Actualités en anglais des affaires 42 – Guerres commerciales

Actualités en anglais des affaires 42 Leçon - Guerres commerciales

Selon Donald Trump, «Les guerres commerciales sont faciles à gagner.» ?? pourtant, comme d'habitude, la réalité semble contredire les affirmations de Trump. Dans le différend actuel entre les États-Unis. et la Chine, il ne semble pas qu'un gagnant émergera de sitôt. Comme le note CNN:

L'administration Trump a tenu sa menace d'augmenter les tarifs sur $200 milliards d'euros d'exportations chinoises 10% à 25%, marquant une forte augmentation des tensions entre les deux plus grandes économies du monde. Après des mois de discussions visant à mettre fin à un différend d'un an qui a déjà nui à la croissance mondiale et secoué les marchés boursiers du monde entier, la dernière salve américaine risque de déclencher une nouvelle vague de réponses tit-to-tat.

Free Resources: PDF Transcript | Quizzes | Lesson Module

BEP 324 – Anglais pour discuter des performances de l'entreprise (2)

BEP 324 LEÇON - Collocations en anglais des affaires pour décrire les performances de l'entreprise 2

Bon retour à Pod anglais des affaires pour aujourd'hui Vocabulaire anglais des affaires leçon sur la façon de décrire les performances de l'entreprise.

Le but de chaque entreprise est de réaliser un profit. Mais la façon dont ils s'y prennent est différente. Différentes industries, différents modèles économiques, different approachesThere’s no simple recipe for success. Et il n'y a pas de simple, une seule façon de mesurer si une entreprise fonctionne bien.

Au lieu, nous examinons de nombreux facteurs différents lorsque nous mesurons la performance de l'entreprise. Nous avons également beaucoup d'expressions différentes en anglais pour discuter du sujet. Et beaucoup de ces Expressions anglaises sont ce que nous appelons des «collocations». ??

Qu'est-ce qu'une collocation? bien, c'est juste une combinaison naturelle de mots. Avez-vous déjà entendu les expressions «faire du profit» ?? ou "booster les résultats?”?? Nous ne disons pas «faire du profit» ?? ou "en fin de compte". ?? Ce ne sont tout simplement pas des collocations naturelles. Et si vous dites quelque chose comme ça, tu n'as pas l'air naturel.

Donc, étudier les collocations est un excellent moyen de paraître plus naturel avec votre vocabulaire. Vous pouvez apprendre des combinaisons de mots, plutôt que des mots seuls. Alors que vous écoutez la boîte de dialogue aujourd'hui, essayez de choisir certaines de ces collocations, et nous en discuterons plus tard dans le compte rendu.

Dans la boîte de dialogue, nous rejoindrons une réunion dans une société de private equity. Trois collègues, Maria, Claudia, et Taylor, parlent de certaines des entreprises dans lesquelles ils ont investi. Ils utiliseront beaucoup de bonnes colocations pour discuter des performances de ces entreprises.

Questions d'écoute

1. Que pense Claudia de SmartMoney?
2. Que pense Taylor qu'ils devraient faire avant de vendre SmartMoney?
3. Sur quoi Claudia s'est concentrée avec Byron Industries?

Premium Members: PDF Transcript | Quizzes | PhraseCast | Lesson Module

BEP 323 – Anglais pour discuter des performances de l'entreprise (1)

BEP 323 - Collocations en anglais des affaires pour discuter des performances de l'entreprise

Bon retour à Pod anglais des affaires pour la leçon d'aujourd'hui sur l'anglais pour parler de la performance de l'entreprise.

le économie est dans un état de changement constant. Les entreprises se développent, et les entreprises rétrécissent. De nouvelles entreprises voient le jour, et les anciens disparaissent. Et vous n'avez pas besoin d'être un investisseur pour vous enthousiasmer face au boom et à l'effondrement des marchés et à l'histoire de la réaction de l'entreprise. Mais si vous êtes un investisseur, toute votre retraite peut dépendre du fait que les entreprises prennent les bonnes décisions au bon moment.

Cela fait de la performance de l'entreprise un sujet populaire autour de la table de l'entreprise, ou au pub. Et quand on parle de performance de l'entreprise, nous utilisons souvent des expressions spéciales appelées collocations. Un Collocation en anglais est une combinaison de mots couramment utilisés ensemble, tel que “performance d'entreprise” ou “état de changement.”

Les locuteurs natifs utilisent automatiquement ces collocations. En réalité, nos cerveaux stockent ces groupes de mots ensemble, comme s'ils n'étaient qu'un mot. Vous pouvez aussi apprendre à vous souvenir et à utiliser ces collocations. L'étude des collocations est un excellent moyen d'apprendre le vocabulaire et de sonner plus naturellement. Donc, en écoutant la boîte de dialogue, essayez de sélectionner certaines de ces collocations et nous en discuterons plus tard dans le compte rendu.

Dans la boîte de dialogue, nous entendrons Maria, Claudia, et Taylor, qui travaillent dans une société de capital-investissement. Fondamentalement, c'est leur travail d'investir dans les bonnes entreprises pour un profit maximum. Les trois discutent de la performance de plusieurs sociétés dans lesquelles ils ont choisi d'investir.

Questions d'écoute

1. Pourquoi Claudia est-elle satisfaite des performances de Ranger Gold?
2. Ce qui inquiète Taylor se produira si Ranger Gold construit une nouvelle mine?
3. Qu'est-ce que Maria pense que Intuition Software doit faire pour rester rentable?

Premium Members: PDF Transcript | Quizzes | PhraseCast | Lesson Module

Actualités en anglais des affaires 39 – Perspectives économiques de l'Inde

Actualités en anglais des affaires 39 - Perspectives économiques de l'Inde

Emerging markets have been through a lot over the past few years: The oil-price drop in 2014; China’s botched devaluation of its currency in 2015; and India’s bungled “demonetization” in late 2016. Cette année, toutefois, seems to be putting all that in the past, particularly for India. The BRIC nation has made strides in all areas which has led to a boom in business

Free Resources: PDF Transcript | Quizzes | Lesson Module

VV 52 – Anglais financier: Finance d'entreprise et startups (2)

Vidéo Youtube

Dans ce Financial English vocabulary lesson, nous allons regarder Vocabulaire anglais des affaires related to company financing.

Companies may seek ongoing funding through debt financing, or loans, which require collateral. Or they may use factoring and lines of credit to access cash quickly. Other sources of funds include crowdfunding and public offerings, in which a company sells shares.

Membres Premium: Notes d'étude | Quiz en ligne

Faire défiler vers le haut

Business English News 42 – Trade Wars

Business English News 42 Lesson - Trade Wars

According to Donald Trump, “trade wars are easy to win.” However, as usual, reality appears to contradict Trump’s claims. In the current dispute between the U.S. and China, it doesn’t look like a winner will emerge any time soon. As CNN notes:

The Trump administration made good on its threat to raise tariffs on $200 billion worth of Chinese exports from 10% to 25%, marking a sharp rise in tensions between the world’s two largest economies. After months of talks aimed at ending a year-long dispute that has already hurt global growth and rattled stock markets around the world, the latest US salvo risks triggering a new wave of tit-for-tat responses.

Free Resources: PDF Transcript | Quizzes | Lesson Module

BEP 324 – English for Discussing Company Performance (2)

BEP 324 LESSON - Business English Collocations for Describing Company Performance 2

Welcome back to Business English Pod for today’s Business English vocabulary lesson on how to describe company performance.

Every company’s goal is to make a profit. But how they go about that is different. Different industries, different business models, different approaches – There’s no simple recipe for success. And there’s no simple, single way to measure whether a company is performing well.

Instead, we look at many different factors when we measure company performance. We’ve also got a lot of different expressions in English for discussing the topic. And many of these English expressions are what we call “collocations.”

What’s a collocation? Well, it’s just a natural combination of words. Ever heard the expressions “turn a profit” or “boost the bottom line?” We don’t say “grow a profit” or “up the bottom line.” Those simply aren’t natural collocations. And if you say something like that, you won’t sound natural.

So studying collocations is a great way to sound more natural with your vocabulary. You can learn combinations of words, rather than single words on their own. As you listen to the dialog today, try to pick out some of these collocations, and we’ll discuss them later in the debrief.

In the dialog, we’ll rejoin a meeting at a private equity firm. Three colleagues, Maria, Claudia, and Taylor, are talking about some of the companies they’ve invested in. They’ll use lots of great collocations as they discuss the performance of these companies.

Listening Questions

1. What does Claudia think about SmartMoney?
2. What does Taylor think they should do before selling off SmartMoney?
3. What has Claudia been focusing on with Byron Industries?

Premium Members: PDF Transcript | Quizzes | PhraseCast | Lesson Module

BEP 323 – English for Discussing Company Performance (1)

BEP 323 - Business English Collocations for Discussing Company Performance

Welcome back to Business English Pod for today’s lesson on English for talking about company performance.

The economy is in a state of constant change. Companies grow, and companies shrink. New companies are born, and old ones disappear. And you don’t have to be an investor to get excited about the boom and bust of markets and the story of how company’s respond. But if you are an investor, your whole retirement might depend on whether companies make the right moves at the right time.

This makes company performance a popular topic around the business table, or at the pub. And when we talk about company performance, we often use special expressions called collocations. An English collocation is a combination of words that are commonly used together, such as “company performance” or “state of change.”

Native speakers use these collocations automatically. In fact, our brains store these groups of words together, as if they were one word. You can learn to remember and use these collocations too. Studying collocations is a great way to learn vocabulary and sound more natural. So, as you listen to the dialog, try to pick out some of these collocations and we’ll discuss them later in the debrief.

In the dialog, we’ll hear Maria, Claudia, and Taylor, who work at a private equity firm. Basically, it’s their job to invest in the right companies for maximum profit. The three are discussing the performance of several companies they’ve chosen to invest in.

Listening Questions

1. Why does Claudia feel positive about Ranger Gold’s performance?
2. What is Taylor worried will happen if Ranger Gold builds a new mine?
3. What does Maria think Intuition Software needs to do to remain profitable?

Premium Members: PDF Transcript | Quizzes | PhraseCast | Lesson Module

Business English News 39 – India Economic Outlook

Business English News 39 - India Economic Outlook

Emerging markets have been through a lot over the past few years: The oil-price drop in 2014; China’s botched devaluation of its currency in 2015; and India’s bungled “demonetization” in late 2016. This year, however, seems to be putting all that in the past, particularly for India. The BRIC nation has made strides in all areas which has led to a boom in business

Free Resources: PDF Transcript | Quizzes | Lesson Module

VV 52 – Financial English: Company Finance and Startups (2)

YouTube video

In this Financial English vocabulary lesson, we’ll look at business English vocabulary related to company financing.

Companies may seek ongoing funding through debt financing, or loans, which require collateral. Or they may use factoring and lines of credit to access cash quickly. Other sources of funds include crowdfunding and public offerings, in which a company sells shares.

Premium Members: Study Notes | Online Quizzes

Scroll to Top