搭配: 网络营销 1

欢迎回到Business English Pod,今天的课程 商务英语搭配 与网络营销有关.

每年, 电子商务占全球零售额的更大份额. 多大的一块? 几乎 5 万亿美元. 有这么多的在线销售, 网络营销成为热门话题也就不足为奇了.

随着这种重要性的增加,出现了大量新的单词和表达方式. 如果你发现自己很困惑, 你不是一个人. 当您浏览这个新词典时, 专注于一种称为“搭配”的表达方式会很有帮助。

搭配只是单词的自然组合. 例如, 你可能知道我们用“流量”这个词来谈论有多少人访问了一个网站. 好, 你知道吗,当我们谈论将人们带到网站的技术时,我们通常会说“增加流量”? 我们不会说“制造流量”或“移动流量”。这不是语法规则. 它刚刚成为一个自然的单词组合.

在今天的对话中, 我们会听到爱德华多, 艾玛, 和尼尔, 他们都为专门生产烹饪设备的零售商工作. 他们正在讨论公司的在线营销业绩. 在他们谈话期间, 他们使用很多 英语搭配, 我们稍后会在汇报中解释.

听力问题

1. Eduardo 经常做些什么来了解他们的在线营销绩效?
2. 尼尔说的越来越难了, 尤其是有了新的隐私规则?
3. 艾玛所说的不是接触年轻观众的好方法?

Premium Members: PDF Transcript | Quizzes | PhraseCast | Lesson Module

BEP 382 – 讨论合作伙伴关系的搭配 (2)

BEP 382 – 讨论合作伙伴关系的英语搭配 (2)

欢迎回到Business English Pod,今天的课程 商务英语搭配 用于讨论商业伙伴关系.

“两个头脑总比一个好”这句话告诉我们,和别人一起解决问题比单独解决更容易. 这不仅在个人层面上是正确的. 在组织层面也是如此. 两家公司, 如果匹配得很好, 可以比他们单独完成更多.

但成功的合作伙伴关系并非一蹴而就. 建立关系有很多事情要做, 探索可能性, 并达成协议. 在今天的课程中, 我们将听到关于新伙伴关系的对话,该伙伴关系花费了大量时间和讨论来发展. 在谈话中, 你会听到许多有用的表达,我们称之为“搭配”。

搭配只是自然搭配的词. 一秒钟前,我谈到了“建立关系”。那是搭配. 动词“build”与“relationship”很自然地搭配在一起. 以英语为母语的人会随着时间的推移学习这些组合, 一遍又一遍地听他们说. 作为语言学习者, 学习有用 英语搭配 所以你的声音听起来更自然.

在今天的对话中, 我们将听到卡洛斯和米兰达与一位名叫罗兰的商业顾问交谈. 卡洛斯和米兰达的公司, 松景葡萄酒, 即将与 Visser Hotels 建立新的合作伙伴关系. 在他们的谈话中,他们使用了许多英语搭配来谈论合作伙伴关系.

听力问题

1. 罗兰在对话开始时将合作伙伴关系称为什么?
2. 律师帮助 Pineview Wines 做什么?
3. 在受益于密切合作的同时, 卡洛斯和米兰达想要维持什么?

Premium Members: PDF Transcript | Quizzes | PhraseCast | Lesson Module

BEP 381 – 讨论合作伙伴关系的搭配 (1)

BEP 381 – 讨论合作伙伴关系的英语搭配 (1)

欢迎回到Business English Pod,今天的课程 英语搭配 与商业伙伴关系有关.

商业世界竞争激烈. 但这是否意味着公司从不合作? 当然不是! 事实上, 与其他公司合作是实现业务目标的好方法. 这可能意味着与同一行业或完全不同行业的公司合作.

但良好的伙伴关系需要大量的工作. 在您进入实际的合作伙伴阶段之前, 有很多讨论. 在本课中, 我们将听到有关两家公司之间潜在合作伙伴关系的讨论. 在这次谈话中, 演讲者使用了许多与合作伙伴关系相关的有用表达方式. 您将听到的表达类型称为“搭配.”

搭配只是词的自然组合. 例如, 我们谈论“培养”或“培养关系”。但我们不会说“建立”或“建立关系”。这不是语法规则. 这只是母语人士常见且自然的模式. 如果你想听起来更自然, 你应该学会这些搭配.

在今天的对话中, 我们会听到卡洛斯和米兰达, 谁为一家名为 Pineview Wines 的葡萄酒生产商工作. 他们正在与一位名叫罗兰的顾问讨论可能与一家名为 Visser 的连锁酒店建立合作伙伴关系. 在他们谈话期间, 他们使用了很多我们可以用来谈论合作伙伴关系的英语搭配.

听力问题

1. 卡洛斯和米兰达在讨论之前要求罗兰签署什么??
2. 根据米兰达, 促进与酒店的合作是他们酒厂实现目标的好方法?
3. 罗兰强调两家公司必须共享什么才能合作?

Premium Members: PDF Transcript | Quizzes | PhraseCast | Lesson Module

BEP 356 – 金融英语: 讨论税收 2

BEP 356 - 金融英语: 讨论税收 2

欢迎回到Business English Pod,今天的课程 金融英语 的词汇 讨论税收.

对于美国的会计师来说,春天是一个繁忙的时期. 和许多其他国家. 那是因为春天是公司和个人必须向政府提交纳税申报表的时候. 这是我们的年度提醒,我们不会保留所赚取的一切.

当然, 这些忙碌的会计师不只是计算您的收入和费用. 他们正在寻找减少您数量的方法 – 或你的生意 – 必须缴税. 这就是为什么办公室和董事会周围的闲聊都是为了避免将太多钱交给税务员的方法.

听这些对话,您会发现许多有用的表达. 例如, 我已经用过“报税”一文。??动词“文件”?总是伴随着“回报”?当我们谈论我们向政府提交的年度报告时. 你可以一起学那些话, 作为一种表达或“并置”。

搭配只是母语为英语的人自然学习的单词的自然组合. 用 英语搭配, 我们不必去搜索大脑中的每个单词. 代替, 我们抽出一串符合我们预期含义的单词. 学习这些词串更有效, 会让你听起来更自然. 当您收听今天的对话时, 尝试挑选一些搭配,我们将在稍后的汇报中讨论它们.

在对话框中, 我们将继续讨论名为Brando Equipment的公司的税收情况. 科视Christie一直在更新两位高级经理: 格伦和伊凡娜. 上次, 佳士得向他们全面介绍了税收情况, 今天她提供了更多细节.

听力问题

1. 克里斯蒂(Christie)说的是增加他们报告收入的因素之一?
2. 是什么使该公司的报告收入减少了大约 $50,000?
3. Ivana想在对话框末尾详细讨论什么重要问题??”

Premium Members: PDF Transcript | Quizzes | PhraseCast | Lesson Module
滚动到顶部

BEP 390 – English Collocations: Online Marketing (2)

BEP 390 LESSON - English Collocations: Online Marketing 2

Welcome back to Business English Pod for today’s lesson on business English collocations for discussing online marketing.

The world of ecommerce is extremely competitive. Millions and millions of people are shopping online every day, viewing millions of options. How can businesses stand out in this sea of competition? How can they ensure their potential customers can even find their website? They turn to online marketing. So it’s no wonder there’s so much time, energy, and money put into marketing and measuring performance.

If you’ve ever had a discussion with an online marketing expert, you’ll know there’s a whole new language built up around it. Think about an expression like “search engine optimization,” or SEO. That’s a good example of a type of expression that we call a “collocation.”

A collocation is just a group of words that go naturally together to form an expression. You’ve already heard me use a few English collocations. Consider “measuring performance,” as an example. The verb “measure” and the noun “performance” go together frequently and naturally. By looking at collocations you can learn words together, not in isolation.

In today’s dialog, we’ll rejoin Eduardo, Emma, and Neil, who work for a kitchenware retailer. Last time, they discussed content marketing. Today, we’ll hear them talking about search engine optimization and some ways of measuring success. During their conversation, they use many English collocations, which we’ll explain later in the debrief.

Listening Questions

1. At the start of the conversation, what does Eduardo hope has increased?
2. According to Emma, what have they invested a lot in?
3. What does Neil say about their English site that might not be true about the German version?

Premium Members: PDF Transcript | Quizzes | PhraseCast | Lesson Module

Download: Podcast MP3

BEP 389 – English Collocations: Online Marketing (1)

BEP 389 - Business English Collocations: Online Marketing 1

Welcome back to Business English Pod for today’s lesson on business English collocations related to online marketing.

Every year, ecommerce accounts for an even bigger chunk of retail sales around the world. How big of a chunk? Almost 5 trillion dollars. And with so much selling happening online, it’s not surprising online marketing has become a hot topic.

With this increasing importance has come a ton of new words and expressions. If you find yourself confused, you’re not alone. And as you navigate this new lexicon, it can be very helpful to focus on a type of expression called “collocations.”

Collocations are simply natural combinations of words. For example, you may know that we use the word “traffic” to talk about how many people visit a website. Well, did you know we normally say “drive traffic” when we talk about techniques for bringing people to a website? We don’t say “make traffic” or “move traffic.” It’s not a grammatical rule. It has just become a natural combination of words.

In today’s dialog, we’ll hear Eduardo, Emma, and Neil, who all work for a retailer that specializes in cooking equipment. They’re discussing their company’s online marketing performance. During their conversation, they use lots of English collocations, which we’ll explain later in the debrief.

Listening Questions

1. What does Eduardo regularly do to understand their online marketing performance?
2. What does Neil say is becoming harder, especially with new privacy rules?
3. What does Emma say is not a good technique for reaching younger audiences?

Premium Members: PDF Transcript | Quizzes | PhraseCast | Lesson Module

Download: Podcast MP3

BEP 382 – Collocations for Discussing a Partnership (2)

BEP 382 – English Collocations for Discussing a Partnership (2)

Welcome back to Business English Pod for today’s lesson on business English collocations for discussing a business partnership.

The expression “two heads are better than one” tells us that it’s easier to solve a problem with someone else rather than alone. This isn’t just true on an individual level. It’s also true on an organizational level. Two companies, if well matched, can accomplish more together than they can alone.

But successful partnerships aren’t developed overnight. There’s a lot that goes into building a relationship, exploring possibilities, and coming to terms on an agreement. And in today’s lesson, we’ll hear a conversation about a new partnership that has taken a lot of time and discussion to develop. In the conversation, you’ll hear many useful expressions that we call “collocations.”

Collocations are simply words that go together naturally. A second ago I talked about “building a relationship.” That’s a collocation. The verb “build” goes together with “relationship” very naturally. Native English speakers learn these combinations over time, by hearing them over and over again. As a language learner, it’s useful to study English collocations so you can sound more natural.

In today’s dialog, we’ll hear Carlos and Miranda talking with a business consultant named Rolland. Carlos and Miranda’s company, Pineview Wines, is about to enter into a new partnership with Visser Hotels. In their conversation they use many English collocations for talking about partnerships.

Listening Questions

1. What does Rolland call the partnership at the start of the conversation?
2. What has a lawyer helped Pineview Wines do?
3. While benefiting from close collaboration, what do Carlos and Miranda want to maintain?

Premium Members: PDF Transcript | Quizzes | PhraseCast | Lesson Module

Download: Podcast MP3

BEP 381 – Collocations for Discussing a Partnership (1)

BEP 381 – English Collocations for Discussing a Partnership (1)

Welcome back to Business English Pod for today’s lesson on English collocations related to business partnerships.

The world of business is highly competitive. But does this mean companies never cooperate? Of course not! In fact, partnering with other companies can be a great way to achieve your business goals. That might mean cooperating with a company in the same industry or in a completely different industry.

But good partnerships take a lot of work. And before you get to the actual partnership stage, there’s a lot of discussion. In this lesson, we’ll hear a discussion about a potential partnership between two companies. And during this conversation, the speakers use a lot of useful expressions related to partnerships. The type of expression you’ll hear is called a “collocation.”

A collocation is just a natural combination of words. For example, we talk about “cultivating” or “nurturing a relationship.” But we don’t say “make” or “create a relationship.” It’s not a rule of grammar. It’s just a common and natural pattern for native speakers. And if you want to sound more natural, you should learn these collocations.

In today’s dialog, we’ll hear Carlos and Miranda, who work for a wine producer called Pineview Wines. They’re talking with a consultant named Rolland about a possible partnership with a hotel chain called Visser. During their conversation, they use lots of English collocations we can use to talk about partnerships.

Listening Questions

1. What have Carlos and Miranda asked Rolland to sign before their discussion?
2. According to Miranda, fostering collaboration with hotels is a good way for their winery to achieve what goal?
3. What does Rolland emphasize two companies must share in order to work together?

Premium Members: PDF Transcript | Quizzes | PhraseCast | Lesson Module

Download: Podcast MP3

BEP 356 – Financial English: Discussing Taxes 2

BEP 356 - Financial English: Discussing Taxes 2

Welcome back to Business English Pod for today’s lesson on financial English vocabulary for discussing taxes.

Spring is a busy time for accountants in the U.S. and many other countries. That’s because spring is when corporations and individuals have to file a tax return with the government. It’s our yearly reminder that we don’t get to keep everything we earn.

Of course, those busy accountants aren’t just calculating your revenue and costs. They’re looking for ways to reduce the amount you – or your business – have to pay in tax. And that’s why the chatter around offices and board rooms is all about ways to avoid handing over too much money to the tax man.

Listen to these conversations and you’ll notice many useful expressions. For example, I’ve already used the phrase “file a tax return.” That verb “file” always goes with “return” when we talk about our annual submission to the government. You can learn those words together, as one expression or “collocation.”

A collocation is just a natural combination of words that native English speakers learn as a chunk. With English collocations, we don’t have to go searching for every word in our brain. Instead, we pull out a string of words that matches our intended meaning. Learning these strings of words is more efficient, and will make you sound more natural. As you listen to today’s conversation, try to pick out some of these collocations and we’ll discuss them later in the debrief.

In the dialog, we’ll continue with a conversation about the tax situation of a company called Brando Equipment. Christie has been giving an update to two senior managers: Glen and Ivana. Last time, Christie gave them an overall picture of the tax situation, and today she’s providing more detail.

Listening Questions

1. What does Christie say is one factor that increased their reported income?
2. What helped reduce the company’s reported income by about $50,000?
3. What important issue does Ivana want to discuss in more detail at the end of the dialog?”

Premium Members: PDF Transcript | Quizzes | PhraseCast | Lesson Module
Scroll to Top