BEP 100 – Entretien d'embauche anglais: Discuter du salaire

BEP 100 - entretien d'embauche anglais des affaires

Vous avez eu votre premier et deuxième entretien en anglais, tu as bien fait, et tu as été sélectionné. Tu fais partie des chanceux – tu as réussi: Vous avez une offre d'emploi en main. Mais maintenant vient l'une des parties les plus difficiles de l'ensemble du processus – négocier son salaire. Si vous faites une erreur ici, tout votre temps et vos efforts pourraient être gaspillés.

Pour la négociation salariale, préparation – faire vos recherches – est évidemment important. A l'ère d'Internet, il existe de nombreux sites Web qui se concentrent sur les informations sur les salaires, donc enquêter sur le marché est beaucoup plus facile qu'il ne l'a été dans le passé.

Connaissance, toutefois, n'est pas assez. Nous devons également avoir la confiance nécessaire pour aborder, ou élever, le sujet et les outils pour négocier l'offre initiale ou la première offre afin de parvenir à un compromis. Vous n'obtiendrez ce que vous méritez que si vous le demandez. Donc dans l'épisode d'aujourd'hui, nous concentrerons les compétences dont vous avez besoin pour réussir à parler d'argent.

Fun Beverages International a déjà envoyé par e-mail une offre à Yala Santos pour un poste de responsable des ressources humaines dans l'une de ses unités commerciales brésiliennes. Yala a répondu en demandant à parler avec le directeur des ressources humaines, Ted, sur les détails. Nous écouterons leur conversation.

Questions d'écoute:

1. Pourquoi Ted dit-il qu'il a besoin que Yala commence à travailler à la date de début suggérée?
2. Comment Yala aborde-t-il le sujet de l'indemnisation?
3. Dans quelle mesure le taux médian ou moyen du marché est-il, selon Ted, que Fun Beverages a offert à Yala en reconnaissance de ses compétences et de son expérience?
4. Quel est le compromis final dont ils discutent?

Premium Members: Study Notes | Quizzes | PhraseCast | Lesson Module

BVP 02 – Ressources humaines: Responsable de la formation

In the second part of our new ESL podcast series on business vocabulary, we continue with the topic of human resources (HEURE) by looking at useful language and collocations to describe the role and responsibilities of a training manager.

In this fast-changing global world, everything is moving. To make a successful business, it’s not enough just to follow yesterday’s trend. Companies and people need to constantly acquire new skills to succeed in tomorrow’s marketplace. This means driving new training initiatives to enhance performance. toutefois, not all training is equally successful. To ensure training effectiveness, it’s important to track results and to have standard criteria for measuring outcomes.

BVP 01 – Ressources humaines: Responsable des ressources humaines

Today we’re kicking off a new series of ESL business vocabulary podcasts based on people talking about their jobs. In these episodes, we’ll learn vocabulary and language that are useful across a wide range of different professions and industries.

In this podcast we’ll hear an HR manager, Greg, describe his work and responsibilities. Afterwards, we’ll study some key vocabulary. In particular we’ll be focusing on how words are collocated, or used together. Then we’ll practice what we’ve learned.

BEP 76 ADV – Évaluations du rendement: Fixer des objectifs (Partie 2)

Ceci est le deuxième en deux parties Série de modules d'anglais des affaires sur l'évaluation des performances. Dans la première leçon, nous avons couvert les commentaires. Dans ce Podcast ESL, nous discuterons de l'établissement d'objectifs.

Le poète américain Carl Sandberg a dit un jour, “Rien ne se passe à moins que nous ne rêvions d'abord.” À cela, nous pouvons ajouter les mots de l'expert en gestion du temps Diana Scharf Hunt: “Les objectifs sont des rêves avec des délais.”

Pour atteindre nos rêves, il est nécessaire de se fixer des objectifs. Sans buts, il n'y a pas de changement, pas de développement, Sans succès. Ceci est tout aussi vrai pour un individu que pour une organisation. Voilà pourquoi, avec des commentaires, l'établissement d'objectifs est une partie très importante du processus d'évaluation. Donc, dans ce podcast de suivi sur les évaluations d'emploi, nous nous concentrerons sur les stratégies et les expressions permettant de fixer des objectifs lors de l'entretien d'évaluation. Une grande partie du langage que nous allons apprendre dans cette leçon est également utile dans toute réunion où nous devons discuter et fixer des objectifs.

Wendy et Derrick, Manager de Wendy, ont déjà discuté de ses progrès et fixé des objectifs pour les domaines de la satisfaction client et de la formation professionnelle. Alors que l'écoute continue, ils se tournent vers deux mesures importantes de productivité.

Faites attention au langage que Derrick utilise pour structurer la conversation et pour négocier et convenir des objectifs avec Wendy.

Questions d'écoute:

1) Quelles sont les deux mesures de productivité importantes dont Derrick discute avec Wendy?
2) Comment Derrick pense-t-il à Wendy de faire un one-off (C'est, spécial) des solutions pour chaque client?
3) Qu'est-ce que Derrick conseille à Wendy de dire à un client qui n'a pas réservé suffisamment de bande passante?

Membres Premium: Notes d'étude | PhraseCast

BEP 75 ADV – Évaluations du rendement: Donner de la rétroaction (Partie 1)

Évaluations du rendement – parfois appelés évaluations ou revues du rendement au travail – sont un moyen puissant de développer le potentiel du personnel. Ces compétences sont importantes non seulement pour HEURE (Ressources humaines) professionnels, mais pour tout gestionnaire ou superviseur qui a des responsabilités sur d'autres membres du personnel.

Pour que les évaluations de performance réussissent, toutefois, il est important qu’elles soient menées de manière structurée. en plus, il est important que les compétences et la diplomatie soient utilisées pour gérer les deux tâches principales de l'évaluation – donner une rétroaction efficace et fixer des objectifs.

C'est donc le premier d'une leçon de podcast d'anglais des affaires en deux parties qui se concentre sur la structure, compétence et diplomatie dans l'évaluation des performances. Dans ce podcast, nous traiterons de donner des commentaires. Dans la seconde, nous nous chargerons de fixer des objectifs.

Cet épisode se concentre sur une rétroaction efficace qui crée un environnement positif et renforce la confiance. Ces compétences de rétroaction sont utiles non seulement dans les évaluations de performance, mais aussi dans toute situation qui nécessite de faire des commentaires critiques à quelqu'un sur son travail.

Wendy est une nouvelle recrue au centre d'appels de vidéoconférence de ConStar. Elle y travaille depuis environ 10 mois, y compris la formation, il est donc temps pour son premier examen des performances de six mois. Derrick, le responsable du service des opérations, donnera à Wendy son appréciation.

As a “coordinateur visioconférence” pour ConStar, Le travail de Wendy nécessite l’utilisation d’un équipement spécial pour mettre en place et connecter des vidéoconférences pour Fortune 500 clients. Les clients de ConStar organisent régulièrement des réunions à distance entre plusieurs sites dans le monde. Le travail de Wendy consiste à établir des liens entre les sites et à résoudre les problèmes des clients lorsqu'ils appellent le service d'assistance.

Quel genre de commentaires Derrick donnera-t-il à Wendy? Elle est vraiment intelligente, mais elle a tendance à avoir chaud sous le col quand elle travaille sous pression. Cela signifie, elle s'énerve lorsqu'elle ressent le stress au travail. Parfois, elle perd son sang-froid, et ses collègues s'en sont plaints.

Questions d'écoute:

1) Combien de réunions Wendy gère-t-elle par jour en ce moment??
2) Quel est le principal problème sur lequel Derrick souhaite donner son avis à Wendy?
3) Quels conseils Derrick donne-t-il à Wendy pour l'aider à corriger le problème?

Membres Premium: Notes d'étude | PhraseCast

Faire défiler vers le haut

BEP 100 – Job Interview English: Discussing Salary

BEP 100 - business english job interview

You’ve had your first and second interview in English, you’ve performed well, and you’ve been selected. You’re one of the lucky few – you’ve succeeded: You’ve got a job offer in hand. But now comes one of the hardest parts of the whole process – negotiating your salary. If you make a mistake here, all of your time and effort might be wasted.

For salary negotiation, preparation – doing your research – is obviously important. In the internet age, there are many websites that focus on salary information, so investigating the market is much easier than it has been in the past.

Knowledge, however, is not enough. We also need to have the confidence to broach, or bring up, the subject and the tools to bargain up the initial or first offer in order to reach a compromise. You will only get what you deserve if you ask for it. So in today’s episode, we’ll focus the skills you need to successfully talk money.

Fun Beverages International has already emailed an offer to Yala Santos for an HR manager position in one of its Brazilian business units. Yala has written back asking to talk with the HR director, Ted, about the details. We’ll be listening to their conversation.

Listening Questions:

1. Why does Ted say he needs Yala to begin work by the suggested start date?
2. How does Yala broach the subject of compensation?
3. How much over the median or average market rate does Ted say Fun Beverages offered Yala in recognition of her skills and experience?
4. What is the final compromise they discuss?

Premium Members: Study Notes | Quizzes | PhraseCast | Lesson Module

BVP 02 – Human Resources: Training Manager

In the second part of our new ESL podcast series on business vocabulary, we continue with the topic of human resources (HR) by looking at useful language and collocations to describe the role and responsibilities of a training manager.

In this fast-changing global world, everything is moving. To make a successful business, it’s not enough just to follow yesterday’s trend. Companies and people need to constantly acquire new skills to succeed in tomorrow’s marketplace. This means driving new training initiatives to enhance performance. However, not all training is equally successful. To ensure training effectiveness, it’s important to track results and to have standard criteria for measuring outcomes.

BVP 01 – Human Resources: HR Manager

Today we’re kicking off a new series of ESL business vocabulary podcasts based on people talking about their jobs. In these episodes, we’ll learn vocabulary and language that are useful across a wide range of different professions and industries.

In this podcast we’ll hear an HR manager, Greg, describe his work and responsibilities. Afterwards, we’ll study some key vocabulary. In particular we’ll be focusing on how words are collocated, or used together. Then we’ll practice what we’ve learned.

BEP 76 ADV – Performance Appraisals: Setting Goals (Part 2)

This is the second in a two-part Business English Pod series on performance appraisals. In the first lesson, we covered giving feedback. In this ESL podcast, we will discuss setting goals.

The American poet Carl Sandberg once said, “Nothing happens unless first we dream.” To this we can add the words of time management expert Diana Scharf Hunt: “Goals are dreams with deadlines.”

To reach our dreams, it’s necessary to set goals. Without goals, there is no change, no development, no success. This is just as true for an individual as it is for an organization. That’s why, along with feedback, goal setting is a very important part of the appraisal process. So in this follow-up podcast on job appraisals, we’ll be focusing on strategies and expressions for setting goals during the appraisal interview. Much of the language we’ll be learning in this lesson is also useful in any meeting where we need to discuss and set targets.

Wendy and Derrick, Wendy’s manager, have already discussed her progress and set goals for the areas of customer satisfaction and job training. As the listening continues, they turn to talking about two important productivity measurements.

Pay attention to the language Derrick uses to structure the conversation and to negotiate and agree goals with Wendy.

Listening Questions:

1) What are the two important productivity measurements that Derrick discusses with Wendy?
2) How does Derrick feel about Wendy making one-off (that is, special) solutions for each customer?
3) What does Derrick advise Wendy to tell a customer who has not booked enough bandwidth?

Premium Members: Study Notes | PhraseCast

BEP 75 ADV – Performance Appraisals: Giving Feedback (Part 1)

Performance appraisals – sometimes called job performance evaluations or reviews – are a powerful way to develop staff’s potential. These skills are important not just for HR (Human Resources) professionals, but for any manager or supervisor who has responsibilities over other staff.

For performance appraisals to succeed, however, it’s important that they are conducted in a structured way. In addition, it’s important that skill and diplomacy are used to handle the two main tasks of the appraisal – giving effective feedback and setting goals.

So this is the first in a two-part Business English Podcast lesson that focuses on structure, skill and diplomacy in performance appraisals. In this podcast, we will deal with giving feedback. In the second, we will handle setting goals.

This episode focuses on giving effective feedback that creates a positive environment and builds trust. These feedback skills are useful not only in performance appraisals, but also in any situation that requires making critical comments to someone about their work.

Wendy is a new hire at ConStar’s videoconference call center. She has been working there for about 10 months, including training, so now it’s time for her first six-month performance review. Derrick, the manager of the operations department, will be giving Wendy her appraisal.

As a “videoconference coordinator” for ConStar, Wendy’s job requires using special equipment to set up and connect videoconferences for Fortune 500 clients. ConStar’s customers hold regular remote meetings among multiple locations all around the world. Wendy’s job is to make the connections between locations and to solve customer’s problems when they call into the help desk.

What kind of feedback will Derrick give Wendy? She is really smart, but she tends to get hot under the collar when she works under pressure. That means, she gets upset when she feels job stress. Sometimes she loses her temper, and her colleagues have complained about it.

Listening Questions:

1) How many meetings is Wendy handling per day at the moment?
2) What’s the main issue that Derrick wants to give Wendy feedback on?
3) What advice does Derrick give Wendy to help her correct the problem?

Premium Members: Study Notes | PhraseCast

Scroll to Top